We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful holiday in outstanding accommodation in...”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
34 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 14
Yosemite National Park, California

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 34 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
bboe2016
Lemoore, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Worst. Stay. Ever.”
Reviewed January 18, 2016 for a stay in January 2016
7
people found this review helpful

I am an avid traveler and this was by far the worst weekend cabin getaway trip ever. The owner Joy and Alex [--] failed to mention that they would be downstair during the stay, and they also were very vague on the terms and agreement with the rental itself. I am in the U.S. Navy and was on deployment while most of the correspondence between us occurred. I received a lease agreement stating two check out times in particular one at 1100 and the other at 1600. When I spoke with the owner about this they stated that the time was never 1600 and that this was a mistake of the lease agreement and the time in the terms was the real check-out time. At this point it was already 1235 and my party in the process of cleaning up. We all thought we still had over three hours to clean the house. The vibe i got from the owners was very aggressive and we were asked to hurry up and leave the property. I along with my girl friend showed the owner the lease agreement showing the check out time being 1600 and they still asked us to leave. We both felt very offended by this and then asked if they still wanted us to clean the property. Joy and Alex then told us not to and to leave the house as is and that it was the house keepers job. I clarified this along with my girl friend two more times because it made no sense to leave the house without cleaning but Joy's attitude was awful. I was so offended by her treatment and unwillingness to listen to reason that i told my party to pack up and leave immediately. As soon as i left the cabin and regained service on my cell phone my credit card was charged $444.00 for a late and cleaning fee. Also when i called to ask about these fee's I had to call from a friends cell phone because Joy wouldn't answer when i called from mine. She hung up in my fact after a short exchange of her calling me out of my name. Also pictures were taken of a "broken" kitchen table that wasnt used at all during the weekend. I brought my own table that my party used the entire stay, yet I was charged a damage fee. The Cabin was in terrible condition when we got there, the bed in the green room isn't even connected to the frame. We had to fix the bed and pick the mattress off the floor, water leaks through the lighting fixtures from the master bathroom into the kitchen. There is a green stain in the yellow rooms bathroom, the owner had their dog loose and it ran in the house while we were staying there. Sunday morning was filled with gun shots from the woods and a rooster and chicken coop in the backyard that was also not mentioned in the description. The rooster will wake you up every morning! Also the hot tub is randomly out in the front yard surrounded by gravel and dirt. The pictures make it look like its on the balcony or something. Its out in a dirt filled backyard, needless to say that hot tub wasn't used. I would HIGHLY not recommend renting this cabin unless you plan on doing absolutely nothing and make no noise doing that. Also if you are young, and or a minority with a group of people i would NOT recommend renting from Joy or Alex [--]. The moment Alex saw that i was a young minority with a group of young friends, the look on his face said it all. From that moment forward everything was a problem and he was unwilling to speak rationally to me about anything. He asked that we quiet down one night when we were all merely watching TV and half of my group of 11 went to sleep. The other half went upstairs on the balcony to star gaze and talk about the good time. Apparently that was still a noise disturbance and several "email" warnings were sent to my email account. I don't know about you, but when i go to the mountains in a cabin, i'm not sitting on my phone using wifi to check emails. If my group was so loud what was to stop Alex or Joy from walking up stairs to tell us like they had did earlier that night. The owners living downstairs should be advertised and also the terms and agreements from the owners don't match the final lease you will be sent. This is a hustle the owners must use to squeeze extra money out of guess for the honest confusion. The pictures of the fake "damage" done to the house was more then comical because it wasn't used the entire weekend. I would avoid renting from Joy and Alex [--], they are both dishonest thieves and should be ashamed of themselves. Outside of the treatment from them the cabin does have a very nice view from the two balconies, but all in all Highly UNrecommended!!!!!!!

Date of stay: January 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The View
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 19, 2016
I would first recommend to other travelers to look at the other reviews. This guest was given a military discount and treated with respect even though his group was one of the worst in our six year history. He claimed that he didn't read the terms and conditions that he agreed to prior to reservation because "I was in the North Sea at the time". No alcoholic games is in CAPS on our TripAdvisor/Flipkey advertisement and in the agreement, why would you bring your own table to play? Check in is at 4:00 p.m. and check out is at 11:00 a.m., this guest departed at 2:30 p.m. after being repeatedly requested to leave because another guest was due at 4:00 p.m. It is disgusting when the "minority" card is used to excuse their exceptional disrespect for another's property, being minority ourselves, it is upsetting. All we ask is that a guest simply leave the house in the shape they received it. We have been threatened by this guest and will take action, hopefully TripAdvisor/Flipkey will also. This home is gorgeous, the furniture is Thomasville, silk in the carpets. Guests looking for a peaceful, restful, beautiful property will find one at Bella Vista Mariposa.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gedon2015
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful holiday in outstanding accommodation in a beautiful setting”
Reviewed September 12, 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We had a wonderful four days with our family in this very spacious, very comfortable and exceptionally well equipped house, in a beautiful forest setting. It had excellent amenities, including air conditioning and a hot tub in the garden. The two large verandahs provided spectacular views. We enjoyed barbecues on the lower verandah every evening, looking out over the Sierra Nevada.
Joy and Alex were warmly welcoming (providing delicious tomatoes from their garden on our arrival). They were also very helpful and very informative about the locality.
The house was twelve miles from Mariposa, a delightful small town, and an hour and a half's drive to Yosemite, which didn't seem too far since it is such a lovely drive.

We would thoroughly recommend staying here.

Date of stay: August 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: It was all excellent
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 14, 2015
Thank you for the lovely review! Your family was a pleasure to host. We are pleased that we had the opportunity to meet you and that you had such a wonderful stay at Bella Vista. We hope that you will visit us again on your next visit to the States.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sjeanb6
Lewiston, Maine
1 review
“Serenity, breathtaking views, privacy, spacious, clean.”
Reviewed July 25, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

The views off the deck were breathtaking. We came here with a group of 8 for a destination wedding in Yosemite and it was perfect. The master bedroom has its own balcony and bathroom suite so there was plenty of privacy. All the beds were very comfortable and everything was spotless clean! You can hear all the wildlife at night and the stargazing is amazing. The air conditioning is comfortable and the owners are quick to respond with any questions or issues you may have. We loved staying at this house and wish it could have been for a longer visit. We will always remember those amazing views! This house made this a trip of a lifetime. Highly recommended. Not to mention that for a group it ends up being cheaper per person than staying at a hotel!

Date of stay: July 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Betsy M
1 review
“We enjoyed our stay and having owners on the site was helpful.”
Reviewed June 29, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

The only complaint is that extra beds consisted of pads or air mattresses. We had 13 but actual beds for only 6. We had futons for 4, air mattresses for 2 and foam pads for rest. Cool enough for comfort in 100 degrees.

Date of stay: June 2015
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 30, 2015
We are pleased that you had a memorable time at Bella Vista Mariposa and were comfortable in the sizzling temperatures. We were happy to add an Air Conditioner to the property recently so our guest would be more comfortable. In regard to "mattress/box spring beds" This is a County Ordinance for ALL vacation rentals in this area; we are only allowed to have a "real" mattress/box spring in three (3) bedrooms. That is why we have added the futons, 3 queen Aerobeds and 4 twin children's matt's so that larger groups like yours can be accommodated. This home is very large and there is plenty of room in the master bedroom alone to house 3 extra queen beds. It is the perfect home for larger groups. Thank you for choosing Bella Vista Mariposa as your home away from home, we were happy to host you and your group.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mindy B
Dallas, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Needed some attention, but okay.”
Reviewed June 9, 2015 for a stay in May 2015
3
people found this review helpful

This home is on the verge of being wonderful but there were several problems that left us less than thrilled. First, the positives. The view is spectacular! The kitchen was very clean and well stocked. The deck was relaxing. It's a spacious house and our family had plenty of space. Loved the layout. The hot tub was clean, but it's located behind the house.
However, there were some issues that need attending to. The TV in the main living area was ancient and when turned up loud enough to hear made a horrible buzzing sound. The TV in the bedroom had a bad picture (also ancient). The bed in the master suite was shot. My husband and I fought two nights trying not to fall into the middle of it. After that, one of us had to sleep on the futon. The upstairs bathroom shower had hair in it. The grounds surrounding the house are uncared for; lots of weeds, old boards, building materials, and dilapidated fences.
As I said, this house is on the verge of being really nice, but just too many unattended issues for our family. Wished we had spent more and stayed elsewhere.

Date of stay: May 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view and layout
Liked least: Horrible bed, broken TVs
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 17, 2015
It is a shame that after having to give written warnings due to being exceptionally loud and rough housing, after damaging property, you are allowed to leave a retaliatory review. Not once during your stay did you inform us of any issues with the home.

My hope is that potential guests will pass over this retaliatory review to the review just prior. This guest stayed in June "after" your May departure. The home was rated a "5" the review entitled "Spotless and Spacious".

We ask that any guest of Bella Vista who is at all displeased with the property or cleanliness to please let management know right away as we wish for your stay at this property to be outstanding which is witnessed in the other reviews.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathy G
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Spotless & spacious”
Reviewed June 5, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

This house is huge and has everything you need . Prying your food and clothes. It has 2 decks to look out and more room than you need. This was someone beautiful home at one time. It about90 minutes from the west entrance for the park and 21/2 hours from the south entrance. The house is out in the wood with not much around so make sure you have what you need its about25 minutes to the nearby town. The roads are extremely windy and that's to town and to the park. It has a hot tub that we did not have time to use. If you don't mind the long drive to the park it's a beautiful home.

Date of stay: June 2015
Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlos P
Simi Valley, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great location and very well equipped property”
Reviewed January 28, 2015 for a stay in January 2015

The owner was very nice and accommodating. This is a big property and our large group was able to enjoy our stay very much. The rental included everything: linens, extra beds, kitchenware, towels, movies, wifi, etc., we literally just brought our clothes and food. the kitchen and living room area are large enough to hold everyone at breakfast and dinner time. One of the best experiences was to use the outside spa/jacuzzi at night and looked at the magnificent starred sky. Definitely recommend the property.

Date of stay: January 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Large Group
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 28, 2015
Thank you for your review. We are pleased that your group were able to fully use and enjoy all the amenities of Bella Vista. There is nothing like the views from this property for sure, they are gorgeous. We hope you will visit again soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing