We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pricey and average tasting food” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ahwahnee Bar - CLOSED

Ahwahnee Bar
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Scenic view
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Greenwood, Indiana
Level Contributor
100 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Pricey and average tasting food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013

So if you are staying in the Ahwanhee and don't want to or can't eat in the main dining area this is your only other choice. The bar has a very limited menu for food choices.
My wife had a chicken mushroom soup that was good but the Cesar salad was one of the worst she has ever had. It was very fishy in taste. I had the pulled pork sandwich which was just average.
We were served quickly and the staff was pleasant.
The bill was $38 and this was with the above food and water as our only beverage before adding a tip.
We will not be eating there again.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Indy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

331 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    102
    118
    72
    27
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
400 reviews
214 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“Average food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2013

We wanted to see this hotel since it looked so nice on a National Parks documentary. The hotel has some nice grand rooms, but it was less impressive than we thought it would be. We stopped for lunch in the bar as it has an outside eating area and it was a beautiful day. The menu was a little pricey. We had a Waldorff salad and a chili dog with soft drinks for $37.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 2Travel-4funNow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
67 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Great view on outdoor patio; just don't eat here”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

We had a simple, casual lunch for four, each of us ordering the Korean pork tacos, plus some hummus. The food was mediocre; fatty and unappealing. Service was lame. Yet, the bill was almost $100. The outdoor patio was filled, so we had to eat indoors. There was a squirrel running around indoors, literally climbing up on the tables, and no one seemed to care. There was absolutely no attempt to get the squirrel out of the dining room, or keep the door closed to keep him out. The squirrel looked a lot like a rat with a bushy tail. Looking around carefully, the dining room was filthy. I can only imagine the kitchen. I doubt this place would meet the health codes of most cities. Do National Park Concessions even have a health department that monitors them? Then, I remembered the people who died last year from the Hanta virus that comes from mice excrement ... in nearby Curry Village, which is run by the same concessionaire. We finished our meal, but wouldn't eat here again.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank N700hk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
131 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Happy Hour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2013

No, they don't have a Happy Hour for your wallet. But they do offer a great view, super service, and a delicious bar menu. The Happy part is what you'll experience if lucky enough to sit outside in the afternoon looking up at Half Dome, sunshine, and your favorite beverage. Our server, Mike, for the four days of our visit, was simply the Best! All service is friendly and attentive. But Mike will make your day or evening. Try the chili for an extra treat as well. After a visit, I certainly experienced a Happy Hour unlike any back in civilization.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Traveller19842012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livermore, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Expected better...”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013 via mobile

We decided to do a quick lunch here after a day of hiking and I was really expecting more from this high dollar famous hotel. The thing I could not get over were the squirrels that were roaming around on the floor from table to table eating the crumbs.. (Me being a country texas girl) this was unsanitary and I was s little put off by it... Here you have a "wild" animal inside eating human food. If a health inspector were to see this practice at a restaurant I'm beyond sure they would be cited for it. News flash a squirrel is a rodent just like a RAT! Moving on, the appetizer we ordered, crab artichoke dip was delicious! The main dish the pulled pork tacos was a different story they were VERY bland and the side of beans were horrible! In my opinion I wouldn't waste my time or money here...

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank KristinC828
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ahwahnee Bar also viewed

 
Yosemite National Park, CA
Yosemite National Park, CA
 
Yosemite National Park, CA
Yosemite National Park, CA
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing