We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Under renovations!”
Review of Big Trees Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Big Trees Lodge
A TripAdvisor Member
BErkeley CA
19
Reviewed April 24, 2005

For the price we paid $79 midweek including a full breakfast - this was great. Inside the park instead of having to get up to drive for an hour in the morning, excellent breakfast, good "pioneer" dinner - with pot roast and trout choices - a little pricey for dinner. Maybe they have been reading past reviews.

They are currently in the process of a makeover. Info about the work said new porches, new stairs, increasing access for disabled, and fixing the foundation were in the works. We also saw some major renovations on some rooms on one end of the main building, but I'm not sure how far these would go. Much of the furniture appears to have been recovered.

We stayed in one of the rooms with no bath. They had towels and bathrobes available. We had electric heat. It was April - so we still had snow in spots at the higher elevations. It was chilly going to use the bathroom, but not that big a deal. They might spring for more heat in the bathrooms though. Didn't notice any noise - a more mellow crowd than down at the campground. The service in the restaurant was fine - the desk clerk could maybe use a runner in the busy season.

A great place to sit on the veranda and have a drink, rest your feet after a busy day down in the valley - I would certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed: April 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,102)
There are newer reviews for Big Trees Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,793 - 1,799 of 2,102 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
San Jose, Ca
19
Reviewed April 17, 2005

  • Stayed: April 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2005

  • Stayed: March 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank ldority
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2005

  • Stayed: July 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Nell55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2004

  • Stayed: October 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank Travelin'Prankster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
662
Reviewed October 21, 2004

15  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2004

  • Stayed: July 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
44  Thank Alan_from_Hampshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yosemite National Park
14.7 mi away
Yosemite Valley Lodge
Yosemite Valley Lodge
#3 of 3 in Yosemite National Park
3,855 reviews
15.2 mi away
The Majestic Yosemite Hotel
The Majestic Yosemite Hotel
#1 of 3 in Yosemite National Park
2,620 reviews
13.8 mi away
Yosemite Cedar Lodge
Yosemite Cedar Lodge
#2 of 2 in El Portal
2,142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.7 mi away
Rush Creek Lodge
Rush Creek Lodge
#3 of 7 in Groveland
495 reviews
13.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Yosemite Gateway Inn
4.2 mi away
White Chief Mountain Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Big Trees Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Big Trees Lodge

Address: 8308 Wawona Road, Yosemite National Park, CA 95389 (Formerly Wawona Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Yosemite National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Yosemite National Park
Price Range: $286 - $384 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Big Trees Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Big Trees Lodge is cherished as one of the most respected and most frequently visited Yosemite hotels. Its authentic Victorian architecture features beautiful white buildings, classic verandas and lush natural surroundings. At the Big Trees Lodge, there's something for everyone-including golf, tennis, horseback riding, or fishing. Evenings are spent gathered around the piano for musical performances in the lounge. Big Trees Lodge dining is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, TravelUp, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Big Trees Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wawona Hotel Yosemite National Park
Wawona Yosemite National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing