We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Our Diamond in the Rough”
The House That Ruza Built
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The House That Ruza Built
front door entry living room area of Great Room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
75 reviews
The House That Ruza Built
front door entry
living room area of Great Room
kitchen area of Great Room
dining area of Great Room
kimono cabinet
king bed in master BR
steam shower in master BR
queen bed in 2nd BR
bunkbed in 2nd BR
two bunkbeds in 3rd BR
top deck with gas BBQ and table
2nd deck with hot tub
view from top deck
view of house from ground level
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Yosemite National Park, California

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 75 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
buffalo96...
Kailua-Kona, Hawaii
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Our Diamond in the Rough”
Reviewed October 1, 2013 for a stay in September 2013
4
people found this review helpful

Beautiful, comfortable, great for star gazing from lanai, spacious, peaceful home located in the middle of the woods. If you haven't experienced a place like this while on vacation this is the place to be. You get more than what you pay for, very reasonable.

We made an excellent choice to spend our stay. You couldn't find a better person than Scott,(owner), easy to work with and knowledgeable about any question you have.

2 miles out from the south entrance to Yosemite Nat'l Park made it easy to visit the park as often as we wanted including short drives to Bass Lake, Mariposa, Oakhurst town etc. Sauna & steam bath perfect to have after a days outing.

Excellent weather didn't need a/c or fireplace. We had all the comforts of home right here. Great place to spend the day to relax when we decided to do nothing except to bar-bq, tell jokes, laugh, sing, have cocktails and dance hula on the lanai surrounded by tall lush trees. Short walk to the fish camp general store for last minute stuff.

We enjoyed ourselves so much we'll be back. Thank you for the house Ruza built.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, peaceful, clean, spacious, large washer & dryer, wi-fi, dishwasher
Liked least: When we had to leave
Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClareGT
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A quiet haven only a short distance from the Yosemite National Park”
Reviewed August 22, 2013 for a stay in August 2013
4
people found this review helpful

Our family thoroughly enjoyed our stay at The House that Ruza Built. The location was excellent, close enough to the Yosemite National Park (2 miles to the South Entrance) but away from the crowds. The house is spacious and quiet, with a well-equipped kitchen, good laundry facilities and Wi-Fi - all essential when travelling with teenagers. It was spotlessly clean throughout. Our only disappointment was the non-working gas grill and no outside table to allow us to eat outside.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and space.
Liked least: No outside table and non-working gas grill.
Traveling group: Teenagers
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katharine...
Half Moon Bay, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic Home”
Reviewed July 13, 2013 for a stay in July 2013
6
people found this review helpful

We stayed here a week and loved this place. Close enough to Yosemite Valley for daily trips and loved coming home to it. Very spacious, completely equipped with everything we needed and spotlessly clean. WiFi, flat screen TVs upstairs and down, lovely library of books and games. Would come back to this house in a heartbeat. The home has a lovely family back story as well. Ask the owner about the incredible Japanese doll collection he has displayed in the living room.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Nice large bathroom downstairs.
Liked least: We could have had 8 more people with us.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 12, 2013
thank you Katherine for taking the time to write a review and we look forward to having you and Chuck back as our guests again in the future..Scott
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tzubrock
Troy, NY
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful, spacious property w/ all the comforts of home. . .and more!”
Reviewed July 7, 2013 for a stay in June 2013
7
people found this review helpful

This is a very well-maintained and lovely property. Although we're a family of only three, it was wonderful to have so much space in which to spread out and relax. Having a fully equipped kitchen, 2 1/2 baths, dishwasher and washer/dryer made life easier after exhausting days in the park and the steam shower and hot tub offered much-appreciated relief to our aching muscles.

We unfortunately visited during an unusual heat wave with temps in the low 100's, so we didn't get to enjoy the decks as much as we might have otherwise. We relied on the A/C for relief and it stopped working on day two. Owner Scott was extremely responsive and problem was taken care of within a few hours. . .couldn't have asked for a more accommodating response.

It's true that the property isn't ideally situated if you plan to spend a lot of time in the valley. . . two of our three days required hourlong drives coming and going to the valley and to trailheads near Glacier Point (third day was spent at Mariposa Grove, a mere stone's toss away). But we enjoyed the drives---saw lots of wildlife and passed some terrific lookouts along the way---and were happy to trade off a bit of extra driving for the comforts this property offered. But if you don't like driving and you're interested in spending a lot of time in the valley, you might want to be closer to El Portal.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Views, hot tub, 2 1/2 baths, fully equipped kitchen, washer/dryer, spacious, great accommodation and owner provided excellent directions and information.
Liked least: Air conditioning failure; spotty wi-fi connection
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robinadam
LA
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Gorgeous House and Place to Stay”
Reviewed May 16, 2013 for a stay in May 2013
9
people found this review helpful

This house will exceed your expectations. The insides are spacious and the place is beautifully decorated. It's great to have a beatifully appointed kitchen so that you don't have to run to restaurants. The forest setting is spectacular and the air smells so clean. It's a bit of a drive to the Yosemite Valley floor each day, but other than that, this is a wonderful choice.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClanM04
Rivendell
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“This is our home away from home”
Reviewed April 26, 2013 for a stay in September 2012
9
people found this review helpful

We love this home! We have gone two years in a row and I am writing this before I book our third. The property is quiet and private away from the hustle and bustle of Yosemite itself but close enough that we enjoy going in everyday. We are a family of nine with many teenagers at the moment and we can all spread out and relax there is so much space. We looked into this on a lark to compare with two rooms in a hotel. There is no comparison! The owners have all the amenities of a hotel in a home setting. The owners were so helpful and friendly. They provided us with all the information we needed. We bring the food Yosemite provides the fun! If you are reading this review don't pass this rental up you won't regret your stay!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: That it is so well kept up and the notes all around explaining things
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmel
Reviewed March 30, 2013 for a stay in February 2013
5
people found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
$150
/ Night
Make Inquiry
Never pay for your vacation rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing