We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Refugee camp as in Afghanistan?”
Review of Half Dome Village

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Half Dome Village
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Refugee camp as in Afghanistan?”
Reviewed April 9, 2014

We stayed in one of the cabins in the middle of the village. The crew was nice and friendly but:
I will now take the risk to become an enemy to all Americans that love Yosemite. The whole place was an remarkable example on how tourism should not be performed. Have the park ever heard about eco tourism?. Hundreds and over hundreds of tents and cabins packed on a small area with muddy ground and high trees allowing no sun to come down to the ground. Washrooms and toilets that was built around 1950? and no refit since then. Horrible standard. The cabins were warm, yes but insulation was a joke and the windows was single and leaking all heat out in a flash. Have they ever heard about insulation ?? This is an awful example on how to waste energy. And why pack hundreds of tents and cabins so close? The only reason is to earn as much money as possible and no worries about nature nor animals. This was the worst Ive ever seen. The only solution is to take some bulldozers and take down the whole place, rebuild it with modern technology and insulation with eco thinking. reduce the amounts of cabins to less than half maybe just 30% and give space and room.
The Yosemite park is a beautiful place and incredible things to see and this joke of tourism the curry village was awful and destryed the whole experience. Next thing to be executed is the coffee house. How on earth do the management think when they have one small desk with a minimum of staff trying to serve all these people in the morning. I was first in line and payed 0701 and ordered one cappucino and one croissant. 0716 a had my coffee! 15 minutes to have one cup and I was the first. Imagine the rest of the poor ones after me.
So, please Managers, owners and county of Yosemite, make a good revision, look over all permits and standards, put your smart heads together, look on how others have solved eco tourism and a little elbow grease will do the trick, cause the nature in the Yosemite is worth it and our kids deserves a better legacy from You.
European tourist !

Room Tip: Choose another place, maybe awanahee hotel?
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Ulf S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,735 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,154
    1,417
    708
    245
    211
See reviews for
1,353
1,317
168
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (775)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Angmering, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2014 via mobile

You stay in a permanent tent, which is fairly basic, beds singles or double, chair and a safe. One thing I would say is do not choose a unheated tent in April unless you like sleeping in the cold, the heated tents are much nicer.
The facilities are good, there are restrooms and a shower block which have the best showers around. There is a coffee corner which serves small breakfast items and in the evening a pizza deck opens with a good selection of pizzas, wine and beer, a great place to sit outside with the magnificent of Yosemite around you. There is free wi-fi available only in the lounge area but it is very hit and miss and the only way to guarantee getting on is very early morning when no one is around. Other than that would definitely recommend this as a good place to stay and see the wonders of Yosemite

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2014 via mobile

We stayed in a permanent tent which was fairly basic but did the job. It was clean and dry and under the blankets it was warm. Basic tent setup with beds, shelves & light. Bear box for all your cosmetics.The setting is amazing, waking up and seeing half dome through the Forrest. The facilities are ok, with plenty of washing and w/c's. The bar are internet area are good and useful. The village bus service is useful to begin your day to get to any of the many walks through Yosemite. Would defo go back to this part of Yosemite again and use this location.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank jamald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2014 via mobile

A tent cabin in curry village is such an experience that I will always remember fondly. The tents are nestled under a lush green canopy allowing dappled light through to the forest floor giving you the feeling of coolness and serenity. The large natural boulders are like sculptured sentinels, they invite you to scramble up the side and sit atop while surveying your surroundings. The tents are basic, a light a bed and a fly screen door, but you need nothing more as the park is what we are here for.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank freemeadow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2014 via mobile

Arrived after dark and the staff was very polite and helpful. The cabin outside light was out. The floor and carpet looked like it had not been vacuumed or cleaned in forever. The beds were very uncomfortable. The thermostat on the heater did not work properly. The guys at the pizza parlor were very nice and efficient. The views priceless.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank 0268johnson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountain View, California
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2014

We stayed at a heated cabin in Camp Curry in mid-March, and paid only $140 a night. Summer rates are about $60 per night higher. The heated cabins were built nearly 100 years ago and lack insulation, but they have powerful wall heaters. The interiors have been refurbished to some extent, but the cabins feel small and crowded.

Why stay in Camp Curry? Because it is on the valley floor with a good view of Yosemite's granite icons, such as Half Dome. Camp Curry is on the shuttlebus route, and only a mile from the trailhead for hiking destinations such as Vernal Falls, Nevada Falls, and Half Dome. The $140 a night rate presumes that winter weather is not enticing to most visitors, most of whom will wait for warmer weather. But Yosemite doesn't always have a cold and wet winter, and we enjoyed a stay without the usual crowds.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank rickstevesfan33020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2014 via mobile

My family and I camp in Yosemite (Upper/Lower Pines) every summer. This year we will do the same but we decided we'll take the kids to Yosemite for Spring Break as well. Since it is still winter conditions we decided we'd stay in the Curry Village tents instead of camp. When we got there it was cold, raining and then started snowing. It was AMAZING! To be in Yosemite during the snow gives you a warm feeling.


If you decide to go during the "off-season" I will make some suggestions.

- Make sure you prepare for multiple types of weather. This means your clothes AND your vehicle. The roads leading to the valley are dangerous dry. You add rain, snow and ice and you are playing a whole different game.

- Food!!! Bring as much food as you can to prepare yourself. You can't cook in or around Curry Village Tents but you have a bear locker to store coolers. Bring stuff to make sandwiches, snacks, even cup-o-noodles. The Curry Store has a microwave and hot water. Use it! Bring food, your wallet will thank me later. Yosemite food prices are set to resort prices. $10 for a small personal pizza.

- Ask the front desk. If you have any questions, ask the front desk. They are so helpful and know a ton about what's going on in Yosemite.

Have fun! Keep the Yosemite wild!

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
12 Thank Vince A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yosemite National Park
1.5 mi away
Yosemite Valley Lodge
Yosemite Valley Lodge
#3 of 3 in Yosemite National Park
3,823 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Majestic Yosemite Hotel
The Majestic Yosemite Hotel
#1 of 3 in Yosemite National Park
2,605 reviews
16.3 mi away
Cedar Lodge
Cedar Lodge
#2 of 2 in El Portal
2,102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.3 mi away
Evergreen Lodge at Yosemite
17.7 mi away
Rush Creek Lodge
Rush Creek Lodge
#3 of 7 in Groveland
458 reviews
18.3 mi away
White Chief Mountain Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Half Dome Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Half Dome Village

Property: Half Dome Village
Address: 9010 Curry Village Drive, Yosemite National Park, CA 95389-9907 (Formerly Curry Village)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Yosemite National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 24 Specialty Lodging in Yosemite National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Half Dome Village 1*
Number of rooms: 503
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Half Dome Village is made up of a combination of rooms types. We have Hotel Rooms, Cabins with Private Bathroom, Cabins without Private Bathroom, Heated Tents and Unheated Tents. Our operations are seasonal and include 5 Food and Beverage Outlets in the Peak Season. We are located in the Southeast portion of the Valley. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelUp, Travelocity, HotelsforEveryone, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Half Dome Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Curry Village Hotel Yosemite National Park
Curry Village Yosemite

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing