We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Glamping" - not for everyone”
Review of Half Dome Village

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Half Dome Village
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
45 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“"Glamping" - not for everyone”
Reviewed January 21, 2014

It's hard to review Curry Village, as there are few other accommodations that it can be directly compared to. In order to be as objective as possible I am reviewing it compared to other camping experiences - not hotels.

I stayed in a heated tent cabin with friends over the January long weekend.

Pros:
- Location is obviously the number one reason for staying here. Great to be right in the valley!
- Tent cabins themselves are far better than sleeping on the cold hard ground. The gas heater kept the cabin toasty through the night. Beds were a step above sleeping on a cot, i.e. just barely comfortable enough. Sheets and towels were basic, but clean and functional.
- Bathrooms/showers were very clean. Not sure if the same can be said at the height of summer when the village is at capacity, but they were fine while I was there.
- Every staff person we interacted with was delightful.

Cons:
- Earplugs are essential. The tent cabins are pressed smack up against each other, meaning you hear every snore and whisper of your neighbors. If you are a light sleeper, don't even think of staying here.
- Exacerbating the noise problem is the fact that the common areas of Curry Village (guest lounge, restaurant, etc) all closed at 10PM while we were there. As a group of 14 adults who wanted to enjoy eachothers' company over some libations after a long day of hiking, we had nowhere to hang out at night but our tents, which we acknowledge was not fair to our sleeping neighbors!

I've stayed in a variety of different accommodations both inside and outside Yosemite. Assuming budget was a factor, I would probably choose to either camp, or to stay in a hotel/motel just outside the park gate before staying in a Curry Village tent cabin again--especially in the high season. The quality of sleep you'll get in a private room on a comfy bed outweighs the extra 30 minutes required to drive into the valley.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Meli299
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,680 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,134
    1,396
    698
    242
    210
See reviews for
1,319
1,302
165
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (763)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bloomingdale, New Jersey
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2014

My boyfriend and I visited YNP a few years ago. We camped in Wawona the first 2 nights and "splurged" for a cabin tent in Curry Village on our last night. It was inexpensive and much needed after a long day of hiking and biking around the park. We were here during the first week of May, so it was still pretty cold overnight. The heat in the cabin tent was very much welcomed and the beds were decent (compared to sleeping in sleeping bag on the ground for the two previous nights). I felt pretty safe being there and it was close to the bathrooms/showers. Depending where your cabin tent is, it could be a little bit of a trek to the parking lots. There was plenty of space for two people in the cabin as well. I would definitely recommend staying in Curry Village if you're looking for a bit of an upgrade from a regular tent in a campsite, but still want the "camping" feel around you. Coolest part about staying here was that you could hear the roar of the waterfalls at night -- it was relaxing after a long day.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank amandao722
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Khartoum, Sudan
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2014 via mobile

Over all experience was satisfactory, of the plan in bag pack and spend 3-4 days , you would want to stay back at curry village, especially the tents as then are inexpensive and gives a thrilling campaigning experience.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Konark O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanFrancisco Bay Area
Level Contributor
288 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2014

I was happy to get 3 hard sided cabins for a family trip to Yosemite over the holidays. The cabins are VERY BASIC....constructed in the 1930's they have had very little updating. They were clean - but the fixtures were old, the towels small and thin and the carpet suspect. There is ZERO insulation and you can see through cracks in the walls to the outside. There was snow and the ground and the heater worked very well - also the in cabin bathroom had lots of hot water.

This is not upscale by any measure.....however, if you want to stay in the park and a tent in December does not interest you, then go for Curry Village.

Room Tip: Ask for an updated cabin if available....
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ReneeC08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 3, 2014

I stayed in an unheated tent-cabin during December 2013. The temperature was 27 degrees F at night but with about 7 or so blankets on top of me I slept well. This accommodation is not for anyone coming to Camp Curry to spent time in their room; its for people who are at Yosemite to hike and just visit their room for sleep.

I recommend an unheated tent-cabin, during winter, only for serious hikers who aren't quite ready for primitive camping.

I paid $39/ night, although I think $25/night would have been more reasonable--but the price was probably more about the location (on the floor of Yosemite Valley) than the digs.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amadeusleander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
136 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2013

We stayed in one of the wood cabins with a bathroom. Traveling in November, it was VERY quiet and I can only imagine how CRAZY it would be in the summer.

Not sure I would stay in one again. The two full mattresses were awful (saggy/soft). The mold/mildew in the shower was enough to almost make me wear shoes. : - (

The cabins are convenient, but, other than that, the lack of sleep and the shower pretty much put me off...

Room Tip: The cabins are being remodeled, so asking for one of the "NEW" cabins I expect would be be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
6 Thank mjmsf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunnyvale, California
Level Contributor
89 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2013

We stayed at the Curry Village in Dec, booked a wood cabin - including bathroom and heater.
It was a cozy room with a double bed and one single bed. They provided a roll-away since we were 4 people. The bathroom was decent with enough hot water...it was pretty cold outside...
The heater kept the cabin warm and toasty. It was a short walk to the lounge and pizza restaurant. We took some board games and spent a nice evening in the lounge. During the day, we hiked the Mirror Lake trail , total 2 miles. The trail was shaded with trees and pretty chilly. It would be good to bundle up little kids in layers...We drove around the park to take in the sights..
There wasnt enough snow to do skiing lessons at badger Pass...

Room Tip: For families with little kids,the wood cabins with bathrooms worked out well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Booklover F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yosemite National Park
16.3 mi away
Cedar Lodge
Cedar Lodge
#2 of 2 in El Portal
2,009 reviews
18.3 mi away
Evergreen Lodge at Yosemite
17.7 mi away
Rush Creek Lodge
Rush Creek Lodge
#3 of 7 in Groveland
379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.3 mi away
White Chief Mountain Lodge
11.3 mi away
Yosemite View Lodge
Yosemite View Lodge
#1 of 2 in El Portal
3,786 reviews
18.6 mi away
Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Half Dome Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Half Dome Village

Property: Half Dome Village
Address: 9010 Curry Village Drive, Yosemite National Park, CA 95389-9907 (Formerly Curry Village)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Yosemite National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 24 Specialty Lodging in Yosemite National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Half Dome Village 1*
Number of rooms: 503
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Half Dome Village is made up of a combination of rooms types. We have Hotel Rooms, Cabins with Private Bathroom, Cabins without Private Bathroom, Heated Tents and Unheated Tents. Our operations are seasonal and include 5 Food and Beverage Outlets in the Peak Season. We are located in the Southeast portion of the Valley. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Travelocity, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Half Dome Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Curry Village Hotel Yosemite National Park
Curry Village Yosemite

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing