We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Be under no illusion...this is outdoor camping!”
Review of Housekeeping Camp

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Housekeeping Camp
Reviewed March 30, 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights while visiting Yosemite during a 3 week tour of California. Firstly I have to say Yosemite is breath taking and an absolutely must-see place. Loved it. If you book Housekeeping Camp be prepared for rough and ready camping - 3 brick walls and plastic sheeting for the roof and 4th wall/door way. Thats it. No comforts here. The bed was a bit manky and not very comfortable. We didn't get much sleep. The tents are in need of a good clean up and lick of paint. A proper door on them would also be good. The camping experience overall was good fun and we enjoyed it, but after spending the first week of our trip in nice hotels it was a big shock to the system. If I went back I would definitely spend a bit more money and try and stay somewhere a bit more comfortable. Also you have to look everything up in bear-proof cages at night and when you leave during the day which is a real pain, but probably applies in most sites. Maybe more fun with a group of friends...but not somewhere to take the girlfriend!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PhilNI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (792)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

636 - 642 of 792 reviews

Reviewed February 18, 2012

I love, love, love the Housekeeping Tents in the Yosemite Valley. They are located in the most beautiful part of the Valley, next to the running river, just below the roaring falls, two safe beaches with sand, and many, many walking/biking paths. Right across the street from the free bus that takes you all over the Valley. But most important is the fire pit. You are allowed bonfires until 10 pm at night. NO other lodging allows this. Yes, they are simple, but they have electricity, beds, shelving, patios, and bathrooms and water just a few steps away. I go every single year and can't imagine NOT going! TRUST ME!!

Room Tip: Book EARLY for best spots - they book up a year in advance! Try to go in May when the falls are at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank LindaLosAngelesCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2011

We were on a road trip (from the UK) of California for three weeks and visited Yosemite after our first 4 nights for a three night stay at Housekeeping Camp. We couldn't have loved Yosemite more - so very beautiful and I am very glad we stayed at Housekeeping Camp due to the proximity of everything. Loved the squirrels and the excitement of the bear locker and the accommodation itself was ok. I would have to agree with others that it is very expensive for what you get and I thought the shower block and toilet blocks were really filthy. They looked like they hadn't had a decent clean for months. Prepare to be very dusty whilst there and accept that this is slightly luxurious camping but not much more (my back still twinges at the thought of that mattress!). Would still recommend over Curry Village as it was much less crowded at Housekeeping. Make sure you climb Vernal Falls!

Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
4  Thank zoefroog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2011

It was late September and we stayed at Housekeeping Camp on the river and it was fantastic. Even if you have never really camped out (and this isn't exactly roughing it), it is a good place to experience camping with kids. Yes, it is a little old but we found it clean and enjoyable. The walls of the units are pretty thin but we did not feel intruded on. After experiencing the parks attractions all day, it is nice to come back to your campsite with a fire-pit right there and the trash and showers a short walk away. From our site we could see Yosemite Falls and we were right on the river.

Room Tip: Stay on the river if it's available. We had a great view of Yosemite Falls.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Butterflyturtles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2011

Spent two nights here at the end of September. Yes it is basic, and if it wasn't for the fact that the weather was superb I am not sure what I might be saying. I have camped in many places but this way down my list of happy memories - except for the fantastic views and sunsets.
The staff in reception were very helpful and the shop has most basic items you might need.
Two nights was enough for me and I would think twice before going again.

Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
Thank starveall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2011

Really enjoyed my first visit to Housekeeping Camp over Labor Day Weekend. The place was alive with families, and everyone was having a good time. While the accommodations were pretty rustic, I was surprised how comfortable and easy camping here was with a group of people. I would come back in a heartbeat. It was such a fun and relaxed time.

In case you choose to stay here, I've include the packing list we used and updated it with all the finer points we learned once we were up there:

Coolers & ice
Tools for campfire grill: brush, spatula, tongs, etc.
Something to cook marshmallows on
Coffeepot & filters
Hot pot
Kettle
Pots and pans
Electric griddle
Camping stove & propane (not necessary if you have a hot pot and electric griddle)
Mixing bowls
Mixing and serving spoons and spatula
Chef's and paring knife
Cutting boards
Juice container for frozen OJ (optional)
Wine, beer and can openers
Ziplocs (gallon and sandwich size)
Paper towels
Garbage bags or spare shopping bags
Power strips (one inside tent and another outside)
Campsite cleaning — ample baby wipes for your mattress, bookshelf, food prep counter, picnic table and feet before bed!
Tall broom to sweep tent and patio
Dish cleaning supplies (green dish washing liquid, scrub brush and sponge)
Campfire wood (purchase at Housekeeping Camp)
Lighter
Lantern (optional)
Citronella candles
Portable speakers and iPod (optional)
Books, magazines, cards, board games, instrument and/or ghost stories (optional)
Camp chairs
Oil cloth or dirt-proof table cloth for picnic table
Cloths pins and line (optional)
Eating gear: plate, bowl, utensils, napkin
Headlamp or flashlight
Towels for river (free clean shower towels available)
Toiletries
Sunscreen
Bug spray
Sheets/blankets or sleeping bag plus pillow
Mosquito net (optional)
Earplugs, Ambien and/or eyemask (optional)
Hiking shoes and socks
Flip flops
Swim suit
Sun hat/cap/visor
Beanie and gloves for nighttime
Shorts, t-shirts, pants, sweatshirts, fleece, rain jacket
Daypack
Water bottles x 2 (4 if you are doing Half Dome or similarly challenging day hike)
Camera and charger
Phone and charger
Bike, helmet and lock (optional)

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
20  Thank kellyj415
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2011

We paid about $90/night for two nights at the Yosemite Housekeeping camp. We found the tent cabin to be disgusting. It was dirty, moldy and old trash left in the tent including used kleenex from prior guests. The cabins are duplex with neighbors on the opposite side of the tent. We had people with 2 babies move in the other side after midnight on our first night and we never were able to get any proper sleep with all the crying. We would have been so much better off in our tent which is clean and not have neighbors sharing a common wall.

Room Tip: Skip this place
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HawaiiMen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yosemite National Park
1.0 mi away
Yosemite Valley Lodge
Yosemite Valley Lodge
#3 of 3 in Yosemite National Park
3,894 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Majestic Yosemite Hotel
The Majestic Yosemite Hotel
#1 of 3 in Yosemite National Park
2,653 reviews
17.9 mi away
Evergreen Lodge at Yosemite
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.0 mi away
Yosemite Cedar Lodge
Yosemite Cedar Lodge
#2 of 2 in El Portal
2,184 reviews
17.2 mi away
Rush Creek Lodge
Rush Creek Lodge
#2 of 7 in Groveland
526 reviews
10.9 mi away
Yosemite View Lodge
Yosemite View Lodge
#1 of 2 in El Portal
4,051 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Housekeeping Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Housekeeping Camp

Address: 9005 Southside Dr., Yosemite Valley, Yosemite National Park, CA 95389
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Yosemite National Park
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 23 Specialty Lodging in Yosemite National Park
Price Range: $55 - $65 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Housekeeping Camp 1.5*
Number of rooms: 266
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfect for those who love camping outdoors but don't want the hassle of setting up a tent, Housekeeping Camp is a Yosemite favorite. Perched alongside the Merced River in the middle of the Valley, the camp features three-sided concrete structures with a canvas roofs and privacy curtains. Nearby sandy beaches are perfect for relaxing in the sun by the river. From the Housekeeping Camp, you'll have unmatched views of Yosemite Falls and Half Dome as you prepare your dinner on your campfire ring's grill. Enjoy your meal on your covered patio as you take in the sights and sounds of Yosemite.. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Housekeeping Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Housekeeping Camp Hotel Yosemite National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing