We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“View of Tuolumne Meadows from above”
Review of Lembert Dome

Lembert Dome
Book In Advance
More Info
$90.00*
and up
Tuolumne Meadows Custom Adventure Tour
More Info
$400.00*
and up
Experience Yosemite: Beginner or Advanced Photography Lesson
More Info
$150.00*
and up
Small-Group Tour of Yosemite from Lake Tahoe
Certificate of Excellence
Sc
Level 6 Contributor
162 reviews
61 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“View of Tuolumne Meadows from above”
Reviewed June 12, 2014

We took the trailhead at bus stop #4 (Dog Lake/Lember Dome) even though a shorter trail exists at stop #2 (we could not find it by car) The stop #2 trail head is much steeper that what we hiked - we went around the left side of the Dome and was pleasantly surprised that we made good time nearly reaching Dog Lake within the hour. We backtracked slightly to head off climbing the Dome. It got really steep the last 5% of the hike and you needed good footing and occasionally your hands to get up to the top. Once there, a great 360 degree unobstructed view is to be had...you can see Tuolumne Meadows as well as Cathedral and Unicorn Peaks and Mt. Dana. We rewarded ourselves after climbing down by having a late but satisfying lunch at the Tuolumne Meadows Grill.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank marcusaureliusSc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    87
    30
    3
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Stunning views and a fun ascent”
Reviewed May 27, 2014

We spent our Memorial Day morning hiking to the top of Lembert Dome. The bottom half through the woods was the toughest part for us due to the steep hike combined with the altitude. Once you hit the split to Dog Lake or Lembert Dome, it's much easier. The actual climb up to the dome isn't too steep and is quite fun to crawl up. The 360 views of the snowy peaks and green meadows are outstanding and you will want to spend the whole day up there soaking it in.

We did the round trip in about 2 hours, which was quicker than I expected. I could have easily lingered up top. I recommend it to all!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Chrissy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Amazing senset”
Reviewed January 5, 2014

Hiked after supper from Tuolomne Meadows campground. It was a steep but short 2.4 mile round trip hike. View from the top was spectacular and is a great place to just sit and enjoy the view. Try to get to the top with at least a half hour to enjoy the sunset. The view over the valley is amazing and it is very low key. We didn't see anyone at all on the hike. Would definitely do this again, and instead of trying to visit the popular places as this is a must see, and is very underrated.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike_the_Temp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
44 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“stunning”
Reviewed November 29, 2013

We didn't hike up Lembert but we did see it everyday from our camp ground. It is so mesmerising and breathtaking. Next time we will go up the top for sure!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ilovetravel098
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RapidCity,SD
Level 6 Contributor
160 reviews
95 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“You wont be disappointed”
Reviewed October 1, 2013

From the parking area we headed up the trail north-northwest toward Dog Lake. It was 2.5 miles to the top of the dome on a steep and rocky trail. Yes, we liked the trail and the views. Wear shoes that stick to the rock as on top of the dome it is a little steep in places. On the way back we took the trail to the south and made a loop. We hit the highway after about 1/2 mile and walked the highway back to the car. This loop took us about 2.5 hours to complete. You wont be disappointed.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank ssycats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lembert Dome also viewed

Yosemite National Park, CA
Yosemite National Park, CA
 
Yosemite National Park, CA
Yosemite National Park, CA
 

Been to Lembert Dome? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing