We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Take your time”
Review of Mist Trail

Mist Trail
Book In Advance
More Info
$115.00*
and up
Yosemite Day Hike from Glacier Point Including Panorama Trail
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Eminently accessible and popular, the Mist Trail takes hikers through Yosemite National Park to Vernal Fall Bridge, the best place to watch the waterfall.
Alta Loma, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Take your time”
Reviewed July 23, 2014

Take the Mist Trail on the way down from Nevada Falls. The steps are high and steep; very hard to climb up if you start the loop to Nevada Falls at the Mist Trail, instead of ending at the Mist Trail.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Suzette C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

676 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    546
    114
    12
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“A Must See at Yosemite.”
Reviewed July 21, 2014

Let me let you in on a little secret. Be patient. We braved this most popular hike at Yosemite on Memorial Day Weekend and came out of the other end alive! Can you believe it? We took Mist Trail all the way up to Nevado Falls and came down through the John Muir Trail on the other side. This is the route I 100% recommend if you're doing this hike. It was super crowded going up, but I actually didn't mind it. It was kind of funny watching people push on through in a hurry.. what are you doing at Yosemite if you're not here to relax and enjoy yourself? Ok end of rant. The lines and crowd are only at the main part of the mist trail (vernal waterfall view), after that it becomes less crowded on your way up to Nevado Falls, and like I said before, even less less crowded if you take the John Muir Trail back down. We walked here from our campsite at North Pines which was an extra bonus. No driving needed!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank JennF27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Tough but rewarding”
Reviewed July 21, 2014

The mist trail is very tough, but it was definitely worth the energy to make it through. Being perched on the ledge adjacent a waterfall was definitely a unique and impressive experience!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Colton P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thoiry, France
Level Contributor
142 reviews
93 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
“A spectacular hike but full of people”
Reviewed July 20, 2014

Not a good choice of hike if you are in mid-season in the middle of the day and hope to find peace and quiet and have the falls to yourself. There were probably 500 people or more on the trail just during the time we hiked it (mid-afternoon in June) so getting a photo without others in it was difficult, but on the other hand, finding someone to take a shot of you was no problem! This trail has been improved constantly and is much easier than 20 years ago when only the first 1km or so was paved and the rest was "improved" with rocks placed to make the steep parts easier but still was rough and sometimes tricky. Now it is paved for the lower section and well built for the rest allowing for people to go with rather lightweight footwear. Still the upper section in the mist can be very slippery so I would advise at least a good pair of running/walking shoes. If you choose a good time of day (morning is probably best) and the wind is blowing from the right direction and the sun is out, there will be spectacular rainbows on this hike. There are numerous excellent views from all along the trail and a vertiginous one from the top of the falls. The Emerald Pool and the water slide feeding it are also an impressive sight.

With direct access from the Curry Village area and the shuttle stop at the trailhead, this will always be a very popular and heavily used hike. But if you can ignore the crowds or go off season or very early in the morning, it is certainly worth the effort.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank AKHCERN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, CA
Level Contributor
83 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“The Indiana jones part of the panorama trail”
Reviewed July 15, 2014

Wear good shoes and watch where you step. It's a beautiful trail, though a little slippery. Take your time and be prepared to deal not just with crowds, but with crowds of people who thought it was wise to hike this in flip flops. Beautiful views!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank rainalini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mist Trail also viewed

Yosemite National Park, CA
Yosemite National Park, CA
 
Yosemite National Park, CA
Yosemite National Park, CA
 

Been to Mist Trail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing