We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!
“feels like home”
5.0 of 5 stars
other travelers have booked this property
Kitchen Overview
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Kitchen Overview
Welcome! Dogwoods in Autumn
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
5.0 of 5 stars
Excellent
30 reviews
Kitchen Overview
Welcome!
Dogwoods in Autumn
Porch
Breakfast Bar
Main bedroom
Kitchen and living room
Modern Appiances
Living Room Alcove
Tub and sink
Bathroom vanity
Bed
Watch a movie or one of our DVDs about Yosemite
Built-in Closet
Breakfast Bar and entry
Daybed Alcove
Dining Table
Dining and Kitchen
Pantry
Blender, Toaster and Coffee Maker provided
Plenty of room to cook - why pay for restaurants!
Full-sized fridge so you can stock up
Laundry always available with no restrictions
Relax and watch a movie!
Storage for your toys, wet things and so forth in the mud room
First Snow 2013
Looking up the street (there are neighbors on our side of the street)
Looking down the street (again, there are neighbors on our side of the street)
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Yosemite National Park, California

Reviews from our community

 of 5 stars
5 of 5 stars Excellent - based on 30 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
montava
San Diego, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“feels like home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013 for a stay in June 2013
4
people found this review helpful

This is a very comfortable and very well maintained vacation rental. We enjoyed very much our stay there with kids. Tom has been helpful to make sure we had a pleasant, stress-free arrival and stay, with careful instructions on directions (typical GPS is not precise) and was very flexible to accommodate out check-in time. Will come back in the future!

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: Kitchen
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Hill-run...
Aberdeenshire
Level Contributor
65 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Excellent stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013 for a stay in June 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Stayed three nights in this lovely place. Great communication with Tom, the owner, before we got there and had a friendly welcome once we arrived.

The place was immaculately clean and had everything you needed plus a lovely bottle of wine and frozen cookies.

DVD library for viewing and no Internet available so made for a very peaceful stay.

Gas BBQ available too.

Best advice we got from Tom was to leave early in the morning to miss the crowds so we got to Mariposa grove just after 7 am and basically had the place to ourselves plus got parked. It was lovely.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 14, 2013
Thanks guys,

I can never emphasize enough that getting up and out early in Yosemite pays big dividends.

Next time we'll trade you guided hiking for chainsaw work ;-)

(these guests were a forester and carpenter with, among other things, a great knowledge of trees and saws).
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
dolly8725
Justice, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012 for a stay in September 2012
1
person found this review helpful

This place was very up to date with modern amenities. Very homey and comfortable. No television service, but a lot of DVD's available to watch. Unit was stocked with maps and books of information about the park. Loved it. Would recommend to everyone.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: Cleanliness, great mattress and washer/dryer.
Liked least: No Radio
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
foodiesFC
Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful home away from home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012 for a stay in September 2012
1
person found this review helpful

If this place is available, book it. It was perfect...great location, very clean and comfortable. Tom was extremely helpful and gave us great hiking tips.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
NJTravele...
Tinton Falls, New Jersey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Place to Stay - 30 Minutes to Main Attractions”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012 for a stay in August 2012
1
person found this review helpful

The house is just as pictured. New and Clean. Kitchen has everything you need to cook. Washer and Dryer is helpful. 30 minutes to Mariposa Grove, Glacier Point and Yosemite Valley. Do the Sentinal Dome Hike by Glacier Pt. 1 hour hike but spectacular. Go to Glacier Pt. for sunset. Go to the very end. Did the Taft Hike also by Sentinal Dome.Hold on to any kids since the cliffs are sheer drops. Tram ride through Mariposa Grove fun. Gas up while you are there. Definitely fill up with gas before you get to Yosemite, otherwise 30 minutes to any gas station and prices high. Owners are very helpful.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: Location and New
Liked least: NO cell service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
ILnaturet...
Illinois
Level Contributor
113 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Relaxing and Comfortable Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012 for a stay in June 2012
1
person found this review helpful

We had a very relaxing six days at this bottom level apartment. Tom and Theresa were helpful answering our questions and giving us some tips. The cookie dough was an added special treat.

There were three of us (wife, adult daughter and I) that stayed here. The bedroom was good size and the bed very comfortable. The daybed in the corner of the living room was just right for our daughter and comfortable also. We cooked our breakfast and supper each day in the apartment and took a picnic lunch with us each day hiking. The kitchen area is very nice and the gas grill came in handy also. Tom and Theresa provide some of the basics that in order to buy when you are flying would not be practical (quantity wise). They have really made the stay extra special. Also, because of hiking everyday, it was nice to be able to do laundry before we left for the next part of our vacation and having the washer and dryer easily accessible with soap was very nice.

Our stay here was one of the best ever that we have had on vacation.

Thanks so much Tom & Theresa

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: The extras that were provided such as salt, spices, butter, etc and cookie dough that are not provided by others.
Traveling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
dwiener
Tampa, Florida
1 review
“What a great find”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012 for a stay in June 2012

We feel so fortunate to have found Alpine Escape for our visit to Yosemite. It could not have been more perfect. The rental is immaculate, modern, and in a great location outside the hussel and bussel of Yosemite. The pictures do not do it justice. Waiting for us upon arrival was a bottle of wine and frozen cookie dough to bake. Both were an unexpected and much enjoyed treat. However, the best part of our stay was getting to know Tom and Theresa. Their hospitality and advice cannot be beat. We had the added pleasure of hearing some very interesting nature stories and learning about rock climbing. You could not find a better place to vacation.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property 5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses
5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils 5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness
5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities 5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: Everything. I really liked not having TV so we could enjoy just listing to the birds and relaxing
Liked least: Absolutely nothing
Traveling group: With Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 11, 2012
Hi Doris,

It was a pleasure for us to get to meet you too! We loved your passion for the park and your enthusiasm for learning new things. I haven't forgotten your request for a picture of our yard once its started to flower either. We're starting to get a few mysterious asters, and the lupine seem close, but have yet to flower.

Theresa
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Enter dates for more accurate prices
Any
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
Never pay for your vacation rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing