We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great hike”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Mist Trail

Mist Trail
Book In Advance
More Info
$115.00*
and up
Yosemite Day Hike from Glacier Point Including Panorama Trail
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Eminently accessible and popular, the Mist Trail takes hikers through Yosemite National Park to Vernal Fall Bridge, the best place to watch the waterfall.
Santa Maria, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“great hike”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

The trail is mostly covered by large trees so the sun wasnt a problem. Plenty of spots to sit and rest if you want to catch your breath.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank adolfo o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

662 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    535
    111
    12
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
California
Level Contributor
195 reviews
68 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
“Beautiful, but slick!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

If you go up the Mist Trail when the falls are heavy, you'll be climbing up slick rocks (and a lot of them!).

I wouldn't recommend young children going on this hike unless they're capable of rugged steeps and can listen to directions (bratty kids that run away and fool around need not go).

If you have bad knees trekking poles might help for the walk back, but still be careful and perhaps wear a brace.

Oh and lastly, those warning signs are up for a reason. If you're too dumb to abide by the rules posted you'll receive a complementary thrill-ride down the waterfall!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank BuddhaInHeels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
166 reviews
59 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Set out early and take plenty of water”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

We got to the trail head before 8am, any later and it can fill up and be closed off.
The hike up to Vernal Falls takes in a lot of granite steps but, with enough breaks and plenty of water, it is doable by most people. Make sure you refill your water bottles at the bridge - you'll need it.
We then continued up to Nevada Falls, the last part of this is strenuous but we made it and were able to make an easier descent via the John Muir trail. The views are amazing, especially the rainbows in the mist which we were particularly pleased to see given the low water levels.
We felt we hearned out packed lunch that day, altogether we took 8 hours for the round trip including all our breaks.
Heed the warnings and stay away from the edge, people have been swept over the falls.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank DougReid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deerfield, Illinois
Level Contributor
60 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“REALLY lots of steps!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

beautiful view but lots of steps ... loved it but just know that it's a rugged walk and that the steps are quite uneven.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Nancy_Jim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
1,238 reviews
481 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 586 helpful votes
“Part of walk to Vernal Falls”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013

If you only go as far as mist trail, and not venture to the top of Vernal Falls, you will get up reasonably close to see the falls cascading down and appreciate the power in this excursion. A great photo spot. Expect to get wet but normal wet weather gear is all that is required.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Emanpee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mist Trail also viewed

Yosemite National Park, CA
Yosemite National Park, CA
 
Yosemite National Park, CA
Yosemite National Park, CA
 

Been to Mist Trail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing