We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Get To Know Where The Party Is”
Review of Camp 4

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Yosemite National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Camp 4
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Get To Know Where The Party Is”
Reviewed May 21, 2014

We were limited to a week here before moving to one of the Pines campsites. For a crack at Midnight Lightning the legendary boulder problem, for meeting other cragrats, for group meals, for access to valley routes (if you don't have a car) Camp 4 is sort of where it's at. You know what? By the end of our month I thought White Wolf was probably the best site for the peace and quiet from the very things we'd sought at Camp 4, but it's all good.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank E35C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    10
    8
    1
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
16
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2014

Camp 4 is fantastic value for money, It is only $5 per person, there are no shower facilities at the camp, but as there is a free shuttle that circles the valley it really is no problem. You are in a great location at this campsite, very close to Yosemite falls. Those that are looking for a strenuous hike the Upper Yosemite falls hike trailhead is at the camp. Each camp site has a fire pit, food lockers and a picnic table. Overall great experience.

Room Tip: Don't pitch a tent near the toilets
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank TravellingPiglets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western Ireland, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2013

We stayed here at the end of October and it had just reopened after the shutdown.

There was a bit of queue for a site, but we didn't have long to wait.
The place was full of very interesting people - climbers from all over the world. We were sharing a site with two German climbers who had come to climb Half Dome and El Capitan. We learned a lot about climbing!
The site is nicely located for trekking - shuttle bus brings to all trailheads.
If you have your own transport its only 5 minute drive to showers and laundry in housekeeping or curry village
if you want a cooked breakfast the Lodge is only 5 mins walk.
Bear lockers are provided - so use them!!
People can arrive into the campsite at any hour due to them coming off a climb - so bring earplugs!

At $5 per person, who could not enjoy this place?

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank GAA_obsessed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Camp 4 requires no reservations and it's located in Yosemite Valley, really good value.

Camp 4 offers a camp site with food storages and a picnic table. The toilets have fresh running water but no showers, they are located elsewhere in the valley.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris_eno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, Indiana
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2013

Purely amazing! It's amazing you can camp right in yosemite valley for so cheap. You just have to make sure you can get there in the morning early enough to wait in line to get a campsite. I got there around 7:30 and was one of the last ones in line. They pass out cards 1-75 each person who wants to camp needs to be inline! No place holders! And as long as you get a # you get a spot. I wasn't checked in until about 10:30...

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank clayton c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level 6 Contributor
72 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2013

We used Camp 4, 16 years ago and used it again July 2013. We love Camp 4 because it requires no reservations and it's located in Yosemite Valley. Camp 4 offers a camp site with food storages and a picnic table. It has restrooms with running water and sinks to clean up, in addition it has an area where one can fill up water for cooking or drinking. Showers are located across the street at Yosemite Lodge for $5 or use Housekeeping (located in Curry Village) for free. It's $5 per person per night to stay at Camp 4 and everyone seems to be friendly.

**Strongly recommend to arrive way before 5 A.M. to secure a camp site. We arrived at 4:15 A.M. and there were already 5 people infront of us. By 7:30 A.M. there were about 25 people behind us. Though Winter time I doubt it's busy but it's better safe than sorry**

I saw campers of all ages, families with children and it's safe. The Park Ranger Lori was informative and provided us with a map of Yosemite Village and suggested we use the free shuttle bus to get around to prevent us from being stuff in traffic. The only time we used our cars we to drive to Housekeeping for showers. Twice we walked across the street to have drinks at the bar located at the hotel. Overall it was and still is a perfect place.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank EL_GQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

I like camping in cold weather and was at Camp Four this past Christmas. A snow storm blew through as soon as we set up camp but we only got about 3-4 inches in the following 18 hours. This was my first experience at Camp Four, but I discovered it is a great place to winter camp.

Pros:
- The bathroom was semi-heated
- The sink water was luke warm (rather than frigid cold like most other taps)
- Camp Four gets much more sun than Upper Pines (the other open campground on the Valley floor) and so is warmer during the day
- No reservations (perhaps a con in the summer)... and not needed in winter...only 4 other tents around!
- Just a few minutes walk to Yosemite Lodge for supplies or hot meal if you need
- Cheaper than Upper Pines if fewer than 4 people

Cons:
- You have to park in a parking lot and walk in (distance depends on which site you choose)
- No individual sites - you'd have to share grill and space when it gets crowded

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank BAHiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yosemite National Park
1.5 mi away
Yosemite Valley Lodge
Yosemite Valley Lodge
#3 of 3 in Yosemite National Park
3,817 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Majestic Yosemite Hotel
The Majestic Yosemite Hotel
#1 of 3 in Yosemite National Park
2,603 reviews
13.8 mi away
Cedar Lodge
Cedar Lodge
#2 of 2 in El Portal
2,097 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.7 mi away
Rush Creek Lodge
Rush Creek Lodge
#3 of 7 in Groveland
455 reviews
16.8 mi away
Evergreen Lodge at Yosemite
8.8 mi away
Yosemite View Lodge
Yosemite View Lodge
#1 of 2 in El Portal
3,918 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camp 4? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camp 4

Property: Camp 4
Address: Northside Drive, Yosemite Valley, Yosemite National Park, CA
Location: United States > California > Yosemite National Park
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 24 Specialty Lodging in Yosemite National Park
Number of rooms: 35

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing