We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice location for a drink” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ahwahnee Bar - CLOSED

Ahwahnee Bar
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Drinks, Brunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Coronado, California
Level Contributor
348 reviews
231 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Nice location for a drink”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2014

We only had drinks here while we waited for dinner at the restaurant. Beautiful facility. Nice view of the hotel grounds. Good service. Could not ask for more of a hotel bar.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nadomom2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

330 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    102
    117
    72
    27
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sunnyvale, CA
Level Contributor
371 reviews
180 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1,477 helpful votes
“$10 salads, $16.50 sandwiches, average portion sizes, not a real substitute for dinner.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2014

We had arrived at the Ahwahnee Hotel at 330pm, and found that our room would not be ready until 415pm, and that there were no dining reservations available at the Ahwahnee Dining room until 730pm.

So we went on down to the Ahwahnee Bar, which is open 2pm-11pm in March. They aren't open earlier, so as not to conflict with the Ahwahnee Dining room lunch.

We sat down near the windows next to the Ahwahnee back green lawns, near the open swimming pool. The place is very clean, with shiny wooden tables, and a couple of steel German chandeliers hanging from the ceiling.

This is a soup, salad and sandwich cafe, with salads about $10, and sandwiches about $16.50. Portions are average at best.

My wife ordered the Chicken Waldorf sandwich, and I got the pulled pork sandwich, each $16.50. The chicken Waldorf sandwich came with chicken salad on a croissant, with a fruit cup of green and orange melon and pineapple pieces. This was not enough for a meal by itself, as my wife took some chips from my dish to supplement her meager portion of food.

My pulled pork sandwich came on a kaiser roll bun, with a generous serving of pork, with the bbq sauce on the side in a bottle, and a large pickle. Thick Hawaiian style chips accompanied the dish.

We didn't order any drinks, as we had plenty of juices in the refrigerator upstairs in our room.
Our final bill with tax and tip came to $40.64, the most expensive sandwich lunch I have ever had.

Later we checked out the Ahwahnee dining hall, and found it half empty at 6pm. Apparently to save money they have only 4 waiters serving 6 tables each on duty. That's 24 tables for dinner, and if the hotel has 123 occupied rooms -someone is going to go hungry for dinner.

The next night when we were going to dinner at the Ahwahnee dining hall, the Ahwahnee bar was filled with customers -probably hotel guests who could not get a reservation at the dining hall, as I see no reason to come here for dinner otherwise.

I would go to the Mountain Room Restaurant next time, if the Ahwahnee Dining Hall wasn't taking dinner reservations. You may want to take the Valley shuttle to Yosemite Falls at the Lodge, as parking is very difficult during the spring and early summer crunch season.

Avoid the Mountain Room Lounge and the Food Court at the Lodge, and expect to pay $110+ for dinner for two at the Ahwahnee dining hall, and $75+ for dinner for two at the Mountain Room Restaurant. I have been to all four of them multiple times, and written comprehensive TA reviews on all of them.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank robert c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Beach, California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Go to the Village Deli if you would like better food”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2014

This is the casual dinning option for the Ahwahnee Hotel. we went for an early dinner. The menu is limited. Ordered soup as a starter and sandwiches as entrees. It all came out at once - no sense of timing of courses. Difficult to get refills on ice tea. The sandwiches were not great. The next day we got sandwiches from the Deli in the Yosemite Village - much better and hearty sandwiches.
The Bar was brightly lighted - the atmosphere of a school cafeteria.

Had been to Yellowstone the prior year and stayed at most lodges and found them far superior. This just seems to be a badly managed facility.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Craig B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
264 reviews
125 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“OK food but overpriced”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2014

We stayed two nights at the Yosemite Lodge at the Falls. We ate at the Ahwahnee Bar for dinner; Mountain Room at the Yosemite Lodge for dinner; the Ahwahnee Dining Room for lunch; as well as the bar lounge at the Lodge. Definitely not gourmet dining anywhere - the Mountain Room was the best of the lot and the Awhahnee Dining Room the worst of the lot. The Bar at the Ahwahnee serves a basic food menu for dinner – quite expensive for what you get. It was busy until about 8pm the night we were there. I had the pulled pork sandwich and my wife had the veggie wrap – both were $16.50. Actually quite good meals but overpriced. Service was good even though it was busy. With a beer and glass of wine, the total was $62 including tax and tip. Our conclusion was it was better value and nicer surroundings to eat in the Mountain Room for dinner with basic food choices versus the lounges.
The Ahwahnee bar menu was very similar to the Ahwahnee Dining Room lunch menu, at least in March.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Whistledown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camp Connell, CA
Level Contributor
84 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“A classy place for a drink”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2014

The Ahwahnee was built to lure "influential Americans" to help the park grow, and the bar reflects that elegance. It was very nice, and we enjoyed two glasses of wine for about the price of a good bottle of wine anywhere else. But we felt elegant.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank shlamont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ahwahnee Bar also viewed

 
Yosemite National Park, CA
Yosemite National Park, CA
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing