We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Over 100 bears of decorations! =-)” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cozy Bear Cottages

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cozy Bear Cottages
Monterey, CA
1 review
“Over 100 bears of decorations! =-)”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2007

We loved our stay at the Cozy Bear Cottages. It is located in Yosemite West, which is an easy half hour drive to Yosemite Valley. We booked short notice for President's Day weekend. The owners were very nice. They let us check out late on Monday, since no one had booked the cottage for that day. We really appreciated that.

The kids love finding and counting the bears throughout this themed cottage. We liked the toy chest and the mini-stock of movies. The kids played star wars and we'd watch Herbie movies in the evening. The rooms are on the smaller size, but the way they decorated it actually makes it add to the charm and "coziness" of the place.

It was sort of pricey for us, but worth the memories we made.

  • Liked — The Location and Bears
  • Disliked — The price
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank The_Zigs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    30
    6
    3
    2
See reviews for
36
26
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2006

My husband, daughter and I just returned from a week-long stay at Cozy Bear Cottages in Yosemite West, California. Being that we had never been to the area before, we were pleasantly surprised when greeted by the owners with the warmth and welcoming that you would hope to expect on your first day of vacation. The cottage was warm and friendly with a whimsical bear theme throughout. It was nice that we had a kitchen, and even a barbeque to plan our own meals. When on vacation its nice to get away from formal dinners or fast food. The location is in a rural area away from the Valley, which we were grateful for after seeing how busy the park is. We would venture to the Valley to see waterfalls, hike, and be overwhelmed by everything Yosemite is, which was even more than expected, but it was nice at the end of the day to go to a quiet, comfortable "mountain home" atmosphere. We didn't want to leave! I enjoyed the personal touches of the decor most. The whimsical theme played right into the surroundings. You can't help be relax and be taken back to pleasant childhood memories as soon as you walk in the door. My husband liked feeling like he was in the woods but without having to drag out the camping equipment, and my daughter wanted to take all of the "bear stuff" home (which she didn't). I would highly recommend Cozy Bear to anyone, and we are already planning a winter trip.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2005

We were two couples sharing the cottage. Sharing one small-ish bathroom is not the most comfortable things in the world but if there were two, there would have been no complaints. Contrary to what the owners say, we had no laundry facilities offered to us, and the kitchen is not adequately stocked for people who REALLY COOK (like us). There was only one big pot, for example, and a really small, non-teflon frying pan for making eggs. There are bears everywhere (it gets a little silly). But cozy it is, and though the living room is small, it is cozy. There were parts of the cabin that hadn't been dusted in weeks.
Positive points: fairly new duplex, comfortable beds and linens, place is clean enough, cheery, well-lit, great location (you are right in the park), lots of firewood (but ask for plenty of starters when you arrive), good video library, heater works great, transactions were professional and easy.
I would go back to Yosemite in a heart beat, but I'd probably try another cabin rental next time.

Stayed March 2005
Helpful?
5 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
81 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 186 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2004

My husband, son and myself have just returned from our first trip to the USA, which included a 2-night stop at Cosy Bear. It was a lovely place to stay - set high up in the Yosemite mountains, in the forest - only 10 miles from Wawona, one way - and Yosemite Village the other. One night, an owl paid us a visit - and, on another evening, we had a coyote for company (he just sauntered past, giving us a curious backward glance!). The cottage itself was lovely. (Stuffed) bears and other whimsy were everywhere! The sitting room was, indeed, cozy; the kitchen/dining room were modern (and yet whimsical!), the bathroom, also modern (with two bears, dressed in their bathroom clobber, sitting on top of the toilet cistern!) and the bedrooms more than comfortable. There was even a toy box filled with goodies for the kids. Loved it!

Helpful?
6 Thank moo_bear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2003

Cosy Bear is situated in the mountains of Yosemite National Park and is a little hair-raising to get to but well worth staying at. Owner lives next door and is very helpful if you need anything.

Helpful?
11 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yosemite National Park
7.2 mi away
Cedar Lodge
Cedar Lodge
#2 of 2 in El Portal
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,932 reviews
17.4 mi away
Evergreen Lodge at Yosemite
9.4 mi away
Yosemite Valley Lodge
Yosemite Valley Lodge
#2 of 3 in Yosemite National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,631 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.5 mi away
The Majestic Yosemite Hotel
The Majestic Yosemite Hotel
#1 of 3 in Yosemite National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,472 reviews
8.6 mi away
Big Trees Lodge
Big Trees Lodge
#3 of 3 in Yosemite National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,009 reviews
3.1 mi away
Yosemite View Lodge
Yosemite View Lodge
#1 of 2 in El Portal
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cozy Bear Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cozy Bear Cottages

Property: Cozy Bear Cottages
Address: 7226 Yosemite Park Way, Yosemite National Park, CA 95389-9106
Location: United States > California > Yosemite National Park
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 25 Specialty Lodging in Yosemite National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Cozy Bear Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cozy Bear Cottages Hotel Yosemite National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing