We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“It was so wonderful, we got married there!”
welcome to D&E Digs
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
welcome to D&E Digs
Large bedroom with queen-size Tempurpedic Full vintage kitchen for 'eating in'
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
40 reviews
welcome to D&E Digs
Large bedroom with queen-size Tempurpedic
Full vintage kitchen for 'eating in'
Spacious living room area...just sit back and relax
Very clean bathroom...
Private deck with dining area.
Relax in the gazebo with a glass of wine....
Deer grazing the meadow.
Stroll through one of our many gardens...
The view from your deck after a light snowfall.
sit next to a warm fire and enjoy the night skies....
Nearby Lake...
Redbud Trees bloom in early spring...
Dogwood Trees in the fall...
Hike along the Merced River surrounded by poppies.
Winter in Yosemite!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Yosemite National Park, California

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 40 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
lagw2016
Fife, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“It was so wonderful, we got married there!”
Reviewed July 1, 2013 for a stay in July 2012

Donna, Eric and the doggies were the perfect hosts, making us feel relaxed and welcome after a stressful drive to Yosemite. The cottage was beautiful with everything you could possible need. It was very comfortable. We enjoyed having breakfast on the decking - watching the butterflies come and visit! Donna and Eric very kindly let us get married at 'The Hideaway', where we had a beautiful quiet ceremony among the ponderosas! Afterwards we had a dip in the pool, followed by a snooze on the hammock then a short stroll to see the horses! A perfect day. Then we honeymooned in the park which is about 40 minutes drive away. Mariposa is 15 minutes. There is also a handy gas station nearby. It was sad to say 'goodbye' but we hope to return, perhaps for a future wedding anniversary. I'd highly recommend this property for a relaxed holiday in a very beautiful part of California.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Leaving
Traveling group: Solo Traveler
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lifeisabe...
London
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“a fantastic place to relax after a day in Yosemite”
Reviewed October 17, 2012 for a stay in October 2012
1
person found this review helpful

I don't know about you but when I first turn up to new place to stay I have a touch of the nerves, just in case it doesn't turn out as i'd hoped. Well booking here was one of the best things we ever did. We were greeted by Donna & Eric as we arrived and offered a cold beer (that was very gratefully received) and a tour of the property.
They are such wonderful hosts with great knowledge of where to go, what to see and Eric has some fabulous stories (I won't spoil any of them for you). Early morning coffees on the porch saw us joined by hummingbirds and D&E's lovely dogs Joey, Mickey and Sadie. There is a BBQ on site for guest use...there is also a small grocery store/gas station at the end of the drive but a bigger market can be found in Mariposa 11 miles away. We chose to eat in the first night and found everything we needed in the cottage....it almost felt like being at home...oh have I mentioned how comfortable the bed was yet!. The second night we ate out at Savourys restaurant in Mariposa on D&E's recommendation and that was lovely too.
The cottage is in a very tranquil setting with the owners nearby but not intrusive in any way, it is spotlessly clean, comfortable and well equipped. Around the grounds are hammocks, seating by fires that Eric will build if need be and a pool. Any regrets? Yes that we didn't stay longer!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurenand...
Highcliffe, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic!”
Reviewed September 22, 2012 for a stay in September 2012

We had a wonderful time staying at Donna and Eric's delightful cottage. They are some of the most welcoming and accommodating hosts we have met on our travels and could not have made us feel more at home! The cottage itself is a perfect retreat - clean, comfortable and set in the tranquil grounds of the owners' property. Our only regret was not being able to spend more time there! It is probably worth noting that the accommoation is about a 45 minute to an hour drive to Yosemite National Park - ideally we might have liked to be a bit closer but you have to balance this with the much better value for money of staying further from the park. We would 100% recommend this holiday rental to anyone looking for a relaxing break in Yosemite!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fl
Reviewed April 21, 2012 for a stay in April 2012

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Az.
Reviewed October 16, 2011 for a stay in October 2010

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Iambic
Portland, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
350 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
“A hidden gem”
Reviewed September 5, 2011 for a stay in August 2011
1
person found this review helpful

Lodging in Yosemite is very, very expensive, so a traveler usually needs to find accommodations outside the park. D & E is an excellent base from which to make a trip to the park--except, perhaps, for the distance to the park itself. It's about 45 minutes (without traffic) to El Portal.

The hosts are welcoming: cheerful and helpful. The setting in the country is peaceful (we saw deer, turkeys, coyotes--no bears). The cabin is just right for a couple to hang out and relax. The fully stocked kitchen allows you to cook meals if you're too tired to go out after a long day in the park.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Country setting
Liked least: Distance from Yosemite
Traveling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QTravelMa...
Mayo, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Fantastic place to stay!”
Reviewed August 16, 2011 for a stay in July 2011
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed with Eric and Donna on our honeymoon from Ireland. The cottage is beautiful, spacious with a large bedroom and bathroom. It has all the facilities of home. The bed is unbelievably comfortable. Yosemite is a beautiful place and well worth a trip. Our only regret is that we did not stay for longer!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing