We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Brilliant”
other travelers have booked this property
Stairway to Private and Romantic Penthouse Loft
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Stairway to Private and Romantic Penthouse Loft
Beautiful Fall colors Romantic Mtn Retreat Balcony and Pool Area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
147 reviews
Stairway to Private and Romantic Penthouse Loft
Beautiful Fall colors
Romantic Mtn Retreat Balcony and Pool Area
A drone shot of the property taken by a previous guest
Studio as seen from entry sliding patio door
View from entry patio door
View from comfortable sofa
View of studio from sofa
Large and very comfortable studio with TV,  Fireplace and Dinning Table
View of  well appointed kitchenette
Super comfortable Queen Bed and Large Armoire
View from Kitchen area
Living / Dinning Room Area
TV  and Fireplace Area
Picnic Area as viewed from upstairs deck area
Picnic and BBQ Area
Enjoy a Relaxing Aftenoon Float!
Firepit and Pool Area
Local Traffic
Wine and Sunsets, the Perfect Pairing!
Nearby Angel Falls
Just the right amount of snow!
Picnicing / Fishing / Kyaking on Lake 2 miles from home
Hiking the High Country in Yosemite
Tunnel View, a view not to be missed or forgotten
Something for Everyone
Ponder the Yonder
Visit the Woodpecker Tree
The End Of The Rainbow Is Here
Local Air Traffic
Half Dome as viewed from Glacier Point
Historic 'Overhang Ledge' @ Glacier Point
View from Picnic Area
View from Pool Area
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
Studio, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Yosemite National Park, California

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 147 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
English first
Portuguese first
Swedish first
Any
English first
Andy774
Crewe, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Brilliant”
Reviewed November 26, 2011 for a stay in November 2011

We had just visited Vegas at the start of our holiday. It was fantastic. The sheer opulence. Surely this could not be beaten?
We then came to this mountain retreat. Robert met us and the welcome was genuine and warm. We wanted for nothing.
We visited Yosemite in the day. Be aware always check if the roads are open as on the second day with Roberts advice we entered via a different entrance as the other was closed due to snow. Yosemite is awesome and we cannot wait to visit again. At the end of the day we were tired and cold. We found that we looked forward to spending the night at this mountain retreat. It is so warm and cosy. The design is second to none. We snuggled down, chose one of the hundreds of films on offer and enjoyed a glass of Roberts excellent chosen wine. I cannot speak any higher about this place and Robert. I highly recommend

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Traveling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dee S
Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Absolutely PERFECT”
Reviewed November 26, 2011 for a stay in November 2011

This is a clean, comfy, cozy little place to stay with a beautiful view! Bob is as freindly and hospital as every review says. He goes out of his way to help make your stay enjoyable and to make connections for whatever your needs may be. We needed to buy snow chains because they are required in Yosemite this time of year and he was on the phone with an auto parts store checking availabilty for us saving us a lot of time so we could spend it in the park. We enjoyed the bottle of wine and fireplace each night and waking up to a the sun rising over the mountains each morning.

We can't thank you enough Bob! We felt so welcome here!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Clean, modern, convenient home away from home
Liked least: Not many good restaurants nearby
Traveling group: With Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Da_Wendov...
Wheatland, California
1 review
“Romantic and rural retreat for two”
Reviewed November 20, 2011 for a stay in October 2011

Where to start with Bob’s lovely house. I stayed there for my 10th anniversary with my wife; we truly needed the time alone together. When we arrived, Bob greeted us, showed us the room (very nice!) and provided some ideas for local dining. We went and picked up a pizza to go as we wanted the alone time. Fortunately, there just so happened to be a bottle of my favorite red wine already provided in our room which went perfect with the meal. Along with the wine, he also had a personalized “happy anniversary” card placed in the room which added a really nice touch.

After exploring the room more we found it beautifully appointed and had everything we could want. From free Netflix, Pandora and Wi-Fi to the many books and artwork on Yosemite, we had everything we needed to slip away from the demands of daily life. It was also stocked with many snacks and treats (to include fresh fruit) that one would need on an outdoor adventure. We decided to hike the Upper Yosemite Falls trail. After our long and exhausting hike, we couldn’t wait to get back to the house for some much needed R&R (which is where this place truly excels)

Thank you Bob for sharing your house with us, you are a gracious host. We wish we could’ve stayed much, much longer.

The Wendovers

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The quality of the room
Liked least: Local area dining optoins
Traveling group: With Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolas77
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
“Fantastic stay and excellent value”
Reviewed October 17, 2011 for a stay in October 2011

We had a lovely stay. The owner, Bob, was extremely helpful in ensuring that we had everything we needed and the accommodation was very clean and had all the cooking gear that you needed. The outdoor area for BBQ, sitting by an open fire or relaxing in the pool was also an excellent touch. Fantastic value as well. There is an excellent place called Slim's in North Fork for a coffee and it is only a short drive to Oakhurst which has an excellent supermarket. Would stay again for sure.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Clean, tidy and all the things that you needed
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katrina A
St. Louis
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Very nice and super clean!”
Reviewed October 16, 2011 for a stay in October 2011

The property is like new, well furnished, super clean, and fantastic views. We slept really well in the peaceful surroundings. The bed linens and towels are good quality. Also, cable TV , videos, wi-fi, phone calls, and Netfix are included if you have the time or need.
We were welcomed with fresh fruit, wine, and lots of info about Yosemite. I can't think of anything else a person would need for comfort. The owner is a very nice person and I would definetly stay there again.

Liked best: I like the views and the comfort of the property.
Traveling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jasGrafix
Thousand Oaks, CA
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“The PERFECT RETREAT…!”
Reviewed October 12, 2011 for a stay in September 2011

My husband and I found this charming retreat on TripAdvisor.com, one of the few that actual has reviews from real people and true experiences… and we were not disappointed with this well-appointed studio perfect for couples.

Everything was as described and advertised on the site: private location, gorgeous views, contemporary and elegant décor, tasteful furnishings, fully equipped kitchenette, wine and a basket of fruits and snacks, even a place to barbecue, and sit under a large oak tree to enjoy your meal – everything to enjoy a romantic and tranquil stay in style! “The perfect retreat…!”

Since our stay was not long – we stayed only three nights, we didn’t have much time to explore the surrounding area… It was our first time visiting Yosemite and we travelled back and forth all three days during our visit. From the studio to the park entrance takes about 35-40 minutes and from there another 45 minutes to the inside of the park, Yosemite Valley or Glacier Point. But we did not mind the distance, the sights and view were spectacular and beautiful! We had a wonderful time and fell in love with the beauty and grandeur of Yosemite!

We will definitely be coming back to hike and explore more, it is an easy drive of only 4.5 hours from where we live. And with no question about it, we will be staying at the studio, its PERFECT! One more thing – the stars at night are incredibly bright and fascinating, you can even see the Milky Way!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, Service, Accommodations and Friendliness
Liked least: nothing
Traveling group: With Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Door51Pho...
San Jose, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“We really enjoyed our stay.”
Reviewed September 28, 2011 for a stay in September 2011
1
person found this review helpful

We arrived, gave Bob a call and he was out in a minute to give us the keys. The place was exactly as advertised. It was very clean, nicely detailed, comfy, and had an AC that worked like a champ! Bob had two bottles of wine as well as some fruit already waiting for us. (Thank you, Bob, we enjoyed those!) The free Netflix access entertained our toddler while we got dressed in the mornings. We made it a point to come back early one day and enjoy the outdoor area. We made a fire, roaster some marshmallows (Bob had the tools!) and drank our wine. When the sun went down we enjoyed an amazing view of the night sky.

Our one issue was the distance to Yosemite Valley. Yes, it takes about 40 minutes to get to the South entrance of the park... but what most reviews didn't tell you is that there's another 50 or so minutes of driving to get to the Valley (where all the sights are). Because we didn't know this we ended up doing a lot of back and forth driving. If you're passing by, or planning to visit Bass Lake, I can recommend this place without any hesitations.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Service
Liked best: The outside fireplace area.
Liked least: The shower. (It's not for tall people.)
Traveling group: Family with Young Children
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing