We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Go to mirror lake and look straight up”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Half Dome

Half Dome
Book In Advance
More Info
$372.56*
and up
Private Yosemite National Park Day Trip from San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Major rock formation in Yosemite.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
92 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Go to mirror lake and look straight up”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

I am sure I have 100 picutes. The ones that are most impressive to me are from mirror lake. You are looking straight up at the sheer side.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank GeorgiaTravler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,130 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    984
    128
    15
    0
    3
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
135 reviews
71 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Half Dome-things to know before you go.. including stuff for backpackers”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012

ABSOLUTELY AMAZING!! Here are a few things I would tell you about our experience:

We had been backpacking for 4 days and stayed at Little Yosemite Valley the night before our climb up Half Dome. I won passes through the lottery, however, we were asked (upon entering the park) if we would like to climb half dome since we were backpacking!!! WOW, what a shocker-we had no idea we could be offered half dome passes for being backpackers. They allowed us to buy 1 for every backpacker in our group and the tickets were $5 a person. Back to my story...so we only had a 2 mile hike up to the top of half dome from Little Yosemite Valley. This is a great place to camp if you want to give yourself a head start in the morning and beat the crowds. If you stay here there are bears that will come through camp so make sure you have everything in your bear canisters. We hid our packs and bear canisters and took our nalogene's with us- just clipped them to our pants! You could do this 2 mile hike with 1 nalogene per person-however, I wished we had a small camelback-it would have been much easier! This summer the water supply was very limited, so make sure you know what the water situation is in the park before assuming you can get water while hiking or backpacking. I would never have been able to climb the cables without excellent traction (we invested in proper backpacking boots for this trip) and excellent gripping gloves-if you get cheap shoes and cheap gloves this could be a nightmare. NEVER EVEN CONSIDER DOING THIS IF IT IS EVEN SPRINKLING!!! If you don't have a permit to hike, when you arrive at the sub dome you will be confronted by a park ranger and will have to pay a fine of $175 per person! We chose to take the Mist trail on our way back to the valley and that was a huge mistake. We were carrying our backpacks and going down all those treacherous, and enormous stairs was exhausting. We couldn't even enjoy the falls because we were so exhausted. Knowing what I now know I would never take the mist falls going to or coming from Half Dome-save that hike for a different experience because it is extremely difficult.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Joy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Level Contributor
192 reviews
95 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“Awesome! Surreal piece of Paradise!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

Even though your there and looking at Half Dome it doesnt seem real. Its huge, smooth and daunting. Surrounded by other mountain peaks..its a climbers, hikers dream. You just cant help to be mesmerized by its grandeur.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank geminigirlNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novato, California
Level Contributor
120 reviews
44 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Iconic image of Yosemite”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2012

Half Dome can't be beat as an iconic image. I think the winter is a better time to try and get sunrise or sunset photos.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank FunPrn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
71 reviews
49 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Simply amazing!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2012

You will recognize Half Dome the minute you see it. The meadow/valley below is so peaceful and it seems that no matter where you are in the park, you can see Half Dome. There are climbers all over, but you can hike to the top as well. Truly an American treasure!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Bob-n-Sheila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Half Dome also viewed

Yosemite National Park, CA
Yosemite National Park, CA
 
Yosemite National Park, CA
Yosemite National Park, CA
 

Been to Half Dome? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing