We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Camp Curry accommodation”
Review of Half Dome Village

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Half Dome Village
Reviewed September 8, 2005

Over the last ten years we've stayed in all three types of accommodation in Camp Curry. ... the wooden cabins, the "Mash" tents, and the concrete/canvas pitches down by the river. Put your mind to roughing it for a few days... they're all brilliant! You can always treat yourself to a night at the City Hotel in Columbia State Park afterwards! I heard the 9/11 news in the early morning amongst the peace and tranquility on the shores of the Merced, and will never forget the contrasting emotions. What a fabulous place Yosemite Valley is... who cares where you sleep when you're in surroundings such as these? Just breathe in the fresh mountain air, open your mind to the grandeur ... and be grateful you've discovered one of the most wonderful places on earth! Enjoy!

Stayed: September 2001
5  Thank Paddysdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,809)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,157 - 3,163 of 3,809 reviews

Reviewed September 7, 2005

We stayed at Curry Village for 3 nights on out first trip to Yosemite in the height of the August tourist season. And although we had our doubts on Day 1, I would definately stay here again.

At first sight, I was worried by the number of cars and people - this is the largest accomodation in Yosemite Valley (all controlled by the Park's central reservation agency) and whilst we wanted something rustic, we didn't want to be over-run with humanity. We arrived for the 5pm check in and queued fro 20 minutes at reception (arrive at 7pm to avoid the queues).

We opted for a wooden cabin (there are tented cabin options too) without bath or toilet (they sell out a year in advance for summer apparently). It was a bit scruffy inside, clean enough and more "laminate" than "log" cabin. It reminded me of the kind of place you stay on a school field trip to Wales. The sheets and towels were nice and clean, though (fresh and white) and the yard-sale furniture was scruffy - not trying to be anything other than functional.

The toilets and shower blocks (there are lots of them dotted about so you never have to walk far) are clean and reasonably well maintained but remind you that you are "camping" for all the wooden roof-tiles over your head at night.

My fear that we'd arrived in "Yosemite Central" grew as we headed for the Buffet in the big rustic dining hall. Its cheap at $12.50 each and the food pretty good, very tasty but more school-dinners than 5* hotel. But it wasn't busy and there was never a queue. By the third night we were sick of the same thing and suspected they were recycling leftovers, so next time we'll take the free shuttle bus to explore the other dining options in the valley (Camp Curry also has a good Pizza Bar too well liked by the racoons!).

The bar is well-stocked with good US draught beers; the old "lounge" cabin with its verandah, tree stump seats and rocking chairs, a perfect place to enjoy one. Its then that you realise that Camp Curry swallows ts visitors amongst the trees and cabins and although there are several hundred people you never see more than 50 of them.

We went to the famous (expensive) Ahwanee Hotel for a look at the opposite spectrum and frankly I wouldn't bother. Camp Curry may be a bit scruffy on the outside but its the heart of the Yosemite wilderness. Every night, there is a talk or slide show on conservation on a big screen under the stars. It seemed cheesy at first but actually its fascinating and spreads the word about conservation. You get the feeling that the people who come here already know that - hikers, families and the odd hippy guitar player. They all fall into silence by 10pm whatever came before.

I wouldn't call this up-market camping - its more convinience camping for people who want wilderness but had to fly in to get it. We saw a bear, racoons, deer, a moutain lion and hoards of chipmunks IN THE CAMP! so if you dont like critters, dont come. If you want real Yosemite, book it now!

6  Thank Midget-Jones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2005

We stayed here one night last week. The cabin with bath was
located away from the tents and cabins without bath. There was no
noise, it was a very quiet and calm athmosphere. The beds are
comfortable and everything in the room was clean. There was also a
desk, nightstand and a chair. There was no funny smell, like it
was reported in other reviews. The bathroom was small, but
sufficient. There was no A/C, but since it was pretty cold that
night we had to use the heater which is working great and heating
up quickly. No TV or phone, but we did not miss it. There were
power outlets to charge our digicam.

After spending the whole day in beautyful yosemite national park,
we were happy to stay in this cabin, which continued the natural
ambience that yosemite has to offer. We stayed the night before in
Oakhurst, and then did a long day tour from the south, which I can
only recommend. We arrived at 5:30pm for the checkin.

I think that the cabin with bath was a really good choice. It
didn't feel like camping, but almost like staying in a hotel. But
of course, it is not a hotel. You see that on the staff, which
appeared to me like exchange students, but definitely not like
professional hotel service staff. We would definitely book the
cabin w/ bath again. We found the $108 a good value and not too
expensive. Having said that, I think we would not book the cabin
without bath which is not much less expensive, but would require to use
the public bathrooms.

  • Stayed: August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank joja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Gloucestershire, England
22
Reviewed August 28, 2005

Above average rating due to the fantastic location. Accommodation for us was a wooden cabin with no bathroom. This was very basic as expected but the surrounding scenery was a real plus. Our biggest disappointment was the lack of choice for eating places and the fact that the Mexican restaurant shuts at 5pm. Other than that the pizza was good but finding a place to sit and eat outside was a hit and miss affair.

Would recommend staying here due to it's location and for that "back to nature" feeling, but we also stayed at the Yosemite Lodge for one night which was significantly more luxurious but obviously you get what you pay for.

Another downside was the small number of showers for the number of people staying here - queues (particularly for the women's showers) were very long.

  • Stayed: August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2005

We stayed in a cabin with bath. There was a huge spider in the small shower, and a very unsoundproof wall that let in sounds from the bathroom next door. Little space to put stuff, and only one table. But all in all, better than a tent cabin and the beds were tolerably clean. Overpriced ($120), but it's yosemite.

  • Stayed: August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank traver21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
426
Reviewed July 26, 2005

Staying at Curry village for the first time, I was ready for pretty primitive conditions. We had a cabin with no bath, a step up from the canvas tent cabins. It was very hot on this July night with all the fans having been previously given out. Also, there closest bathrooms were closed for cleaning at 10 p.m. The womens shower was being used by the men until 9:30 pm because the mens was broken. I think there was just one shower for our entire end of the campground. The cabin was clean but had a funny smell. We slept but were glad to have gotten there late and got out early. The best I can say is that the location is convenient ( it is much nicer to stay inside the park) but we felt jipped to have paid almost $100 when our car would have probably made me feel more comfortable than this room did. I would not stay there again. I would plan my trip to see the southern end of the park the first day, staying outside the park at the little town just south the night before. Hopefully the second night I would try to book Yosemite lodge or The Awahnee, after touring the valley all day. I would stay outside the park after driving the Tioga road the last day. There was a very nice place along the Merced river maybe 15 miles outside the west entrance of the park. I am going to remember it for next time. It would have to be better than where we stayed inside the park. Yosemite is awesome but the lodging leaves much to be desired. Our experience with in park lodgings the previous year at Yellowstone was much better. They could do better for the price they are charging.

Stayed: July 2005
7  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2005

Wasn't sure how Yosemite Curry Village cabin tents would pan out as not camped in the USA before but what a pleasant surprise.

Apart from the fact we arrived 1 or 2am and were stumbling around in the dark trying to find our temporary home, the cabins are a great idea. Slightly less back to nature than official camping, as it has a raised wooden floor and the benefit of standard beds (and dressing-table).

The heaters are not on after 30 April, so for early May it was a bit cold in the night but if you have your own sleeping bag or extra clothes its not a problem. Would be perhaps less keen in the winter, unless you're a serious camper.

Everything else can be standard camping experience, as shower blocks are readily available. All facilities were great including eating places.

Yosemite itself was my favourite place in the USA and we even saw a bear (so make sure your food and toiletries are locked in the bear bins).

5  Thank 0nASh0estring
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yosemite National Park
1.5 mi away
Yosemite Valley Lodge
Yosemite Valley Lodge
#3 of 3 in Yosemite National Park
3,945 reviews
18.3 mi away
Evergreen Lodge at Yosemite
0.6 mi away
The Majestic Yosemite Hotel
The Majestic Yosemite Hotel
#1 of 3 in Yosemite National Park
2,693 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.3 mi away
Yosemite Cedar Lodge
Yosemite Cedar Lodge
#2 of 2 in El Portal
2,213 reviews
17.7 mi away
Rush Creek Lodge
Rush Creek Lodge
#2 of 7 in Groveland
562 reviews
11.2 mi away
Yosemite View Lodge
Yosemite View Lodge
#1 of 2 in El Portal
4,098 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Half Dome Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Half Dome Village

Address: 9010 Curry Village Drive, Yosemite National Park, CA 95389-9907 (Formerly Curry Village)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Yosemite National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 23 Specialty Lodging in Yosemite National Park
Price Range: $139 - $269 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Half Dome Village 1*
Number of rooms: 503
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Half Dome Village is made up of a combination of rooms types. We have Hotel Rooms, Cabins with Private Bathroom, Cabins without Private Bathroom, Heated Tents and Unheated Tents. Our operations are seasonal and include 5 Food and Beverage Outlets in the Peak Season. We are located in the Southeast portion of the Valley. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelUp, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Half Dome Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Curry Village Hotel Yosemite National Park
Curry Village Yosemite

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing