We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Stay here if you can afford it.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Majestic Yosemite Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Majestic Yosemite Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Modesto, California
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Stay here if you can afford it.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

We stay at the Ahwahnee every year for just one night, always off-season, so we can get the lowest rate. Breakfast buffet for two has always come with our room, otherwise it is ridiculously expensive. Staff in the hotel are friendly. Dining room staff are the same every year and I think they should all be replaced for an attitude adjustment. The hotel serves tea and cookies to the hotel guests at 4:00 each day in the lounge. Coffee and tea are served in the morning on the 2nd floor indoor balcony. You don't have to be a guest to have some coffee. There is a nice outdoor patio where you can have cocktails or order an appetizer. As far as rooms go, I prefer the cottages to the actual hotel. The hotel rooms are small and basic, not much on views. The cottages have great views of the forest if you don't mind people walking by looking in at you. If you want to eat in the over-priced dining room, make a reservation or else show-up when the dining room opens for early seating. It is a beautiful, historic hotel so go have a look even if you are going to stay elsewhere.

Room Tip: Stay in the cottages if you want a forest view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mskyyoung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,295 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,069
    668
    298
    164
    96
See reviews for
705
1,109
36
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (648)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
SF Bay Area
Level Contributor
95 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

The Ahwahnee Hotel is well known for its historical presence and beautiful location. It's also known for its high rates, which is why I never stay there. What I love about the Ahwahnee though is that despite the fact that I am not I guest, every time I go I am treated well and able to enjoy the Ahwahnee experience.

This visit kicked off with the Sunday brunch. As part of a very large group, we were unable to get a reservation for 19 but had to break into two groups with reservations one hour apart. Not a terrible situation, but highly annoying to find that large tables sat empty during both reservation time slots. The brunch was fabulous, as always, and the dining time of 10am allowed my party to enjoy both the breakfast fare as well as the lunch fare, a changeover that occurs at about 11am. The piano player was quite lively, the waitstaff extremely friendly and the food delicious. It's expensive to be sure, but well worth the money to enjoy such a wonderful dining experience.

I also dined in the small casual hotel bistro. This dining experience is nothing spectacular, even if you are able to snag an outside table. The food is overpriced and the menu hasn't changed in years. This component of the Ahwahnee needs some freshening up. Also, the wait staff seem less attentive here. Friendly, to be sure, but they always seem to be running a skeleton crew.

As a non-guest I always enjoy lounging around in the hotel's great room. I've spent many hours there, in all seasons, reading or just enjoying the comfortable furniture and wonderful ambience and views out the windows. Outside is also open to anyone who cares to enjoy it. There are lounge chairs for resting, an inviting lawn to stroll or become a soft napping spot and umbrella tables from where you can order drinks. I thoroughly enjoyed all of these options, as well as the cold water dispenser on the patio (perfect after a long walk).

One day I may decide to splurge and pay the price for a proper Ahwahnee experience but for now I'm quite satisfied enjoying all it has to offer otherwise.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Michele_Emeritus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Odder, Denmark
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

If you want the best place to stay in Yosemite, the Ahwanee is the place to stay. You are in the middle of everything and can e.g. do an early morning trip, relax at the pool, when the crowd arrives and then do a late afternoon trip, when the crowd has left. Finish of your day with a dinner in the Ahwanne's great dining room is not chesp, but highly recommeded. Good pick despite of the high price. Would do it again.

Room Tip: Stayed in one of the hotel cabins which was absolutely fine. Wifi is VERY poor, but it is working
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IPad1173295
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

The Ahwhanee is the best hotel in Yosemite. The staff are very friendly, they always anticipate guests needs. The location is perfect, which complements the old world charm of the hotel. The lawns of the hotel are lovely and the Naturalist walk and the hot chocolate served in the morning is wonderful. The Sunday brunch is the perfect setting in the dining room. This hotel is a gem, you have to stay here.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AshrafiSanFrancisco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandlers Ford
Level Contributor
53 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014 via mobile

An amazing hotel and full of history, you need to read up on before you travel. Well worth the extra expense compared to the other yosemite accommodation. The dining room is definitely a must for dinner, I wasn't going to book and thought we would just eat in the bar which also had a great menu, but so glad we did it was a great experience, very formal and wonderful silver service. The rooms were in keeping to the hotel, traditional but the bathroom was modern and the beds were super comfy. You can walk to most of the sites on the valley floor including yosemite falls and mirror lake, both about a 2 mile wold. Would definitely return.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank ZoeSparks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin TX
Level Contributor
88 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

You hear about the Ahwahnee all the time. "Going to Yosemite? You HAVE to stay at the Ahwahnee." I am not a huge fan of hotels, especially big ones, so I was less than excited but we were booked there through Backroads (fabulous by the way). Wow was I wrong. Set somewhere in the middle of Yosemite. I truly felt I had stepped back in time. I don't think there are a ton of rooms but maybe 100? Our room was 2nd floor, corner. Fabulous. Worth the $$. Comfortable and crazy morning view of the mountain. We could hear the giggles of kids in the pool and watch people play made up games on the lawn. The restaurant is truly a wow. Incredible food and great service. Even the lobby was cozy, historic, beautiful. Don't miss an inch of the hotel. Take the tour, it's worth it. You'll learn so much about the history, the art, etc. I rarely see unique or good gift shops that aren't kitschy, but this one I needed help getting out of. All of this, then there was Yosemite itself....my heart is still there.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kayakutie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reigate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014 via mobile

A wonderful step back in time!
In amongst the park it is ideal, but Yosemite valley has far less to offer than staying up in the north to access places such as Tuolome Meadows.
A must to visit for the grandeur and experience of dining in the wonderful dining room.
Beautiful garden to relax in.
Everything downstairs for public show is wonderful, behind the scenes the bedrooms are fine but bathrooms dated- perhaps that part of the experience!
Dinner was great, staff all very helpful.
A must for one night if you're visiting Yosemite.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank JJJG2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yosemite National Park
1.3 mi away
Yosemite Valley Lodge
Yosemite Valley Lodge
#3 of 3 in Yosemite National Park
4.0 of 5 stars 3,399 reviews
17.9 mi away
Evergreen Lodge at Yosemite
16.3 mi away
Cedar Lodge
Cedar Lodge
#2 of 2 in El Portal
3.0 of 5 stars 1,772 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.8 mi away
White Chief Mountain Lodge
11.4 mi away
Yosemite View Lodge
Yosemite View Lodge
#1 of 2 in El Portal
3.5 of 5 stars 3,299 reviews
19.2 mi away
Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Majestic Yosemite Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Majestic Yosemite Hotel

Property: The Majestic Yosemite Hotel
Address: 9005 Ahwahnee Drive, Yosemite National Park, CA 95389 (Formerly The Ahwahnee)
Location: United States > California > Yosemite National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Yosemite National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Majestic Yosemite Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Majestic Yosemite Hotel shines as Yosemite National Park's distinctive AAA(R) Four-Diamond hotel. Known for its magnificent façade and architecture, The Majestic Yosemite Hotel was specially designed to highlight its natural surroundings, which include Yosemite Falls, Half Dome, and Glacier Point. The destination of queens and presidents alike, this distinctive Yosemite hotel offers a perfect balance of history, hospitality, and elegance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your The Majestic Yosemite Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ahwahnee Hotel Yosemite National Park
Ahwahnee Yosemite National Park
Ahwahnee Hotel Yosemite National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing