We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Must”
Review of Olmsted Point

Olmsted Point
Book In Advance
More Info
$400.00*
and up
Experience Yosemite: Beginner or Advanced Photography Lesson
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Aventura, Florida
Level Contributor
267 reviews
85 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“A Must”
Reviewed June 4, 2014

Take the time to stop and take in the beautiful scenery from this location. You can see all the way to Yosemite from this point.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Smarkow314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    195
    59
    4
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Hampshire
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Beautiful spot!”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

So glad Tioga Pass was open so we could see this other view of Half Dome. The rock outcropping was imposing, and made for some great interesting photo opportunities.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank willowtree59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
47 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Awesome View”
Reviewed May 8, 2014

Wonderful view towards Half Dome. Being there at sunset is recommended, as Half Dome can get wonderful light.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Xindaan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunnyvale, California
Level Contributor
132 reviews
82 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Nice spot on tioga”
Reviewed May 6, 2014

It offers good views of half dome and the valley from the tioga pass road... you can hike a bit if you want to from this point...

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank RelaxedVoyager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burleson, Texas
Level Contributor
247 reviews
122 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
“A better view of half dome! Go close to sunset.”
Reviewed April 28, 2014

This view is up on the Tioga Road on your way to Toulmne Meadows. The views here are outstanding. The best time to visit in my opinion is sunset. You won't get to see the sun actually setting but you will get to see the sunset colors on Half Dome. If you turn about 170 degrees to your left you'll see Tenaya Lake. We can't wait to go back. My only regret is that we didn't get to venture off on some the trails in the area. We just viewed from the parking lot / overlook location.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank logandiana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Olmsted Point also viewed

Yosemite National Park, CA
Yosemite National Park, CA
 
Yosemite National Park, CA
Yosemite National Park, CA
 

Been to Olmsted Point? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing