We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Out of order” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Majestic Yosemite Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Majestic Yosemite Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Out of order”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2014

I stayed here in late July because there are very limited housing options in the park. Although this is touted as the best, that term is clearly relative. The drains in the sink and tub were nonfunctional so you would have to wait a half hour for the water to drain after a shower or brushing your teeth. The wifi was essentially out of order as it is much slower than dialup speeds. The service at breakfast and dinner was good. The dinner food was just ok, and the breakfast food was good. The service at the front desk was quite slow. Overall I would not come back to this hotel, and would consider a rental home nearby next time, given my aversion to camping.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bricklayer2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GnrlMgr, General Manager at The Majestic Yosemite Hotel, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
Good afternoon bricklayer2013,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay at The Ahwahnee. I am disappointed to read that you would not come back. The WiFi in Yosemite is very challenging right now. The National Park Service and AT&T are working to upgrade the communication infrastructure in the Park and are hopeful to have the improvements in place by year's end.

Should you change your mind and would like to stay with us again, please feel free to reach out to me personally at barcher@dncinc.com and I will be happy to assist in anyway I can to ensure a much more favorable visit.

Kind regards,

Brett Archer, General Manager
The Ahwahnee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,409 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,120
    704
    315
    171
    99
See reviews for
731
1,177
36
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (682)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2014 via mobile

This hotels exterior and public accessible interiors are superb. It is one classy establishment, with complimentary morning drinks and afternoon tea and cookies for guests.
Unique cocktails and an excellent breakfast buffet with fabulous eggs Benedict.
We stayed during the power outage and had no air conditioning during our stay, but we got a great view of the falls which more than compensated this.
My only negative would be the guest room standards, for a hotel which charged over $500 a night I would have expected a little higher specification. The room was dreary and could have done with a complete overhaul. Having said that this was our base for the stunning Yosemite park...who spends a lot of time in there room here?!?!?Not us!!!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dringster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2014

The grandeur of the structure, the magnificence the surroundings, the old-world ambience, the plush, quiet, comfortable rooms, the amazing dining room and the impeccable service of the staff all make the Ahwahnee hotel incomparable. I can think of no better special occasion place anywhere. I got married there 26 years ago and return every few years because I just have to.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer77777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Modesto, California
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2014

We stay at the Ahwahnee every year for just one night, always off-season, so we can get the lowest rate. Breakfast buffet for two has always come with our room, otherwise it is ridiculously expensive. Staff in the hotel are friendly. Dining room staff are the same every year and I think they should all be replaced for an attitude adjustment. The hotel serves tea and cookies to the hotel guests at 4:00 each day in the lounge. Coffee and tea are served in the morning on the 2nd floor indoor balcony. You don't have to be a guest to have some coffee. There is a nice outdoor patio where you can have cocktails or order an appetizer. As far as rooms go, I prefer the cottages to the actual hotel. The hotel rooms are small and basic, not much on views. The cottages have great views of the forest if you don't mind people walking by looking in at you. If you want to eat in the over-priced dining room, make a reservation or else show-up when the dining room opens for early seating. It is a beautiful, historic hotel so go have a look even if you are going to stay elsewhere.

Room Tip: Stay in the cottages if you want a forest view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mskyyoung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SF Bay Area
Level Contributor
95 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2014

The Ahwahnee Hotel is well known for its historical presence and beautiful location. It's also known for its high rates, which is why I never stay there. What I love about the Ahwahnee though is that despite the fact that I am not I guest, every time I go I am treated well and able to enjoy the Ahwahnee experience.

This visit kicked off with the Sunday brunch. As part of a very large group, we were unable to get a reservation for 19 but had to break into two groups with reservations one hour apart. Not a terrible situation, but highly annoying to find that large tables sat empty during both reservation time slots. The brunch was fabulous, as always, and the dining time of 10am allowed my party to enjoy both the breakfast fare as well as the lunch fare, a changeover that occurs at about 11am. The piano player was quite lively, the waitstaff extremely friendly and the food delicious. It's expensive to be sure, but well worth the money to enjoy such a wonderful dining experience.

I also dined in the small casual hotel bistro. This dining experience is nothing spectacular, even if you are able to snag an outside table. The food is overpriced and the menu hasn't changed in years. This component of the Ahwahnee needs some freshening up. Also, the wait staff seem less attentive here. Friendly, to be sure, but they always seem to be running a skeleton crew.

As a non-guest I always enjoy lounging around in the hotel's great room. I've spent many hours there, in all seasons, reading or just enjoying the comfortable furniture and wonderful ambience and views out the windows. Outside is also open to anyone who cares to enjoy it. There are lounge chairs for resting, an inviting lawn to stroll or become a soft napping spot and umbrella tables from where you can order drinks. I thoroughly enjoyed all of these options, as well as the cold water dispenser on the patio (perfect after a long walk).

One day I may decide to splurge and pay the price for a proper Ahwahnee experience but for now I'm quite satisfied enjoying all it has to offer otherwise.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Michele_Emeritus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Odder, Denmark
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2014

If you want the best place to stay in Yosemite, the Ahwanee is the place to stay. You are in the middle of everything and can e.g. do an early morning trip, relax at the pool, when the crowd arrives and then do a late afternoon trip, when the crowd has left. Finish of your day with a dinner in the Ahwanne's great dining room is not chesp, but highly recommeded. Good pick despite of the high price. Would do it again.

Room Tip: Stayed in one of the hotel cabins which was absolutely fine. Wifi is VERY poor, but it is working
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IPad1173295
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2014

The Ahwhanee is the best hotel in Yosemite. The staff are very friendly, they always anticipate guests needs. The location is perfect, which complements the old world charm of the hotel. The lawns of the hotel are lovely and the Naturalist walk and the hot chocolate served in the morning is wonderful. The Sunday brunch is the perfect setting in the dining room. This hotel is a gem, you have to stay here.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AshrafiSanFrancisco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yosemite National Park
1.3 mi away
Yosemite Valley Lodge
Yosemite Valley Lodge
#2 of 3 in Yosemite National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,560 reviews
17.9 mi away
Evergreen Lodge at Yosemite
15.2 mi away
Big Trees Lodge
Big Trees Lodge
#3 of 3 in Yosemite National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,997 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.3 mi away
Cedar Lodge
Cedar Lodge
#2 of 2 in El Portal
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,902 reviews
11.4 mi away
Yosemite View Lodge
Yosemite View Lodge
#1 of 2 in El Portal
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,533 reviews
19.2 mi away
Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Majestic Yosemite Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Majestic Yosemite Hotel

Property: The Majestic Yosemite Hotel
Address: 9005 Ahwahnee Drive, Yosemite National Park, CA 95389 (Formerly The Ahwahnee)
Location: United States > California > Yosemite National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Yosemite National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Majestic Yosemite Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Majestic Yosemite Hotel shines as Yosemite National Park's distinctive AAA(R) Four-Diamond hotel. Known for its magnificent façade and architecture, The Majestic Yosemite Hotel was specially designed to highlight its natural surroundings, which include Yosemite Falls, Half Dome, and Glacier Point. The destination of queens and presidents alike, this distinctive Yosemite hotel offers a perfect balance of history, hospitality, and elegance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Orbitz so you can book your The Majestic Yosemite Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ahwahnee Hotel Yosemite National Park
Ahwahnee Yosemite National Park
Ahwahnee Hotel Yosemite National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing