We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Nice, comfortable home, accommodating owner”
other travelers have booked this property
Front deck, just added November 2014.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Front deck, just added November 2014.
Bedroom Front view, unit is on the first floor
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
26 reviews
Front deck, just added November 2014.
Bedroom
Front view, unit is on the first floor
Main room
Bathroom
Bathroom Sink
dining room, kitchen area
Kitchen and hallway to bedroom
map view of location
view 7 miles from home
Hard to beat this anywhere in the world and it's 12 miles from the home.
Entry and family room, looking out front door.
another view of front entrance.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Yosemite National Park, California

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 26 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
HappyTrav...
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice, comfortable home, accommodating owner”
Reviewed July 25, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We stayed for 6 nights in the lower unit and were generally very pleased with the accommodations. The place was clean when we arrived and the beds were all comfortable. We did have a couple of issues when we arrived, but Hans did take care of our concerns and we were very happy after that. Two cautions, though.....the driveway is VERY steep. It took 10 minutes of maneuvering to get both up and down the driveway with our rented SUV. We parked on the street from then on, and had no issues! The other caution is that the linens for the sofa bed are in the ottoman....who would have guessed that it opened up!! Otherwise, the location is good, the price is reasonable and Hans was very pleasant to deal with. Don't forget to bring all of your food with you......Hans warned us in advance and we came prepared. Otherwise you will have to drive a long way to get even the basics. We brought our own kitchen utensils, so we can't comment on that, but when we opened the cupboards, the kitchen appeared well stocked. Don't forget that water takes longer to boil at that altitude....it's not the stove's fault! Cell phone service was not available with Verizon, and the internet was spotty at best, but he told us that in advance, and we actually enjoyed being unconnected!!!

Date of stay: July 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The cleanliness of the place when we arrived
Liked least: The steep driveway!!
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robinson...
Columbia, Maryland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A great base for exploring Yosemite with family”
Reviewed June 30, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Great location, a lovely and spacious home perfect for a family stay. The owner and caretakers were very prompt and responsive. The great room was open and airy, a wonderful place to gather and hang out. We really liked being able to prepare our own meals in the well-outfitted kitchen.

Date of stay: June 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location in Yosemite
Liked least: Tight, steep and curved driveway was a challenge for a large, fully loaded minivan
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa17Hic...
Dallas, Texas
1 review
“As a last resort inside the park.....”
Reviewed June 18, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

My husband and I just spent 4 days in the Yosemite Alpine Hut, lower unit. I do not typically write reviews but feel strongly enough about our experience to leave a few comments here for my fellow travelers.

The Positive comments first - the studio is inside the park, about a 25-30 min drive from the Valley floor and the village. The mattress is firm and comfortable. The shower has a nice high shower head with good water pressure and plenty of hot water - essential after long days and hard hikes. The location was quiet. The deck was a nice place to sit for coffee although the table and chairs were old, rickety and falling apart.

The negatives comments - This place is VERY dated. It looks and feels like it was outfitted 15-20 yrs ago and hasn't been touched since. The propane stove in the kitchen takes about 30 min to boil a pot of water for pasta. The ice maker doesn't work - so much for coming back from a long day on the trails and being unable to ice down a beverage. There are no pans or baking sheets for baking in the oven. We brought brownie mix and cookie dough and had to bake them in the bottom of an old broiler pan. There were no paper towels or even a box of tissue/kleenex. The carpet in the bedroom didn't appear to have been vacuumed and is musty, stained and old. The sink in the bathroom was plugged up and would fill and take minutes to drain.

We did call the local caretaker the morning after we arrived and he was very friendly and sent someone immediately with paper towels, dish soap and toilet paper. When we returned that evening, the sink was draining and there were some ice cube trays in the freezer filled and ready to go. No baking dish as requested, no kleenex.....but an effort was made.

We were trying to get a permit for hiking Half Dome which caused us to be very late making a reservation for lodging. We were grateful that this place was available but based on my research, if you plan ahead, you can get a lot more for the same amount of money elsewhere in the same area. In a pinch, don't hesitate to stay here, as I said, a good bed and a hot shower go a long way.

Date of stay: June 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 2, 2015
I debated responded because this one star reviewer recommends staying here! Thanks!

We have since added the bake pans and ice cube trays. That leaves:

- Kleenex we find "disappears" with most guests. It's not expensive, just tiresome replacing. TP works for us, Any guest asking for facial tissue far enough in advance we will make an effort to have a box there for you in the future.(it's an hour drive to the main town where we resupply)
- Sorry, we can't do anything about altitude responsible for the slow boil.
- The decor was all bought new after 2009 and our tastes, (mostly IKEA), are not for everyone. You can see exactly what the unit looks like from the pictures.

We joke that we do not have: Martha Stewart curtains, Italian marble shelves in the bath, or imported cherry wood floors. We are one of the best value rentals in the neighborhood. We really are sorry if this guest was led to believe differently.

We are always trying to improve.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian B
1 review
“Great location and good facilities.”
Reviewed May 26, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

Great place.
It is on the lower floor, so there is a bit of noise from people upstairs (as it notes in the description) but it wasn't intrusive. The porch outside gets the afternoon sun, so good for BBQs.
The rooms are large and well equipped.
Hans was very prompt at responding to queries.

Date of stay: April 2015
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kilfree
Memphis, Tennessee
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Very nice place”
Reviewed October 23, 2014 for a stay in October 2014
1
person found this review helpful

3 if us stayed at the lower unit of alpine hut last week Oct 16 th, 17th
It was very comfortable. And very spacious. It has one bedroom with a big bed and then a twin bed
It is out towards Yosemite West and a few cautions there.
1) Any food you want needs to come I n with you. There are NO RESTAUAUNTS or grocery stores anywhere near you.
2)Arrive before dark or you will never find the place. I had the address in my I- phone but of course since it is so isolated I lost connection way before we got there. Rely on written directions and the key is the left turn on Henness Ridge Road
3) you are in the mountains..

Date of stay: October 2014
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barbaraG2...
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“great place to stay when visiting Yosemite!”
Reviewed October 19, 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

I stayed in this lovely quiet cottage together with my daughter and son-in-law for 3 nights in September.
It was a great place to stay while visiting Yosemite, and we wished we could have stayed longer!
The cottage (and everything in it) was very clean, and the beds were comfortable.
While we were there the top unit was occupied, but we only knew this because we saw their car. We couldn't hear them walking around upstairs.
There are of course no shops nearby (although we saw plenty of squirrels!) but there are shops (and restaurants) in Mariposa and Yosemite Village. But remember that both are more than 30 mins drive away!
There is Wifi, and there is a dvd player in the cottage, but no tv. There are some books and dvd's. But not a lot. So if you are staying for a while and want to watch something in the evenings, bring your own dvd's along!
We loved our too short stay, and would most definitely stay here again.

Date of stay: September 2014
Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tiffany H
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Smartest Choice for Yosemite”
Reviewed October 1, 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

The place is INSIDE the park, meaning you don't have to wait in line to enter the park each morning, which takes about 30 min. We couldn't afford the hotels inside the park, and we could barely afford the hotels outside the park. But we're so glad we found this place! It comes with 2 rooms and a bathroom. One is a bedroom with a queen bed and a twin bed, the other room is living room + dining area + kitchen. The sofa in the living room folds out and sleeps two people. The kitchen comes with clean pots and pans and plates and everything you need to cook minus the ingredients. I suggest that you buy groceries prior to coming or at least outside the park because groceries inside the park is expensive. The bathroom is clean and supplied with towels and such. There are heaters in each room; they can get a bit loud but I still slept through it. There is wi-fi but very slow, as expected. There's also a small TV with some dvds. The driveway is steep and our Prius couldn't handle it but there was a nook off the road that we could park at. This place is great, 30 min drive to the village, where a lot of hiking trails+stores are, 20 min drive to Glacier Point, and 40 min drive to Mariposa Grove.

There was a fire 2 weeks before our trip. I called the owner, and he was extremely helpful and offered us a full refund minus $50 processing fees if the smoke was still bad a week prior to our trip. The smoke cleared and we were able to visit Yosemite. The owner is very reasonable and nice about our concerns.

Date of stay: September 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 18-24
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing