We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent overview of the area”

Yosemite Valley Floor Tour
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“Excellent overview of the area”
Reviewed July 4, 2013

Ranger Ben led our tour, which we booked by phone the morning of our visit (we were able to get 4 tickets for an afternoon tour). We checked in at Yosemite Lodge to get our tickets, then boarded an open-air trailer with bench seats pulled by a semi-type truck and with a raised area for Ranger Ben to sit so that he could see us and interact during the tour.

I cannot say enough about what a nice job the ranger did in giving us insight into both the history of the park and the features of the area - from the surrounding peaks and waterfalls, to the trees and animals in the park. He was informative and interesting, and his delivery was smooth. He answered questions and made sure to point out a variety of things of interest, including rock climbers, tree varieties, and rock types. We made several stops for pictures, including a gorgeous view of some of the peaks from a bank near the river which was very picturesque; a stop at tunnel view; and a stop to listen to the river. The tour provided water to refill our bottles (recommended to take on the trip, as well as sunscreen).

We all enjoyed the tour, including the kids, and I felt that it was a great way to get a feel of what the park has to offer. There are many other things to see, but this is a good starting point.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Family4RdTrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

408 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    284
    91
    19
    9
    5
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Connecticut
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Must see”
Reviewed June 27, 2013

You really need to take this tour for a wonderful overview of all the Valley has to offer. Helped to plan our hikes and photo opportunities.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank mars06074
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great way to see and learn about the valley”
Reviewed June 25, 2013 via mobile

We took this tour as we only had 1 full day,great way to get around and see the main sights and the ranger is very informative and open to questions,some of the best sights are seen from this tour.we took the midday tour which was very hot.so it was great we stopped for a cold water break,we'll worth it if you have a short or long time in park

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Ourlads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ga
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Glacier Point Tour 41. r/t”
Reviewed June 25, 2013

We booked this tour at Yosemite Lodge the day before the scheduled tour as suggested. We arrived, got in line for the tour bus (suppose to have lots of stops and an excellent tour guide driver). We got on the large bus and there were 7 of us still standing with NO SEATS left! We were directed to get off bus and spoke with the manager who said they had OVERBOOKED! We were all out of luck and since this was our last full day in Yosemite, we were really screwed. When we approached the counter to get our refund (I was in tears), the clerk said there 'there was nothing she could do- apparently the Fresno booking agents sold more and were not programmed real time with the Yosemite computers"..."would I like a refund"...long pause. YES!!!!!!!! Really? Would I LIKE a refund????? It was a terrible morning. We had booked on the 8:30 and the 10:30 and 1pm buses were all over sold. So Buyer Beware. We ended up driving ourselves up to Glacier Point and glad we did.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank MBeeGa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level 6 Contributor
270 reviews
81 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 294 helpful votes
“Best option if you only have a few hours”
Reviewed June 18, 2013

We were part of a train tour from San Francisco and only had a few hours in the park. The open air tram provided us outstanding views with brief stops at all of the great places to take pictures.

Having a knowledgeable, passionate guide is well worth the cost. There is so much history and many unique stories we wouldn't have learned about otherwise.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank TwoWas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Yosemite Valley Floor Tour also viewed

 
Yosemite National Park, CA
Yosemite National Park, CA
 

Been to Yosemite Valley Floor Tour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing