We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Big Trees Lodge
Nearby Hotels
$329
$274
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Rush Creek Lodge(Groveland)
$400
Rush Creek Lodge
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$221
$189
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$199
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
$249
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$145
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
$189
$179
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$209
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
The Majestic Yosemite Hotel(Yosemite National Park)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Cozy Bear Cottages(Yosemite National Park)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,165)
Filter reviews
2,165 results
Traveler rating
742
814
325
192
92
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
742
814
325
192
92
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmariposa grovetom boppshared bathroomyosemite valleyhistoric hotelmain buildingmoore cottagegolf shopsun roompiano playerpot roastprivate bathcontinental breakfastdining roomstep back in timeadirondack chairspioneer village
Filter
Updating list...
1,111 - 1,116 of 2,165 reviews
Reviewed July 21, 2014

Classic old hotel in wonderful location. Don't expect all modern amenities such as TV or in-room Wi-Fi but enjoy the ambience. Food was excellent. Great pianist playing in lounge way more entertaining than television. We usually see more deer and wildlife but there was a large buck grazing one morning on the hotel lawn.

Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Gere S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2014

Excellent choice if you wish to stay in Yosemite. It is a very old building but is well maintained while still retaining its historic features. The setting is great and very quiet. Would definitely recommend!

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Spanner82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2014

We've been to Yosemite several times but always stayed in the valley. Coming from the south, this time we stayed one night at the Wawona. Busy place in the summer, although nothing the crowds in the valley. The highlights: We had the room for five people with two queens and a single and it was both quaint and spacious, which usually don't go together. The veranda at the hotel is very turn of the century (last century) and a great place to have a drink or just relax and enjoy the grounds. The outdoor pool is terrific. We didn't golf but there is a course here, unusual for a national park property. We didn't have dinner but did have breakfast and it was excellent. The rates are high for the summer but that's Yosemite. Location is good to visit the redwoods on the south end of the park (free park bus takes you there and back at regular intervals), which is a must see. It's about a 50 minute drive to Glacier Point, which we did in the early morning to avoid all the traffic. Recommended hike on the way to the point is Sentinel Dome -- easy a mile hike to the top of the dome, which has 360-degree views from El Cap to the west to Half Down to the east and beyond. Magnificent views and an easy hike from there to Glacier Point. go early!

Room Tip: Wifi is in a lounge area in the hotel (not the lobby but near the golf course). Get an upstairs room because all the windows are open, it's busy and it can be noisy.
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cgbroderick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2014

We stayed at Wawona Hotel for 3 nights in Mid-May. This lodge is in the park, but is not in the Valley. They say to give yourself an hour to get down to the valley…in mid-May the traffic was light and it only took us 35 minutes to the valley floor and 20 to Glacier Point road. There are lots of twists and turns in the road so you steering wheel will always be in motion. The roads were all clear and even the Tioga Pass was open, although it closed for a couple of days a week later after a snow storm. They are fairly strict on the check in time so we had plenty of time to see the sites south of the lodge including Mariposa Grove before check in. We were also able to check out the Glacier Point road sites and watch sunset there after we checked in.

The check in process was pretty quick and the women that helped us was very friendly. She was knowledgeable about all aspects of Yosemite and many of the other National Parks. Parking is not close to the rooms so getting your luggage to you room can be an issue, but they may have people to help you. Keep in mind that you need to take everything out of your car that has a scent or has ever touched food, including empty coolers… every night!! The rooms are in buildings spread around the main check in / bar/ restaurant building.

Our room was in the Clark Cottage which is right next to the main building and is the closest to the available parking. The building is all wood with a long porch in front of the rooms with chairs for sitting outside. Ours was near the middle. We had a king bed, a writing desk and two chairs, night stand with alarm clock. Ceiling fan, windows that open, good heat…thermostat was a little quirky. They also provided a small oscillating fan and extra blankets. The bathroom had a heat lamp for getting out of the shower on cool mornings. Our room has a huge walk in closet nearly big enough to sleep in. The bed was comfortable with a bunch of pillows. We did not hear our neighbors at night. I wish there was at least one more outlet for charging stuff. The room would be a little small if you planned on spending much time in there.

In addition to check in, the main building houses a sitting area and library where they also serve drinks in the evening. You can also enjoy the beverage service on the large front porch. The dining area takes up half of the building. There are not any options close to Wawona to eat other than their dining room so there is usually a wait. The prices are expensive, but that is typical in any of the parks. Coffee is available by 6:00 am and a continental breakfast is included in the room. We had a special that upgraded us to the full breakfast. They have everything you could want to order and all was good. We headed out early one morning so they had a box breakfast ready for us at 6:00 am. We never ate lunch there and only one dinner. The dinners were very good, but there were no less expensive entrées on the menu. This was fine for one night for two of us, but would be very expensive for a family.

The grounds around the hotel are great. Remember you are at 7,000 ft. so there is a little less oxygen in the air and it will be a little cooler that the lower areas, especially in the evening. They had tennis courts and the golf course looked good with everything green and well groomed. There was a great trail that cuts through the golf course. We went on a night hike and went birding on it one morning. We saw over 20 species in about an hour. There was a small park next to the hotel that had a cover bridge over a stream and a historic village setting. There is no cell phone reception and there is only Wi-Fi in one small screened in sitting area on the second story of one the lodges. There is a pool but it was not opened yet during our stay. There is a gas station right next to the hotel too.

We stayed all three nights here when we were at Yosemite and the drive to the valley started to be too much. I would like to have stayed in the valley at least one night but they were all booked. Make sure you book early. Wawona was also full when we stayed. Overall glad we chose to stay here and we were able to see different birds than down in the valley.

Room Tip: Be close to parking. You will be emptying your car every night.
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Bobo185
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2014

Just got back from a 4-day trip to the Wawona Hotel in Yosemite. If you are looking for a bit a character with excellent staff with access to all of Yosemite, come here. Stay in the Annex for a real taste of old western front porch. A dip in the pool is great after a long days hike.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank wyandotte2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews