We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“stunning”
Review of El Capitan

El Capitan
Book In Advance
More Info
$90.00*
and up
Yosemite Valley Tour
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Challenging, popular rock to climb in Yosemite.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“stunning”
Reviewed April 5, 2013

this was a stunning massive valley with great stunning views the whole valley the whole area is well worth the visit. i will be back again

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank richardc43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

940 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    740
    178
    20
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Palm Springs, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Horsetail Falls”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Went for a photo shot but weather did not cooperate. But El Capitan was beautiful just wish the weather was better.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Chas69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BONANZA
Level Contributor
208 reviews
86 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“A View Along the River”
Reviewed February 23, 2013

We hiked from the road to the Merced River to get a wonderful view of El Cap. Wasn't disappointed at all. The snow on the ground really added to the photography we were doing this day.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank LYNN J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelsea, Alabama, United States
Level Contributor
80 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

There are areas along the Valley floor road where you can park to view El Capitan. We were able to spot climbers with our camera lenses but it is better if you bring a pair of binoculars. We saw mule deer in the meadows, and also big horn sheep in the mountains. Luckily we did not have a bear sighting. Bring a camera because your photos will be amazing.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Gaye N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
316 reviews
78 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
“Wow!”
Reviewed January 14, 2013

First thing you see as you drive into the floor of the Valley on the west side of the park. Just makes your mouth drop open at the vastness and beauty of such a wall of granite. At first, we wondered why no one was moving along the road, as we drove into the Valley floor; we though that someone was stuck perhaps. then, as we inched forward, we saw why. You can't help but stop in your tracks to look up at El Capitan. then you get your wits about you and find a place to park so you can get out of the car and walk to get a better look-all around you-granite, granite- granite-as high and steep as you can see.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank PokeyPaddler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Capitan also viewed

Yosemite National Park, CA
Yosemite National Park, CA
 
Yosemite National Park, CA
Yosemite National Park, CA
 

Been to El Capitan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing