We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love it there”
Review of Tioga Pass

Tioga Pass
Book In Advance
More Info
$150.00*
and up
Small-Group Tour of Yosemite from Lake Tahoe
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Dramatic drive starting at elevation 6,100 feet outside of Yosemite Valley and finishing 47 miles later atop Tioga Pass.
Pinole, California
Level Contributor
93 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Love it there”
Reviewed December 30, 2011

I love the Tioga Pass, and took the rare opportunity to drive up there as it is usually never open in the winter. Tenaya Lake was completely frozen over and people were iceskating on it. Tuolumne meadows was covered with old snow, but also still had pretty autumn colors. I hiked Mono Pass trail, which had a lot of old snow once you are more in the backcountry.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank Drezdany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

884 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    696
    163
    21
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Really great way to enter the park (in summer)”
Reviewed December 26, 2011

This entry to Yosemite is only open during summer as it gets snowed in in winter. We traveled in very late July and there was still small piles of snow on the side of the roads. We drove up from Las Vegas, detouring through Death Valley, then up and through the Tioga Pass entry into Yosemite. It was really great to see the beautiful fields on this side of the park. We then stayed in Curry Village on the Valley Floor and then exited on the west side of the park.

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
3 Thank Salitini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“So glad we caught it - a lovely relaxed drive through Yosemite.”
Reviewed December 16, 2011

We were luck that the pass was open in November, it opened the day we arrived at 12noon so we had to take the opportunity. We loved the opportunity to get away from the crowds and see the high country. There are some lovely views, the lake is stunning and we were lucky enough to see it when it was crisp with a light dusting of frost. Leave plenty of time and meander through the mountains.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank alibmoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antioch, California
Level Contributor
38 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Awesome scenic drive.”
Reviewed November 30, 2011

Since the road to Glacier point was closed.. we did the scenic drive on Tioga Pass and I am so happy that we did! It is definitely a MUST DO while in Yosemite.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank SanMiguelgrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
101 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Easy Drive”
Reviewed November 29, 2011

I drove from South Lake Tahoe to Yosemite. Stop at Whoa Nellie's Resturant on the way. Good place to get food and gas before the pass. The road is easy to drive. It has pull off point for pictures and let cars pass. I would recommend it. It took aprox. 2 hours to cross. Enjoy the trip. Yosemite Valley is very easy to fine at the West end.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
Thank justtravelng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tioga Pass also viewed

Yosemite National Park, CA
Yosemite National Park, CA
 
Yosemite National Park, CA
Yosemite National Park, CA
 

Been to Tioga Pass? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing