We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy & fine”
Review of Cozy Bear Cottages

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Cozy Bear Cottages
Suffolk
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Cozy & fine”
Reviewed August 29, 2011

We stopped at L'il bear which was great for the 2 of us, we were concerned after reading some of the reports, but our fears proved to be for nothing, every thing was superb, clean, tidy & very quiet.

Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank sandykev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    30
    6
    3
    2
See reviews for
36
28
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2011

We saw the photos and read the reviews, so the decor was of no great surprise.

It was not to our taste, but that was neither here nor there.

What I did object to was the overall cleanliness. It really was very poor. If the fridge had been in a restaurant, I'm sure it would have been shut down.

I appreciate we all have different standards, but if you are charging people to stay in a property, there surely must be a gold standard.

The location was good and we enjoyed our stay in Yosemite but Cosy Bear Cottage was not the lovely retreat we had hoped for.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JULIAKLONDON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level 4 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2011

Just returned from our stay at Cozy Bear North. We were two single woman using both bedrooms. The cottage was just perfect for us. The kitchen and living room areas are not huge, but had everything we needed. The bedrooms were spacious and well appointed. I found the hosts-Carole and Neil- to be very helpful and responsive. The place was clean and comfortable. Yosemite West itself has a lot of construction going on, so at times it could be noisey. We were mostly out during the day, so this wasn't really a problem.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank greecebound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2011

What a disappointment the Coyote Walk (part of Cozy Bear Cottages) was.  Where do I begin...Perhaps the best place to start is the misleading brochure that was sent by the inn keepers Carol and Neal Misener with our receipt prior to our stay. The brochure states the cabin has a wood stove. And while there is one present, as the inn keeper told me upon arrival, it has not been working for over a year. Misrepresentation?  Yes!!!  The brochure states that there is an "entertainment center" and yet, there is no radio or other music to be had. There is a very small TV with a few DVDs...one of which was cracked!

My final comment relates to the brochure claiming a "gourmet kitchen," not even close. The kitchen is functional but if you desire decent pots, pans and knives, bring your own.  P.S., to the innkeepers, cleaning the oven once in a while is a good thing.  Same goes for dusting and cleaning the great room windows so one can actually see the advertised "spectacular view!"

My biggest problem is that the rate for this poorly maintained facility is $277 per night.  Much too high for the quality of the stay versus many other cabins/homes I have rented over many years.  My suggestion is do not stay here...look elsewhere!

P.S., To the owners, should you read this...I suggest some quality control on your innkeepers is necessary.

Room Tip: Be sure to ask probing questions.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank RichCSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2010

My husband and I stayed here from October 25-28 2010. We had seen pictures of this place on the internet and brochures sent to us by the owners, they did not do the place justice. We stayed at L'il bear and it was wonderful. Just the right size for the two of us after a day of hiking in Yosemite. It's location in the park is perfect for maximizing your time spent in the park. The decor of the cottage was bears and very nice. The granite counter tops in the kitchen and bathrooms made this place more upscale than what we expected. Having all the amenities washer dryer, fridge stove and dishwasher was very welcoming. The washer and dryer helps not having to pack yourself a 50 pound suitcase for a short trip. Our dealings with the owners of the cottage was nothing short of perfect. We had to switch our days at the last minute and they were more than accommodating to our request. Although they live above L'il Bear they stay out of your way and let you enjoy your trip but will help you if you require anything. I would highly recommend this place to anyone traveling to this area...It is most definitely a hidden gem!!!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank october2010traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 26, 2010

My husband and another couple went to Yosemite for three days and we stayed at Coyote Walk. We had a wonderful time during our stay at the cabin. It was very clean and comfortable with 2 bedrooms and 2 full baths as well. The location is great (only 30 min to the valley 20 min to Glacier Point, and 20 minutes to Mariposa Grove). The only complaint we had was that the bedroom in the lower level was a bit damp and smelled moldy at times. Other than that the rest of the house was fantastic and we would definitely stay here again on our next trip!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank axa132
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
st. louis
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2010

We stayed in Coyote Walk - there were two adults and a two year old. Very nice accomodations, very cozy! The west side of the park is very quiet, compared to down in the valley. That was nice for having coffee in the morning, very peaceful. The cabin was very charming and clean, no complaints about anything! They had everything you could need, even a few condiments in the fridge which was handy. We made a meal one night in the kitchen and grilled out the other. Cozy Bear is very close to Sentinel Dome and Glacier Point so those are nice to do on your way back or out.
I highly recommend this place, perfect for families. I wish we could have stayed longer!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SusanSTL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yosemite National Park
7.3 mi away
Cedar Lodge
Cedar Lodge
#2 of 2 in El Portal
2,049 reviews
10.5 mi away
The Majestic Yosemite Hotel
The Majestic Yosemite Hotel
#1 of 3 in Yosemite National Park
2,581 reviews
14.3 mi away
Rush Creek Lodge
Rush Creek Lodge
#3 of 7 in Groveland
420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.4 mi away
Evergreen Lodge at Yosemite
12.7 mi away
White Chief Mountain Lodge
22.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Yosemite Gateway Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cozy Bear Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cozy Bear Cottages

Property: Cozy Bear Cottages
Address: 7226 Yosemite Park Way, Yosemite National Park, CA 95389-9106
Location: United States > California > Yosemite National Park
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 24 Specialty Lodging in Yosemite National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Cozy Bear Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cozy Bear Cottages Hotel Yosemite National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing