We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magnificent, stunning! The beauty”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Majestic Yosemite Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 29, 2014

We stayed at the Ahwanee for 3 nights in July to attend my nephew's wedding. Yosemite over all is very crowded that time of year. We had always wanted to stay there and were not disappointed the hotel is absolutely gorgeous the view of the granite rocks of Yosemite is breathtaking. Waking up every morning with deer grazing on the front lawn and that view!!! I love the decor of the hotel and it's whole history plus the grandness of the dining room. We were very relaxed and had a wonderful stay.
The only drawback was the cabin we stayed in felt not private enough and needed a bit of an upgrade for the price. But this did not ruin our stay, I would definitely go back in a heart beat but I would be much for discerning regarding our room.
We enjoyed our meals at the dining room but felt like Friday night's dinner was better than Sat. nights, so may be a little inconsistent again for the price!

Room Tip: I liked the cabins but make sure you request one in a private location. The views from the hotel r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Treemac90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,654)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,422 - 1,428 of 2,654 reviews

Reviewed July 28, 2014

From the very beginning of walking into the hotel the staff was so welcoming and helpful. We even received a phone call about an hour after checking in to make sure everything was going smoothly, amazing! The staff at the dining hall was also exceptional, very honest with wine selection and very attentive without making you feel rushed. I spend my birthday dinner here and it was a great idea. If I ever return to Yosemite I will surely be staying at The Ahwahnee again.

Room Tip: If you are celebrating a special event let them know, they made my birthday weekend a special one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Jamie Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2014

Staff and surroundings can't be beat. Had a cabin. Noisy, no view and bed sloped so I slept in a chair. Maybe the other rooms are better. The hiking trails are great, Be sure to be specific. WIfe and I wound up on a moderate trail walking through horse dung.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JoeTMoorpark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2014 via mobile

We spent 2 nights at the Ahwahnee. The first night we received a complimentary upgrade to a suite. It was an unexpected treat. The hotel is old but well maintained. The rooms are very expensive in the summer and reservations need to be made months in advance. We took the Grand tour which was a great way to see the park. We also went on the Starry Skies over Yosemite tour. It also was excellent. The rooms were comfortable and the service was excellent.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cheri F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2014

My wife and I stayed at Ahwahnee Hotel for three days in July 2014 having been advised it was a luxury hotel and the best in the park. We had spent the previous ten days staying in superb hotels in Las Vegas, Big Sur and Rutherford (Napa Valley) so were really looking forward to the Ahwahnee as so many people had said what a great place it is. In short, we were rather disappointed.

First the positives; the location is simply unbeatable with stunning views of the surrounding granite cliffs (even from our room window) and there is easy access to a number of the walking trails. The main dining room is truly impressive and the a la carte evening dining experience was excellent; both for food and and standard of service. Complimentary tea and coffee are available in the morning (from 06:00) on the Mezzanine level.

The rest of the experience however was a real disappointment.

The room (a Classic Double with two Queen double beds) was in dire need of a makeover and the bathroom especially was well past its 'best by' date. A lot of cold water was wasted before it ran hot. Although the room was equipped with a large LCD TV (not that we once switched it on), the rest of the amenities were sadly lacking. The shower and bath gel were barely low-grade motel standard; there was no minibar or even, and surprisingly for a US hotel, complimentary bottled water; no coffee making facility and no evening turn-down service. The free wifi service was so slow a carrier pigeon would have been more effective. Bed linen was worn and frayed and certainly overdue for replacement.

The room air conditioning struggled and was noisy.

The buffet breakfast in the main dining room was marginal and certainly not up to the self-proclaimed luxury standard of the hotel. The grab-and-go breakfast items in the coffee shop is much better value.

The upstairs corridors were in need of a makeover and smelled rather musty.

It seems that all the park lodging facilities are operated by the same concessionaire under contract to the US Govt NPS and so there is simply no real competition. The Awhanhee appears to be taking advantage of essentially a captive audience of guests who, if they want the comforts of a so-called luxury hotel, have nowhere else to stay. The room rates are outrageous considering the quality of room and amenities provided - overall rather poor value.

Fortunately, despite the disappointment of the Ahwahnee stay, nothing could detract from the incredible experience of visiting and hiking Yosemite National Park; definitely a must-do on anyone's bucket list!

Room Tip: Book way ahead of time to get the best room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
7  Thank Duncan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2014

The hotel was beautifully decorated and staff was pleasant and efficient. The best thing was that we could see the falls from our room window. It was the perfect end to our short week of camping and it was great to make the drive home feeling clean and refreshed from sleeping in the Ahwahnee hotel!

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank graciouslyforgiven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2014

July 4th weekend our family bit the bullet to pay the outrageous $500+ per night charge at The Ahwahnee for a family reunion and white water rafting holiday. We had not stayed at The Ahwahnee for over a decade. Not a lot visibly changed. You are paying for location, decent hotel accommodations and best of all ... air conditioned rooms, in timeless Yosemite Valley. If you can afford the rate, then this is the place to stay.

Our two double room had a sofa bed and could have slept 5 (although the space would have been cramped). The tile bathroom was small and like the room itself, needed a good renovation into the 21st Century, especially at these rates. I guess the hotel concessionaire figures they can get away with $500+ nightly charges for outdated (but historic) guest rooms since you are supposed to be spending your time outdoors anyway. At a minimum, please DNC, allow the service elevator to be used by guests so that there would then be 2 elevators available to your well heeled guests.

On the plus side: wonderfully comfortable mattresses and friendly staff everywhere. Free morning coffee on the mezzanine and complimentary tea/cookies in the Great Lounge in the afternoon were nice touches. We asked for, and received without charge, an in-room coffee maker as well. The mini fridge was handy for water and sodas.

And the best experience, whether or not you stay the night at this hotel, is to dine breakfast or dinner in the wonderful dining room. Yes, it is expensive, but an unmatched experience with good and friendly service. Even the Lounge/Cafe just off the lobby had decent sandwiches at prices that were only slightly higher than Curry Village and Yosemite Lodge cafeteria prices (but with much tastier quality food).

If your travel budget allows a splurge of cash, then go for a reservation at The Ahwahnee. There isn't any competition within the Park, so pay the Piper and soak up the beauty of the Valley.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JasminedogLosAngeles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yosemite National Park
1.3 mi away
Yosemite Valley Lodge
Yosemite Valley Lodge
#3 of 3 in Yosemite National Park
3,896 reviews
17.9 mi away
Evergreen Lodge at Yosemite
17.4 mi away
Rush Creek Lodge
Rush Creek Lodge
#2 of 7 in Groveland
527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.4 mi away
Yosemite Cedar Lodge
Yosemite Cedar Lodge
#2 of 2 in El Portal
2,184 reviews
18.8 mi away
White Chief Mountain Lodge
19.2 mi away
Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Majestic Yosemite Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Majestic Yosemite Hotel

Address: 9005 Ahwahnee Drive, Yosemite National Park, CA 95389 (Formerly The Ahwahnee)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Yosemite National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Yosemite National Park
Price Range: $567 - $949 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Majestic Yosemite Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Majestic Yosemite Hotel shines as Yosemite National Park's distinctive AAA(R) Four-Diamond hotel. Known for its magnificent façade and architecture, The Majestic Yosemite Hotel was specially designed to highlight its natural surroundings, which include Yosemite Falls, Half Dome, and Glacier Point. The destination of queens and presidents alike, this distinctive Yosemite hotel offers a perfect balance of history, hospitality, and elegance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, Hotwire, TravelUp and getaroom.com so you can book your The Majestic Yosemite Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ahwahnee Hotel Yosemite National Park
Ahwahnee Yosemite National Park
Ahwahnee Hotel Yosemite National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing