We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Scott is Awesome!”

Yosemite Mountaineering School
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Learn how to rock climb in one of California's premier national parks.
Central Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Scott is Awesome!”
Reviewed August 9, 2012

Our 19 year old son had a private day of rock climbing. His guide, Scott, was very knowledgeable and our son enjoyed the day very much. We would highly recommend a rock climbing adventure in Yosemite and do request Scott for your guide. He rocks!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank HulaMom07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    7
    0
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Thousand Oaks, California
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Rude Shopkeeper”
Reviewed July 10, 2012

Four of us went into the shop at 4:55, five minutes before closing time, and were basically kicked out by a rude man with a French accent. There was another customer there at the same time who was trying to buy gas. We were looking for socks, jackets, vests, and knapsacks....and had credit cards in hand. Odd way to run a business.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank miandho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“They took us family backpacking”
Reviewed June 26, 2012

We booked a weekend of backpacking through the mountaineering school. We met our guide at the picnic tables in front of the store. We are a family with children ages 8 - 13. We were fitted with backpacks and issued sleeping bags, tents, bear barrels, etc. We were briefed on the rules; e.g. pack every thing out and proper use of the shovel (dig the hole before!), and keep all food and scented toiletries in bear barrels at all times. Our guide carried most of the food and cooking equipment. We drove with our guide to a remote spot of his choice and then we started hiking. We hiked most of the afternoon to reach a fire ring near a river where we camped for the night. Our guide showed the children how to filter water from the river and he also cooked us dinner. We slept great in our small tents. In the morning our guide made us breakfast, we packed up and hiked out. It was a fabulous introduction to backpacking for idiots. My husband said it was kind of expensive but we highly recommend.

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Skowgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“These guys are great!”
Reviewed June 17, 2012

Greg was our guide for a half dome climb. He was excellent.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank SU29driver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Groveland, CA
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“EXPERTS”
Reviewed June 9, 2012

These folks have it all and they know it all. If you want gear, they have it. If you want classes in rock climbing, they have them. I don't rock climb, but I like to peruse the camping gear, equipment, and clothing.

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank JETGroveland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Yosemite Mountaineering School also viewed

 
Yosemite National Park, CA
 

Been to Yosemite Mountaineering School? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing