We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Location. Stay in the cottages!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Majestic Yosemite Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 12, 2014

We stayed 2 nights in cottage 703 (the cabins behind the Ahwahnee). You walk out the door of your cottage and are less than 100 yards from the Merced River. There is a family of deer that hang out in the morning and evening as well. We had breakfast and dinner at the restaurant there. The food was great and the staff was very helpful and friendly. While it's not cheap to stay at the Ahwahnee, you can't get a much better location!

Room Tip: Check out the Cottages!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ngraham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,705)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,445 - 1,451 of 2,705 reviews

Reviewed August 11, 2014

The food and rooms are overpriced for what you receive. Service was lacking in the restaurant. Check-in was fine, however we had to run someone down to check out. No one told us that there were complementary cocktails, so we missed that as well.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Brian6577
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GnrlMgr, General Manager at The Majestic Yosemite Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2014

Greetings Brian6577

I am disappointed to read that we didn't meet your expectations. Having to run down a Front Desk agent to check out is certainly not how we want to treat our guests. While we offer complimentary morning coffee and afternoon tea to hotel guests we do not offer complimentary cocktails. I am sorry for the confusion this caused.

Kind regards,

Brett Archer, General Manager
The Ahwahnee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2014

The Awanahee Hotel is a very special place to stay in one of America's most glorious spots. The hotel is very well maintained. The cottages are spacious and comfortable with nature right outside your door. I was able to enjoy the pool for the first time with the weather being wonderful and the pool perfect. The dining room is spectacular enjoy a long meal taking in the sunset. Also enjoyed the gift shop and purchased two Awanahee limited edition Pendleton blankets! Great trip and already planning to return in the fall.

Room Tip: If you are booked into Yosemite Lodge or Curry Village and want to upgrade keep calling to get into...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Susan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2014

I stayed here in late July because there are very limited housing options in the park. Although this is touted as the best, that term is clearly relative. The drains in the sink and tub were nonfunctional so you would have to wait a half hour for the water to drain after a shower or brushing your teeth. The wifi was essentially out of order as it is much slower than dialup speeds. The service at breakfast and dinner was good. The dinner food was just ok, and the breakfast food was good. The service at the front desk was quite slow. Overall I would not come back to this hotel, and would consider a rental home nearby next time, given my aversion to camping.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bricklayer2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GnrlMgr, General Manager at The Majestic Yosemite Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2014

Good afternoon bricklayer2013,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay at The Ahwahnee. I am disappointed to read that you would not come back. The WiFi in Yosemite is very challenging right now. The National Park Service and AT&T are working to upgrade the communication infrastructure in the Park and are hopeful to have the improvements in place by year's end.

Should you change your mind and would like to stay with us again, please feel free to reach out to me personally at barcher@dncinc.com and I will be happy to assist in anyway I can to ensure a much more favorable visit.

Kind regards,

Brett Archer, General Manager
The Ahwahnee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2014 via mobile

This hotels exterior and public accessible interiors are superb. It is one classy establishment, with complimentary morning drinks and afternoon tea and cookies for guests.
Unique cocktails and an excellent breakfast buffet with fabulous eggs Benedict.
We stayed during the power outage and had no air conditioning during our stay, but we got a great view of the falls which more than compensated this.
My only negative would be the guest room standards, for a hotel which charged over $500 a night I would have expected a little higher specification. The room was dreary and could have done with a complete overhaul. Having said that this was our base for the stunning Yosemite park...who spends a lot of time in there room here?!?!?Not us!!!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dringster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2014

The grandeur of the structure, the magnificence the surroundings, the old-world ambience, the plush, quiet, comfortable rooms, the amazing dining room and the impeccable service of the staff all make the Ahwahnee hotel incomparable. I can think of no better special occasion place anywhere. I got married there 26 years ago and return every few years because I just have to.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Jennifer77777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2014

We stay at the Ahwahnee every year for just one night, always off-season, so we can get the lowest rate. Breakfast buffet for two has always come with our room, otherwise it is ridiculously expensive. Staff in the hotel are friendly. Dining room staff are the same every year and I think they should all be replaced for an attitude adjustment. The hotel serves tea and cookies to the hotel guests at 4:00 each day in the lounge. Coffee and tea are served in the morning on the 2nd floor indoor balcony. You don't have to be a guest to have some coffee. There is a nice outdoor patio where you can have cocktails or order an appetizer. As far as rooms go, I prefer the cottages to the actual hotel. The hotel rooms are small and basic, not much on views. The cottages have great views of the forest if you don't mind people walking by looking in at you. If you want to eat in the over-priced dining room, make a reservation or else show-up when the dining room opens for early seating. It is a beautiful, historic hotel so go have a look even if you are going to stay elsewhere.

Room Tip: Stay in the cottages if you want a forest view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mskyyoung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yosemite National Park
1.3 mi away
Yosemite Valley Lodge
Yosemite Valley Lodge
#3 of 3 in Yosemite National Park
3,956 reviews
17.9 mi away
Evergreen Lodge at Yosemite
17.4 mi away
Rush Creek Lodge
Rush Creek Lodge
#2 of 7 in Groveland
572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.4 mi away
Yosemite Cedar Lodge
Yosemite Cedar Lodge
#2 of 2 in El Portal
2,224 reviews
19.2 mi away
Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite
11.3 mi away
Yosemite View Lodge
Yosemite View Lodge
#1 of 2 in El Portal
4,115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Majestic Yosemite Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Majestic Yosemite Hotel

Address: 9005 Ahwahnee Drive, Yosemite National Park, CA 95389 (Formerly The Ahwahnee)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Yosemite National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Yosemite National Park
Price Range: $716 - $997 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Majestic Yosemite Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Majestic Yosemite Hotel shines as Yosemite National Park's distinctive AAA(R) Four-Diamond hotel. Known for its magnificent façade and architecture, The Majestic Yosemite Hotel was specially designed to highlight its natural surroundings, which include Yosemite Falls, Half Dome, and Glacier Point. The destination of queens and presidents alike, this distinctive Yosemite hotel offers a perfect balance of history, hospitality, and elegance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Majestic Yosemite Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ahwahnee Hotel Yosemite National Park
Ahwahnee Yosemite National Park
Ahwahnee Hotel Yosemite National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing