We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Winter or Summer, this is the place to be!”
The House That Ruza Built
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The House That Ruza Built
front door entry living room area of Great Room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
78 reviews
The House That Ruza Built
front door entry
living room area of Great Room
kitchen area of Great Room
dining area of Great Room
kimono cabinet
king bed in master BR
steam shower in master BR
queen bed in 2nd BR
bunkbed in 2nd BR
two bunkbeds in 3rd BR
top deck with gas BBQ and table
2nd deck with hot tub
view from top deck
view of house from ground level
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Yosemite National Park, California

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 78 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Alondra O
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Winter or Summer, this is the place to be!”
Reviewed September 6, 2014 for a stay in August 2014
3
people found this review helpful

This was my fourth time staying in The House That Ruza Built, and each time it seems to get more spectacular. I still can't decide whether I love it more during the warmer summer and fall months or when the house is surrounded by snow. In both instances the house is a wonderful place to come home to after a long day, or just to curl up and relax.
Travelling with children and a teenager can be a challenge, but this house makes it seem like we never left home. With three bedrooms and three baths there is plenty of room to spread out, the only challenge is choosing which room you like best! Perhaps the best part of staying at the house are the amenities. The washer and dryer are indispensable after a long hike in the valley, as is the fully loaded kitchen. Then, whether you want your dinner inside in the rustic living room or outside on the deck overlooking the Sierra National Forrest you are guaranteed the pleasure of a peaceful evening.
As always we were excited that we were so close to Yosemite, but definitely don't miss the great hike at the bottom of the drive. The National Forrest is just as beautiful as Yosemite and is perfect for a morning stroll or run. There are a few different trails, so you can tailor your hike to your group's needs. The entrance to Yosemite is about 10-15 minutes from the house and there's a steam train about 10 minutes in the opposite direction that the kids love! They also offer nighttime rides for a more romantic atmosphere. Also if you need groceries there are two supermarkets and plenty of shops one town over, only about 20 minutes away. Truly, you could not ask for a better location!
Last but not least, Scott was instrumental in making our trip a success. His directions to the house were clear and we so greatly appreciated his suggestions for places to stop along the way to keep the kids from getting too restless during a long drive. Additionally, the caretaker, John was helpful in giving us directions and suggestions for nearby hikes and food that were perfect, even for the two year old. We can't wait to come back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ted M
Tigard, Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great vacation house”
Reviewed August 18, 2014 for a stay in July 2014
4
people found this review helpful

The house was very clean and comfortable. We enjoyed eating outside on the large deck. It was very peaceful. John Miller was especially helpful and provided great tips for our visit to Yosemite. Having two washers and dryers was especially handy for our crew.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Globalkds
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“The perfect Yosemite location”
Reviewed August 5, 2014 for a stay in July 2014
3
people found this review helpful

With only two miles to the South entrance to the park, this property is absolutely perfect for those who wish to explore Yosemite. This home is beautiful and offered all of the amenities wanted after a long day of hiking. The owner is excellent with travel and house directions, recommendations during your visit, and timely communication. After many days of visiting the park (with an hour long drive to exit the park in most cases), the best part was that home was just a few minutes away!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Beautiful views from the deck
Liked least: Some dropping of wifi, but to be expected in remote areas
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barb3838
Dunbar, Nebraska
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Amazing... a hidden gem, relaxing place to call home while in Yosemite”
Reviewed July 31, 2014 for a stay in July 2014
5
people found this review helpful

Thank you Scott & John for wonderful vacation. The House that Ruza Built was the perfect place to relax after hiking all day. Peaceful, quiet, ample room for our children, well equipped kitchen & spacious for fun family-cooking & then relaxing on the deck. It is a hidden gem... very close to the Park entrance. John gave us tips on where to eat & also one of our favorite activities last week.... secret waterfalls & a swimming spot that is not in the Park. We celebrated our anniversary there & we were touched by the gift of wine that John left for us. It was a family vacation that we will never forget.

Regards,

Barb & Dean Neels (& family)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: spacious, lots of trees surrounding the property - stunning, well-equipped kitchen, linens etc.
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morro Bay, California
Reviewed July 24, 2014 for a stay in July 2014
3
people found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Although the house was beautiful, the owner was very pleasant to work with.
Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Chasah913
Frankfort, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“STOP LOOKING & START BOOKING!”
Reviewed July 15, 2014 for a stay in June 2014
11
people found this review helpful

Fellow Travelers: Stop Right Here...The Search is Over! The House that Ruza Built is an Ideal Vacation Retreat for almost all of us kindred spirits. My Wife & I had the Good Fortune of renting this Home for 14 nights, June 7-20, 2014. We couldn't have been more pleased! You may find a property with more luxurious appointments. You surely can find larger properties--if you need a monster sized place. There are countless more expensive rentals! In our opinion, you will be hard pressed to find a NICER or BETTER lodging for your stay in "Yosemite."

Location! Location! Location! Isn't that what the realtors say? Located in Fish Camp, The House that Ruza Built is approx. 1 1/2 miles from the South Entrance to the Park. (Nearer the gate than Tenaya Lodge) From our door to the Valley Floor, about a 35min. drive on a winding road thru primal forest & glacier polished cliffs. No matter how many times we made the round trip...We never tired of the sublime beauty of the drive! The House is also an easy 20min. or so commute to "civilization." Thirteen miles from Fish Camp, Oakhurst boasts 2 large, modern, reasonably priced grocery stores, a Dollar Store, (Perfect for those lotions, liquids, & sprays that didn't make the quart bag on the flight as well as other forgotten essentials) a variety of places to eat, (If you decide not to cook) pharmacies, banks, and cheap gas!

The House: Two Floors. Knotty Pine Interior. Attached 2 car garage.
Upstairs: Open Floor Plan...Kitchen, Dining area, Great Room, Spacious Deck, 1/2 Bath, Foyer, & garage. Vaulted ceilings with fans. Recessed lighting. Dark, rich, wood plank floor. Original works of art grace the walls.

The rear of the house literally shares its' property line with the Sierra National Forest. My minds' eye sees some of the tallest ( Certainly in excess of 100') and some of he biggest (Forget trying to wrap your arms around them) evergreens in that cool, dense growth surrounding the deck, mere feet-to-yards off the railing. Imagine what a pleasure it is to enjoy breakfast in the cool,brisk early morning calm and peace...Filtered sunlight peeking thru the branches with only the sounds of wildlife and the hushed conversation with your Loved One breaking the silence! Nice? Very Nice!!
Likewise, at the end of a long, busy day the welcome sight of what we began to refer to as "home" always lifted our spirits, reviving our flagging energy. The prospects of a chilled glass of wine from Butterfly Creek or an ice cold beer and a home cooked meal on the deck, utter collapse onto the comfortable, cozy Great Room furniture, or a long, soothing HOT shower as late afternoon slipped into twilight each had their own particular appeal!

Downstairs: 3 Bedrooms, 2 Full Baths, Large Washer & Dryer, 2nd deck with Hot Tub.
Master Bedroom: King size bed. Comfortable, firm mattress. Recliner. TV. Granite floor tile and vanity top with mirror. Private tub-shower combo. Separate, private commode.
Bedroom 2: Queen sized bed. Comfortable, firm mattress. Recliner. Bunk bed.
Bedroom 3: 2 Bunk beds.
Ceiling fans, bedside table & clothes storage in all bedrooms.

Amenities: Most, if not all the comforts of home.
Clean! Clean! & More Clean! Inestimable value.....So much appreciated!!
Renter controlled Central Heat & A/C.
Kitchen: Granite Island & counter tops. Family sized Fridge/Freezer. Large Microwave. Gas cooktop/oven combo. Dishwasher. Mr Coffee & Toaster. Serviceable pots, pans, utensils, plateware, etc. Well-seasoned, large cast iron skillet. Center Island sink/food prep, dish wash area with counter seating for 3. Large, clean Weber gas grill with seating and table for 6 on deck.
Eating Area: Large, Oak table seats 6. Extra leaf available, if needed.
Great Room: WiFi. Dish TV. Gs Fireplace. Two comfy couches, recliner, magazine & end table.

Management: Accessible. Responsive. Concerned. Your Advocate...Not your Adversary.
The on-site Property Manager as well as the Owner are best and easily reached via text message. Phone signals in the mountains can be "spotty" at either end depending on location & thus may not be returned as quickly.
The Property Manager, responsible for the smooth day to day Operation & Maintenance inside & out is to be especially COMMENDED for the outstanding care & service He provides! During your stay, why not invite him over for a cup of coffee or a meal? We did. No regrets! A carpenter
by trade, this handy, multi-talented individual helped build the house and is a wealth of useful information about the area....if only you will take the time to ask?

Neighbors: We think--Part of the charm of the property were our "neighbors" on either side. Private Homeowners close enough for us to know there was someone near enough in case of emergency but far enough away so as not to disturb each others' privacy. Who would have ever thought?

This Review: We hope you find this commentary useful in your decision making process as we have found the reviews of others beneficial to us. For any reader who may wonder?....
Prior to booking our stay we were complete and utter strangers to all parties having any connection with it's rental. Strangers Nevermore! We simply must come "home" again to
The House that Ruza Built.....
So do what we did!
Avoid the Heat, Crowds, Traffic Congestion, High Prices & Cramped Quarters of the Valley.
STOP LOOKING & START BOOKING
The House that Ruza Built for a GREAT vacation experience of your own.
We think you won't regret it.
Charles & "Bea" H. Frankfort IL

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Please read my review...Then you decide
Liked least: What's not to like?
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 30, 2014
Thank you Charles and Bea for such a detailed recap of your stay and the house's features....I trust this will be beneficial to many of The House That Ruza Built future guests !!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Labuelita
Mariposa, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Treetop Treasure”
Reviewed May 5, 2014 for a stay in May 2014
5
people found this review helpful

Once in awhile you find a spot that conjurs up all the best memories of favorite holidays and makes a new one...Ruza's House is just that place! It is a magical little oasis in Fish Camp with all the amenities of home. The tasteful pine and granite interiors with spacious, well-stocked (cooking, serving features) kitchen, entertainment center, bedrooms and extras like spa, steam shower and WiFi were wonderful but add that to hanging out on the deck which cantilevered out in the treetops, and you have the ultimate little hideaway. Ruza's is well situated to drive into Yosemite Park, Bass Lake and Oakhurst. It makes you feel like you're visiting relatives that know how to make you feel comfortable....there are special touches that you just don't find everywhere. We'll be booking again for another fun time with friends.

Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing