We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly, VIEWS are spectacular, FANCY CAMPING. WINTER/SPRING”
Review of Half Dome Village

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Half Dome Village
Level Contributor
126 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Friendly, VIEWS are spectacular, FANCY CAMPING. WINTER/SPRING”
Reviewed March 28, 2014

I STAYED IN THE PARK FOR TWO NIGHTS IN MARCH, 2014. The first night I spent in the Stoneman House. It is a cottage style building with a wrap around porch, private shower, toilet and sink. Mine was #8 on the corner. It is the closest to the office and the bus stop. It had two windows with peacefull views. It's fairly close to parking.
The second night, they were sold out of rooms, so I tried the "fancy camping" and booked a heated tent. They offer a non-heated tent and camp sites too. It had a screen door, a raised wood floor, a thick canvas roof and walls, a heater, a raised bed ( about as comfortable as a couch bed mattress but much better than sleeping on the ground), linnens, a light, a safe, a shelf, and an electical outlet. Surprisingly, I really enjoyed my stay here. I did have to use a public shower/bathroom, but it was fairly clean. Just bring some flipflops and a hairdrier, ladies. There is a "bear box" outside the tents to put your scented items and snacks. Bring a lock for it. It's big enough to put a small cooler and a carry-on +. The views here are perfect. I saw deer both days of my trip in the parking area. It was so peaceful in Yosemite. The common areas were nice. I made some friends in the community house where there was a warm fire, lots of couches, tables, chairs and board games for visiting. although there is a weak wi-fi, there are no phones or TV's in the rooms or cabins. This is a great place to get away, relax, and find peace with yourself and nature.
Curry has a pizza place and a gift shop, but there were open limited hours this time of year and few of the tours were avail. during the week/winter hours so I ate at the Yosemite Lodge lounge and the Yosemite food court.
I hiked to Vernal falls ( hard for me, but worth it), took the bus tour of the park (enjoyed it), saw a coyote at Yosemite Falls, etc. If hiking, I recomend buying some walking sticks from the gift shop, bringing a backpack, plastic bags and tissue, water, snack bars, camera, and layered clothing for a hike. There were supposed to be bathrooms on the trail, but they were closed for the season, so several people left TP in the woods. If they had a bag to put it in they could have carried it to a garbage can. It took me 3 hours round trip to Vernal falls and is not suitible for handicap people towards the top. Yosemite falls is fairly handicap accesable, though. I took this trip by myself, and felt safe (except for when I thought I saw a bear in Mariposa grove). That grove is about 45 min+ away from the curry. Although it is easier to access than the other seqoia groves, you stil have to hike 2+ miles to see the landmark trees. The tram and the bathrooms were closed when I was there, so I had to hoof it. It is easier to walk on the paved tram path if you have a bad back. Overall, It was a peaceful, spiritual experiece for me. I hope it is for you too.

Room Tip: Ask to be close to the Office. There is free coffee in the moring there. :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank SandyAmanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,680 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,134
    1,396
    698
    242
    210
See reviews for
1,319
1,302
165
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (763)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Norman, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2014

Great place for real life camp stay at really affordable prices and great service staff (especially reception staff)! Location is great, although WiFi connectivity is really bad at the common centre. Would stay again if i went there..

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ROBA87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2014

A good alternative if you prefer a traditional hotel instead of a tent. There is no TV but everything else you need is there. Internet is only available in the lounge which closes at 10PM; and it becomes unusable when there are enough people in the lounge.
There is a grocery shop and hiking equipment store nearby. Shuttle bus stop is right in front.

If you want Internet, go to the lounge early.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank znd125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgetown, Texas
Level Contributor
30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2014 via mobile

My dad and I were planning on staying in the Yosemite Valley for just one night after coming from San Francisco. We had been told that during the winter months things were very slow in the valley and that no reservations for rooms were required. So we stuck to that and just planned to find lodging when we arrived. We got there at about 5pm and it was already very dark and we began to see a lot of cars. We were very confused at first because we didn't know exactly where we were going to stay and it is very difficult to see signs at night and guide yourself through the valley when it is pitch black. So try to get there before dusk. We got to Curry Village just trying to find a place to sleep and were shocked when we heard that they offered tents to sleep in considering it gets around 19 degrees at night. Bear in mind what they call "cabins" here are actually TENTS. They checked on other accommodations for us and they said that a night at the lodge would be around $150 and a night at the hotel could be anywhere from $200-$400 which is outrageous! We decided we did not have that much money to spend on one night and hesitantly settled on spending the night in one of the HEATED tents which costed around $60. We asked the guy why there was such limited availability since we thought during the winter traffic would be pretty slow. He told us that it was only busy because it was New Years weekend and because of the nice weather during the day (60 degrees with no snow) and mentioned that it would die down again after the weekend. Word of advice, plan ahead if you don't want to stay in a tent.
I can honestly say though, staying in the tent was one of the highlights of our trips.
You have to hide all of your food AND toiletries (since they have scents) in the bear box to keep them safe from scavengers and must not leave anything with a smell in your car.
The tent itself was very nice and warm. You are provided with many wool blankets, a safe, towels, and a radiator with a thermostat. You are able to request a single bed or double beds. The shower room is also very nice, clean and WARM. I anticipated that the showers would run out of hot water, but they did not. And they also conveniently provide shampoo and conditioner if it is needed. Definitely had a great nights sleep here and I wouldn't change any of it.
In the morning, for breakfast, we headed over to Yosemite Lodge where they had a plethora of breakfast foods for decent prices.
Overall, we had a great stay. It is initially shocking when you are told that you have to stay in a cabin that is actually a tent and that you have to take precautions against bears but it is so worth it and truly memorable!
Remember! Get there before dusk as it is very difficult to navigate the park after dark. Also cabins=tents. Don't be afraid of the bears! You can leave food and things in your car during the day since there are park rangers patrolling and because bears are nocturnal but everything MUST be put away by night. Overall very nice place! Very exciting and unforgettable!

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
9 Thank WorldTravelerJB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2014

We arrived in Yosemite just as it reopened after the government shutdown. We decided to drive around the outlying sights before checking in which meant we only had to do the valley floor the next day. We checked in and thankfully had brought a torch because it's dark walking between different areas. When we found our tent we put the heating on and went to get food. There were 3 beds in our tent and about 5 lights blankets. The first night we were absolutely freezing. I had a lot of extra layers on and didn't have a great sleep at all. The next day was absolutely beautiful and we thoroughly enjoyed our tour around Yosemite. Thankfully we left the heater on all day and the second night wasn't just as cold (but that may have also been because of the wine we had in the common room before going to bed!)
The common room is a really cosy area with free wifi. We ordered pizza and got wine from the shop beside it so we were very happy with that. The first night we ate from the buffet in the restaurant which wasn't as good.
Only that we were restricted on budget and probably late in booking I would have gone for some of the cabins or lodges. Would definitely recommend staying in the valley though.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travelbug99ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Khartoum, Sudan
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2014 via mobile

The tents are comfortable and fix right in budget as well , a place must visit and sublime satisfaction , only drawback is the good food availability . However near by lounge have good cuisine available . The total population is on higher side so if you are looking for privacy this is not the place.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Konark O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, CA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2014

Midweek in early March we stayed at Stoneman House near the registration office of Curry Village. This place is a gem for visitors who want a bit more comfort. Our room was well lit and very comfortable with rustic decor, good shower, plenty of towels and 2 excellent double beds. An Adirondack chair right outside the door would have seen some use in warmer weather. Off-season food options in Curry Village are very limited, so we took the shuttle to Yosemite Lodge or the Ahwanee bar. A park shuttle stop was very convenient, right in front of the building. For internet we walked a short distance to the Curry Village common lounge building. Staff at Curry Village registration were very helpful. An excellent accommodation in one of the most beautiful spots on earth.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KayMOakland_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yosemite National Park
16.3 mi away
Cedar Lodge
Cedar Lodge
#2 of 2 in El Portal
2,009 reviews
18.3 mi away
Evergreen Lodge at Yosemite
17.7 mi away
Rush Creek Lodge
Rush Creek Lodge
#3 of 7 in Groveland
379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.3 mi away
White Chief Mountain Lodge
11.3 mi away
Yosemite View Lodge
Yosemite View Lodge
#1 of 2 in El Portal
3,786 reviews
18.6 mi away
Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Half Dome Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Half Dome Village

Property: Half Dome Village
Address: 9010 Curry Village Drive, Yosemite National Park, CA 95389-9907 (Formerly Curry Village)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Yosemite National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 24 Specialty Lodging in Yosemite National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Half Dome Village 1*
Number of rooms: 503
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Half Dome Village is made up of a combination of rooms types. We have Hotel Rooms, Cabins with Private Bathroom, Cabins without Private Bathroom, Heated Tents and Unheated Tents. Our operations are seasonal and include 5 Food and Beverage Outlets in the Peak Season. We are located in the Southeast portion of the Valley. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Travelocity, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Half Dome Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Curry Village Hotel Yosemite National Park
Curry Village Yosemite

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing