We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing”
Review of El Capitan

El Capitan
Book In Advance
More Info
$372.56*
and up
Private Yosemite National Park Day Trip from San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Challenging, popular rock to climb in Yosemite.
Surrey
Level Contributor
77 reviews
44 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Amazing”
Reviewed August 28, 2014

All part of the beautiful experience of Yosemite. How people climb it, I don't know. But to see all these sights at Yosemite is an honour. Pictures don't really capture it - you have to see it for yourself.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ashtead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

915 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    720
    173
    20
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Taipei, Taiwan
Level Contributor
198 reviews
65 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Amazing...”
Reviewed August 27, 2014

El Capitan is a large cliff face in Yoesemite. The first time I visited Yosemite, I noticed everyone looking up. When I looked up, I didn't see anything...just a bunch of trees at the top of the rock (which looked tiny). When I asked what everyone was looking at, they told me to look in the telescope. The telescope was zoomed in on some rock climbers climbing the face of the wall. After that I could see what they were looking at with my own eyes...2 tiny specs of red on this gigantic rock. It's a rock climbers dream...but the rock is huge !

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Combatfisher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delray Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
39 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“We salute you, El Capitan!”
Reviewed August 26, 2014

From the road, El Capitan is little hidden behind the trees. In certain moment you just stop your car- and here it is: right in front of you, magnificent rock- no wonder, they called it El Capitan.
We snapped lot of pictures, so did all the people around!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Szafirek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westlake Village, California
Level Contributor
246 reviews
72 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“El Capitan”
Reviewed August 25, 2014 via mobile

El Capitan is an unbelievable site! It's one of the "Musts" to see in the Yosemite Valley. Recommend taking the tours from the Yosemite Lodge to give history and info regarding El Capitan and surrounding sites! "Wow"!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Cathie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Groves, Texas
Level Contributor
52 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Couldn't stop taking pictures”
Reviewed August 25, 2014 via mobile

I believe I took at least 50-60 pictures of the amazing and color changes of El Capitan. Morning and late evening give you the most color changing experience. Almost as good as half dome. Buy the book of parks places of interest and the hiking trips. They give you all the best tips and helpful info on where to get the best photo ops. With that being said you can also venture off on your own and enjoy it from different parts of the park. Another thing to do is look for the campers that camp on the facade of el Capitan at night. You can see their lights wheel they are anchored in for the night. Amazing. We were actually there in 2009 but the review only goes back to 2013 September

Helpful?
Thank Wyhnona B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Capitan also viewed

Yosemite National Park, CA
Yosemite National Park, CA
 
Yosemite National Park, CA
Yosemite National Park, CA
 

Been to El Capitan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing