We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Genuine rural bliss”
welcome to D&E Digs
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
welcome to D&E Digs
Large bedroom with queen-size Tempurpedic Full vintage kitchen for 'eating in'
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
41 reviews
welcome to D&E Digs
Large bedroom with queen-size Tempurpedic
Full vintage kitchen for 'eating in'
Spacious living room area...just sit back and relax
Very clean bathroom...
Private deck with dining area.
Relax in the gazebo with a glass of wine....
Deer grazing the meadow.
Stroll through one of our many gardens...
The view from your deck after a light snowfall.
sit next to a warm fire and enjoy the night skies....
Nearby Lake...
Redbud Trees bloom in early spring...
Dogwood Trees in the fall...
Hike along the Merced River surrounded by poppies.
Winter in Yosemite!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Yosemite National Park, California

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 41 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Heather B
London
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Genuine rural bliss”
Reviewed August 1, 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at D&E for two nights, using it as our base for exploring Yosemite. It exceeded our expectations.

Donna and Eric are extremely kind and thoughtful. Donna and I had been in email contact before our stay and she knew we were planning to spend the day in the park before arriving at D&E Digs. I was very surprised to receive an email from Donna on the morning of our trip warning us that the gate we were planning to use to access the park was closed because of a landslide. It was so kind of her to let us know as it saved us about 90 minutes of driving.

When we arrived at D&E Digs we were met by Donna and shown around the cabin. The photos don't do it justice. The place is old fashioned, as you can tell from the photos, but not in a ‘we-haven’t-bothered-to-update-it’ way. It’s old fashioned in a ‘this-is-the-original-kitchen’ kind of way, which means it is totally charming and vintage and lovely. (and the wifi worked perfectly).

When we arrived, there was a bowl of fresh fruit and some muffins and Eric brought over a couple of beers. Other than that they left us to ourselves, so we could enjoy the peaceful surroundings. They have dogs, and we told them we are dog people, so they let the dogs wander around freely. However, if we weren’t dog people, I don't think they would have let the dogs out.

We took the apples down to the paddock across the street (Eric suggested this) and fed them to the two ridiculous ponies. Then we had a bbq and went to bed. The bed was very comfortable, although we got bitten by mosquitoes a few times so we would recommend using the coil or repellant.

(also note that we had no cell phone reception when we were there)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peaceful!
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom_m_ric...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect Yosemite getaway”
Reviewed October 2, 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

My wife and I booked to stay at Donna and Eric ' s place as part of our honeymoon tour.
After a hot drive from San Francisco this was an ideal cool mountain spot to unwind.
We were greeted my the most warm, friendly and interesting couple you'll ever meet. Eric shared lots of fascinating stories about his career in music and film.
The cottage had bundles of charm with an orginal period kitchen and suited our needs in every way.
In the evening there is the option to have a bbq and drink a cold beer under the stars.
Would wholeheartedly recommend D&E digs to any couple passing through Yosemite who wish to do some hiking or just soak up the serenity of the forest.

Thanks Donna & Eric, wish we had longer! Next time eh?!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PamelaRF
Minneapolis, Minnesota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect honeymoon mountain cottage”
Reviewed August 16, 2014 for a stay in August 2014
2
people found this review helpful

My husband and I stayed at D&E digs for our honeymoon trip to Yosemite and couldn't be happier with our experience. We were greeted warmly by super friendly and gentle dogs ( they are timid and won't jump on you) followed by Donna and Eric. Upon arriving they offered beer, showed us around, and gave recommendations for our trip to Yosemite. The cabin is close their home so they are readily available. At the same time they really respected our privacy.

The cabin is very charming with a vintage kitchen, nice furniture, super comfy bed and large bathroom. They also had a basket of fruit and muffins which we ate for breakfast while driving to the park. We didn't spend too much time hanging out on the property but we did enjoy the private pool. Heavenly after hiking all day!

There is a bit of a drive to the park but it's beautiful and worth it for the peace and quite. The local restaurants are great. We enjoyed Triangle Road cafe which is within walking distance, and the hitching post which is open early and late. We also enjoyed a visit to Prospectors a brew pub recommended but Donna and Eric.

We highly recommend D&E Digs and hope to stay there when we make it out to Yosemite in the future

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bairderin...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A perfect place for a weekend getaway!”
Reviewed June 10, 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Donna and Eric provided a wonderfully comfortable spot for a weekend getaway in the woods. They are incredibly hospitable, and we eagerly look forward to returning!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SubSkip14
Kyle, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“No need to look any further.”
Reviewed May 15, 2014 for a stay in May 2014
3
people found this review helpful

We booked this property for our hiking trip to Yosemite National Park.

This was my first time booking anything through TripAdvisor as well as submitting a review. Everything around the booking experience went smooth as clockwork. Donna and Eric were very quick to response to any email inquires and everything was clearly explained on how to pay and get to the property.

The property location is equal distance from both the West and South entrances to the park. There is a small restaurant and gas station with basic supplies near the cottage. Everything else is roughly 15 min in either direction (Mariposa or Oakhurst).

The cottage is small, but there was plenty of room for 2 adults. Don't come expecting a 5 star hotel. The appliances are old but functional. This in no way detracts from the quality of the stay. All of the basics are included (stove, fridge (pull hard on the handle to open), microwave, satellite TV, WiFi, towels, coffee maker). There isn't a washer and dryer.

Donna and Eric are wonderful people and will give you as much space as you need/want. If you don't want to, you will never know they are there.

I wouldn't hesitate one second about booking this again. Well worth the price of admission!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Small, cozy, and quiet.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Reviewed October 4, 2013 for a stay in September 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
gfew
ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Peaceful Place”
Reviewed September 28, 2013 for a stay in September 2013
2
people found this review helpful

With busy work schedules it's nice to escape to a place that is quiet and peaceful. We found that here at D & E Digs! The cottage is more than comfortable and Donna & Eric (owners) are there if anything you need isn't there. The gazebo is a great place to just sit put your feet up and read your book or if so inclined just catch a snooze. In the evening walking down the drive to the road and gazing up at the blanket of stars is awe inspiring!! It's a little drive to Yosemite but a beautiful one. Wish we lived a little closer and could spend more time there.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the peaceful setting
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing