We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stay in Heated Cabin”
Review of Half Dome Village

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Half Dome Village
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Very unique experience to stay in Heated Cabin.
It may be too expensive for us, especially we only have 2 persons.
The bed is Too SOFT without strong supporting to us.
The location is very nice to stay in Yosemite.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JChen_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,769)
There are newer reviews for Half Dome Village
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,441 - 2,447 of 3,769 reviews

Reviewed March 10, 2013

We spent one night in a signature tent cabin last summer. We stayed right before the breaking news of the Hanta virus. We spent our second night at the Yosemite Lodge. The only reason we were in Curry Village was because I could not get two nights at the lodge.
There were pros and cons to our stay.
Pros-staying in the valley was a amazing!!! Our cabin was spotless. The beds were comfortable. Towels and bedding were provided. There was a safe in the cabin. We slept well and even though we were right across from the bathrooms, we didnt find it to be noisy We loved the campfire program at night. We had pizza for lunch and it was both good and reasonably priced. the camp store was well stocked and we purchased a few snacks and souviners. All of the workers were very nice, helpful and welcoming. We rented bikes in Curry village for the entire day and really had a blast using them. The pool was not open, but we were given passes to use the pool at the Lodge, which we did.
Cons-parking was a HUGE issue. This was made worse by the fact we happened to be there on the one day of the year when part of the parking lot is closed for apple picking!! We parked in the bike rental lot and let me tell you that was a longgggg haul with our stuff. We knew that we couldnt check in until 5:00, but it was still a pain. By havng it so late, everyone arrives at the same time and there was a long line. The tent cabins are simply too close together. The bathrooms were always super busy. They needed more, but we managed. I think we paid close to 150.00 for our night......that was way overpriced. Now here is my biggest con and it still makes me angry. Now we checked into the cabin, before the news broke about the first Hanta virus death. However, i have since learned that over the years a few people have died of Hanta virus in the park. I think at check in, it would be prudent for staff to warn guests about precations to take if you see mouse dropping in your cabin. (we never saw any, but that is besides the point) The knowledge is there, but if it is not shared it is useless. We live in the east coast and had never heard of Hanta virus. I have seen plenty of mouse droppings over the years and when I did I never saw them as dangerous. We were warned over and over and over again about the bears, but nothing about the possibility of deadly mouse droppings. I feel that is a HUGE fail on Yosemites part.
We had an AWESOME time in Yosemite and I can't wait to return. However, I will avoid staying overnight in Curry Village.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Heidi C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2013

This is not the place to find solitude. Concessioner Delaware North has crowded the tents so tight that you'll hear your neighbor snoring (I heard even more, but I won't describe the indiscretions here!) Parking is awful, food lines are long, prices are high (if you even manage to get a reservation). The only good thing is that Curry Village is directly in the Valley with easy access to all the big site seeing.

Thank toddinparis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

We stayed this weekend in a heated tent cabin. They are made of canvas and the low outside was 24 degrees. The tent heater kept the interior about 50, which was fine for my husband and I, but the tent next door had a child in diapers. She was cold and crying much of the night. The tents are only 3 feet apart, and several campers lost sleep because of her crying.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sally M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2013

We stayed at Camp Curry a couple of days after the Hantavirus outbreak hit the news in 2012. Thankfully the staff took it in their stride and moved us from one of the effected tents to a different area of the camp without any fuss or drama.

The tent we stayed in was adequately equipped and comfortable, although a little pricey compared to the cost of staying in an average hotel elsewhere in California. We opted to have breakfast included, and the spread and choice was great. As stated in the camp rules, most people quieten down at around 10pm and if you need to be social, the lounge area is a great facility (although the WiFi a little congested and slow).

If there are any downsides it would be the constant hassle of having to use a bear box (but live with it - better than bears on camp!) and the toilet/shower blocks are a little basic and rough.

In all Curry Village is a great experience and one that we would recommend without hesitation, even if "camping" isn't really your thing (this isn't really "camping"). Hopefully we'll get the opportunity to return one day.

Yosemite itself is stunning; but that is a whole subject in itself.

Room Tip: No real need to pay for one of the more deluxe tents. Just enjoy the experience!
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GusTheRat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2013

Our stay at Curry Village was as expected -- a canvas tent with three cots. We stayed there for a couple of nights during our ascend to Half-Dome. The trail was only a few feet from our tent. The bathrooms for the most part were constantly cleaned and there was food, shop, internet access at the main gate which is about a 5 minute walk from pour tent.

This place is bare minimum with some electricity mainly for lighting. Apart from AT&T, there is no cell-phone coverage, but you can tap in the wi-fi at the main gate area.

It's a perfect location if you're there to enjoy to beauty of Yosemite and plan to climb/hike. If you're just coming to enjoy the scenery and not expecting to rough it out a little bit, then I would recommend staying at a lodge or hotel nearby.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jonjoncapy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2013

My wife and I went there to spend three nights in May. When the accommodation offered no more and no less than what we were expecting, the noise levels created by young pupils slightly impacted our enjoyment of the place. This said, if we had been going with our family, this would be our place of choice!

Thank Josselin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yosemite National Park
1.5 mi away
Yosemite Valley Lodge
Yosemite Valley Lodge
#3 of 3 in Yosemite National Park
3,863 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Majestic Yosemite Hotel
The Majestic Yosemite Hotel
#1 of 3 in Yosemite National Park
2,629 reviews
16.3 mi away
Yosemite Cedar Lodge
Yosemite Cedar Lodge
#2 of 2 in El Portal
2,151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.4 mi away
Evergreen Lodge at Yosemite
17.7 mi away
Rush Creek Lodge
Rush Creek Lodge
#2 of 7 in Groveland
505 reviews
11.2 mi away
Yosemite View Lodge
Yosemite View Lodge
#1 of 2 in El Portal
3,994 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Half Dome Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Half Dome Village

Address: 9010 Curry Village Drive, Yosemite National Park, CA 95389-9907 (Formerly Curry Village)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Yosemite National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 23 Specialty Lodging in Yosemite National Park
Price Range: $64 - $275 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Half Dome Village 1*
Number of rooms: 503
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Half Dome Village is made up of a combination of rooms types. We have Hotel Rooms, Cabins with Private Bathroom, Cabins without Private Bathroom, Heated Tents and Unheated Tents. Our operations are seasonal and include 5 Food and Beverage Outlets in the Peak Season. We are located in the Southeast portion of the Valley. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelUp, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Half Dome Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Curry Village Hotel Yosemite National Park
Curry Village Yosemite

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing