We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful place inside Yosemite NP (Yosemite West)”
other travelers have booked this property
Kitchen Overview
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Kitchen Overview
Welcome! Dogwoods in Autumn
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
49 reviews
Kitchen Overview
Welcome!
Dogwoods in Autumn
Porch
Breakfast Bar
Main bedroom
Kitchen and living room
Modern Appiances
Living Room Alcove
Tub and sink
Bathroom vanity
Bed
Watch a movie or one of our DVDs about Yosemite
Built-in Closet
Breakfast Bar and entry
Daybed Alcove
Dining Table
Dining and Kitchen
Pantry
Blender, Toaster and Coffee Maker provided
Plenty of room to cook - why pay for restaurants!
Full-sized fridge so you can stock up
Laundry always available with no restrictions
Relax and watch a movie!
Storage for your toys, wet things and so forth in the mud room
First Snow 2013
Looking up the street (there are neighbors on our side of the street)
Looking down the street (again, there are neighbors on our side of the street)
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Yosemite National Park, California

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 49 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
KandJ82
Harrison, Ohio
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful place inside Yosemite NP (Yosemite West)”
Reviewed June 17, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

We loved the Alpine Escape! It was like home-away-from-home while we were at Yosemite NP. Conveniently located inside the park, in Yosemite West. It was so nice to come “home” after a long day in the park of sightseeing and hiking. It was very comfortable and filled with everything that we needed and then some. Beautiful place and great host.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 18, 2017
Thanks guys. It was a pleasure to meet you!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamricklj...
Knoxville, Tennessee
1 review
“Alpine Escape --- Wonderful Hosts”
Reviewed June 13, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Our stay in Yosemite West at Alpine Escape was a wonderful experience. Very clean and cozy. Perfect location (to Tunnel View and Glacier Point) and home away from home. Twelve miles to gas in Wawona. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Highly recommended. Tom and Theresa provided everything we could have possibly needed. Thanks for an incredible five nights. Larry, Teresa, and Sloane. June 2017.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda W
El Sobrante, California
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Incredibly cozy and well-appointed refuge in Yosemite”
Reviewed May 27, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Tom and Theresa have provide the ultimate Yosemite retreat after a long hard day of hiking and/or site-seeing. Yosemite is such a special place and they have made it even more special. They have paid attention to every detail with their "escape" and they are lovely, delightful and knowledgeable folks. We couldn't have had a better time and can't wait to return!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gemma D
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic getaway”
Reviewed April 27, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

We stayed at Alpine escape last month and loved it. The apartment is really well equipped (esp kitchen) and the beds comfy. We had our 3 year old on the day bed tucked in the corner of the living room (its in an alcove and there's a screen) and our baby in a travel cot in with us. There was plenty of room and the set up worked well.

Tom was an exceptional host, he made us really welcome and his knowledge and passion for the park is amazing. It was wonderful to share in his enthusiasm and learn about Yosemite with his help and in depth knowledge.

The house is about 30-40 mins from the valley and the drive there goes past many key sights (so it can take a lot longer!) we loved seeing the impact different weather made on the famous 'tunnel view' each time we passed. The house is also only 20-30 mins from wawona and we explored there too. Currently the mariposa grove is closed but when that re opens it will be well placed for visiting there too - as with glacier point which was still closed for snow when we visited.

We had a wonderful time and would thoroughly recommend.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 12, 2017
Thanks Gemma. Sorry we didn't realize earlier that Tom was running every morning - I would have loved to show him some of my favorites! Anyway, thanks for staying and all the best for the rest of your Big American Adventure!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cathc215
Sydney, Australia
1 review
“Clean, convenient and fantastic hosts”
Reviewed March 22, 2017 for a stay in March 2017

Alpine Escape is perfectly located for all activities within Yosemite National Park. The apartment is very well fitted out, clean and has everything needed for an enjoyable and hassle free stay. Tom was really responsive to our questions and provided excellent information ahead of our stay. Will definitely recommend to others and come back when we can!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 30, 2017
Thanks Cath. It was great to meet you guys!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tinny C
1 review
“Beautiful, comfortable stay in Yosemite West”
Reviewed January 31, 2017 for a stay in January 2017

We booked this place for a last-minute getaway over MLK weekend. Thomas was quick to respond and gave us very detailed instructions for how to get to his beautiful place. He was great at communicating with us and making sure we were ready for our weekend. We got in a little later than planned, but he had the heater on for us, which was very nice. The best part about this place is the full kitchen. The apartment had everything we needed, and it was a wonderfully comfortable place to come back to after a long day of exploring. The location is great. it is a 30 minute drive to the ski and snowboarding area, and a beautiful, scenic 45 minute drive to the Valley. I HIGHLY recommend staying here!!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 5, 2017
Thanks Tinny! I'm glad you guys braved the winter weather and had a good experience. Hope to see you guys again
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dreamer68...
1 review
“The stuff dreams are made of!!!”
Reviewed January 16, 2017 for a stay in December 2016

Apologies for belated review... by writing this in "past tense" it makes it real that my "Alpine Escape" has officially ended~!

Words cannot describe the warm and friendly hospitality of our experience at the "Alpine Escape"... from our first internet inquiry through subsequent correspondences filled with questions and Tom's good natured assistance & advice, we felt like we already knew Tom to be a gracious host... he cinched it when as we pulled into the driveway, well after dark and hours later than our expected arrival we heard him greeting us from the balcony above, and a moment later turned around to find him standing in the driveway, offering advice on how to best maneuver in the snow and ice packed driveway! (Do I even mention how total over the top and quite appreciated was his offer to help us unload our vastly overpacked vehicle which had necessary provisions as is prudent, in concern, ahem, hope, we might be "snowed in"? for about a month?!?! Again, Thank you Tom)!!

As other's have said, Tom and Theresa's personal involvement and touches made this much more than a "vacation rental", it made our visit a real opportunity to have a home away from home in the heart of Yosemite park, a very special place for us. Updates on road conditions the day prior to travel? Yes! Recommendations on places to go and things to do? Yes! Present and available (their home is the top floor of the house) yet providing complete and total privacy? Yes!! Entertaining and informational information on all topics necessary for access and peaceful life while in the forest... Yes!!

The location was perfect, our first time inside the Park itself and much better than staying outside of the South Entrance and having to drive at least an hour each way to get to the Valley floor (worse with snow!)... Yosemite West is a beautiful community that is easily accessible and a reasonable distance to just about anywhere we wanted to go... (in the Winter most likely the the Valley floor as well as Badger Pass....). Alpine Escape, at the farther end of the development is well off the beaten track (.... go down to the mailboxes and stay to the right, then get to the second Y and stay right again... go right at the "T" junction again at the second "T" junction......!!!!). The community itself quiet (NOT a place for a "PARTY HOUSE" there are quiet rules that go into effect at 10PM!) and peaceful, and built to maximize the quiet beauty of life amongst mountains and trees.....

The unit... welcoming twinkle lights surrounding the front entrance, a wonderfully planned layout from the ample entry/mudroom to the open layout of the living and dining area, with a cozy fireplace as well as windows galore reflecting the beauty of the forest surroundings. Serene, cozy, warm and absolutely everything we wanted for our "just the two of us" escape from our busy lives... (even a phone for "just in case" there was a need to be in touch during our "out of touch" retreat to Yosemite! as well as internet for those who can't quite bear being completely cut off!)!! Clean, well kept, and ready for us to make it our own, for at least a few days!!

Such an AWESOME kitchen which was quite well stocked with far more than basics (and yes, frozen cookie dough and a nice bottle of wine were provided!), I would be quite happy to take up permanent tenancy if I only could! Spare linens as well as a built-in washer and dryer with detergent, (no need to bring your own!) made it easy to make ourselves quite qat home, the , good sized bathroom with shower over bath was just perfect for a long hot soak (again, soap and shampoo provided)! and the bedroom was both spacious and cozy. The wonderfully supportive mattress was a wonderful place to lay (somewhat older) weary bones at the end of a long, adventure-filled day!!! While it was just the two of us, I can easily see spending a few days here with loved ones or close friends... with sleeping accomodations for at least 4 more using the living room sofa and the tucked away day couch/trundle bed...

Pluses.... um... can't count that high....
Minuses.... unless you count having to leave.... there were none!

The Mountains Are Calling.... and we will return... to Alpine Escape!

Thanks for an incredible time!

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 17, 2017
Wow, Thanks Susanne and Greg! We're glad you so enjoyed your time. I hope we'll see you back.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing