We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful well stocked house in amazing location...”
Private and secluded; near Yosemite, easy access; lots of parking; great stargazing & views!
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Private and secluded; near Yosemite, easy access; lots of parking; great stargazing & views!
Ideal mountain getaway! Near Yosemite yet very private with beautiful views Comfortable sofas in the living room ideal for relaxing with family and friends
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
66 reviews
Private and secluded; near Yosemite, easy access; lots of parking; great stargazing & views!
Ideal mountain getaway! Near Yosemite yet very private with beautiful views
Comfortable sofas in the living room ideal for relaxing with family and friends
Enjoy your home cooked meal at the big dining table or cozy up to the fireplace!
Large dining table to relax and enjoy a fine meal with family and friends
Cozy Living Room with beautiful River Rock wall surrounding gas fireplace
The full amenity kitchen is beautifully light by solar tubes.
Master bedroom features a California King solid oak sleigh bed.
Queen bed with country quilt adorns the beautifully decorated West bedroom
Queen bed with country quilt adorns the beautifully decorated East bedroom
Incredible Star Gazing or beautiful scenery while enjoying the private Hot Tub
Half Dome at a summer sunset from Glacier Point in Yosemite Nat'l Park
Yosemite's Half Dome In Winter after snowfall
Inquisitive coyote in winter in Yosemite Valley in Yosemite Nat'l Park
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Yosemite National Park, California

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 66 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Silverdoc...
Ormskirk, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Beautiful well stocked house in amazing location - just fabulous!”
Reviewed August 25, 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

House is amazing. Due to problems with the washing machine (we were advised of this before arrival) I did have reservations about staying here, but Mariposa is not far and has everything you need including a laundrette if necessary.
It was far too hot to explore as much of Yosemite as we would like with small unacclimatised children, but we did go into the park a few times. Yosemite village was 45 - 60 minutes or so away, Sentinal dome 1 hr and 30 - 1hr 50mins depending on traffic and speeds you feel comfortable at. It is a pleasant drive to the park and views along the river are river is also nice for a dip in the summer when it is calm, although I believe this is not possible at certain times of the year.
The space and quality of the cottage are not appreciable on the website. The kitchen is well stocked.
Charles is a valuable source of information about the park and the surrounding areas.
I would certainly return if we were to stay in the area again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Space and amenities
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 1, 2017
Thank you for your great review - it was great to have you stay at the Cottage!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bklamm
Rochester Hills, Michigan
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great place to stay, one small issue”
Reviewed July 8, 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed there for several nights - the house was very clean and Charles was very helpful on what to do in Yosemite - especially the sunset hike. The reason for a 4 is that our second night there - there were ants all over the kitchen and cupboards. We lost most of our dry good foods due to this (in a closed pantry). The host was quick to resolve the issue - but we lost over $100 worth of food. I'd still recommend to others as overall the place, location, and advice was great.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 10, 2016
The Yosemite Country Cottage is located in a rural setting surrounded by the beauty of the Sierra National Forest. While we take pride in providing a clean and well maintained property as all the reviewers mention, there are the rare occasions when Mother Nature makes her presence known. We promptly addressed the situation once brought to our attention and the ants were gone as quickly as they arrived. We apologize for any inconvenience our guests experienced and glad to hear their overall stay was great.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Oct 1, 2017
Thank you for your great review - it was great to have you stay at the Cottage!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
MamaJuji
South Pasadena, California
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Just what we hoped for, but better!”
Reviewed April 10, 2016 for a stay in April 2016

Everything you could want in a vacation rental, but better. Spacious rooms, comfortable beds, fully stocked with all the basic amenities (plenty of good dishes, glassware, cooking utensils), plus lots of extras (oversized plush towels for the hot tub, pack-n-play for babies, espresso machine, and horseshoes!) make this place a stand out. Extra bonus - Charles is a welcoming host, and super knowledgeable of Yosemite and environs. Ask for his advice on what to see and do, it will make your trip even more amazing.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Excellent set up for vacation rental
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 1, 2017
Thank you for your great review - it was great to have you stay at the Cottage!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mlasare
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
“awesome place to stay!”
Reviewed March 7, 2016 for a stay in March 2016

My wife and I really enjoyed staying at the country cottage. The owner Charles was very informing and allowed us privacy. It is comforting to know that each time the place is rented it is professionally cleaned. Plenty of towels and kitchen had pots, pans and utensils for every need! It was nice not having to go out! great grill too! I could keep going on about the shower, fireplace hot tub etc.. but I think by the great reviews you could decide for yourself.. 10 miles out of town and 40 minutes to the floor of yosemite..nice quiet area.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 1, 2017
Thank you for your great review - it was great to have you stay at the Cottage!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick w
Schaumburg, Illinois
1 review
“Perfect Honeymoon Retreat!”
Reviewed December 8, 2015 for a stay in October 2015

My wife and I wanted to honeymoon in Yosemite, but didn't want to be in the crowded, busy areas. I found the Yosemite Country Cottage on TripAdvisor and I couldn't be happier with the decision to go there. It was about as close to Yosemite without actually being in the National Park (about 45 min drive) as you can stay.

The cottage is located up a very private driveway and has amazing views of the stars from the private hot tub! The kitchen was everything we could have asked for as we prepared all of our meals for the day and cooked our dinners each night.

The proximity between Mariposa and Yosemite was very ideal as we could go in town rather easily if we needed something, but were far enough out to not be bothered by any noises besides mother nature.

I enjoy making purchases through individuals and small businesses rather than large companies due to usually receiving better customer service. Charles was the perfect example of why I do it. Not only was he very friendly, but his tour guide experience served as personal trip planner! He recommended several different trails and each recommendation was better than the last. If you visit you must follow his Sentinel Dome Sunset Hike recommendation and be sure to pack a light dinner for the view (we brought a bottle of wine as well)!

I wish we could give more than 5 stars for this cottage!

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 1, 2017
Thank you for your great review - it was great to have you stay at the Cottage!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Divinewin...
Old Lyme, CT
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Family reunion getaway to Yosemite”
Reviewed October 15, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

I cannot say enough about what a great time we had staying at Yosemite Country Cottage. We had a whirlwind trip from San Francisco, to Lake Tahoe, to Napa and ending our glorious vacation here in Midpines for our Yosemite vacation. A gorgeous, clean property with all the amenties for comfort especially the hot tub. A master bedroom suite and two double bed bedrooms on the opposite side of the of the living room dining room kitchen area. Our nephew and his wife and kids joined us after two nights. Loved cooking breakfast for the family in the kitchen. Laundry facilities in the house was a welcome. At night the motion detectors would go off, and i would scamper around the house to see what was out there. Caught a glimpse of a redtail going up the hill. you cannot go wrong with this. Exactly a 35 minute ride to the Yosemite gate and ten minutes to Mariposa for groceries or fine dining. Thanks so much Charles for your hospitality. We will return to continue our Yosemite adventure from Connecticut in the future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The hot tub
Liked least: would have liked to have seen some more staples in the kitchen like sugar and directions for the coffee makers.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 1, 2017
Thank you for your great review - it was great to have you stay at the Cottage!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing