We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“fantastic setting and great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Ahwahnee Bar

Ahwahnee Bar
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Scenic view
Dining options: Drinks, Dinner, Brunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Newark-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“fantastic setting and great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2013

forget the over priced and over hyped restaurant - use the bar ! its more relaxed and the food is all the better for it . service was superbly attentive and the food was wonderful. we were lucky enough to have great weather, so sit outside, take your time and soak it all in. the pulled pork was superb !

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jonty B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

330 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    102
    117
    72
    27
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Berkeley, CA
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Work Retreat in Beautiful Yosemite”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2012

On our hiking break, we ended up at the Ahwahnee Bar for a snack and beverage break. We sat outside in October and it was beautiful. Awesome Old Fashions and yummy appetizers (not cheap, but take a look at the view!) Complaint: Squirrels creepy!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank GoodKarmaTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Groveland, California
Level Contributor
247 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 213 helpful votes
“Great Food Great Service Great View”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2012

I like to mix it up, go for a healthy hike then enjoy a good meal! The Ahwahnee Bar is perfect, it has a great menu, the food is nicely prepared, the servers are always friendly, and it costs much less than the Ahwahnee Dining Room which is great for breakfast but out of my price range for anything else.

With both inside and outdoor patio seating, you can choose between fresh air, and warmth or air conditioning, according to the season and weather. Either way you have a great view, and the squirrels that dart in and out "cleaning" the floor of crumbs are adorable.

Try a spicy bloody mary, or a selection of hot teas. The soup is always wonderful. My favorite is the local, organic Diestel Roasted Turkey, but as a wrap instead of a sandwich. It is big enough to share with a friend, and comes with a side of fruit salad. Yummy!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CTBCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
195 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
“Ahwahnee: you can do better!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

I was NOT impressed with the selection of food they have at the Ahwahnee Bar. I really wished I would have packed a lunch and just eaten that because I was disappointed by the quality of food.

The Ahwahnee hotel is impressive and definitely an icon of the Yosemite Valley. That being said you'd think they would have a higher caliber of entrees, even in their casual dinning options.

I think they should really revamp their menu because what they offer now just doesn't do it for me. No, I don't want some super high-end meal for a casual lunch, but considering you pay a rather high price for the food, it at least needs to be above mediocre.

The staff was very nice when they were around, but they were VERY slow. We were planning on going on a small hike and had to cut our trip short because it took over an hour to get a simple veggie wrap and sandwich. They tried to remedy it by giving us free deserts, but the damage had already been done.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BuddhaInHeels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northeast Harbor, Maine
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“Poor dinner option”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2012

My wife booked a room at the Ahwahnee for one night, and was really looking forward to a nice dinner in the famous dining room. Alas, when we checked in we were told no reservations were available. Room service or wait list. We went on the wait list, but by 8pm decided to bag it and eat in the informal Bar. Only three hot food choices: chili, a pastrami sandwich, and something else I can't remember. Very disappointing! And apparently they never change the menu. Well, at least our waiter was very good & helpful and the drinks are good. Lesson learned: make a DINNER reservation when you book your room!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NEHSailor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ahwahnee Bar also viewed

 
Yosemite National Park, CA
Yosemite National Park, CA
 
Yosemite National Park, CA
 

Been to Ahwahnee Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing