We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Definitely the best place to stay in the village.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Majestic Yosemite Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Majestic Yosemite Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Definitely the best place to stay in the village.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014 via mobile

We stayed in the hotel, which has beautiful original features and good sized bedrooms and bathrooms. It was certainly the best place to stay and was great to be in the middle of the park when the day trippers had all gone. The hotel itself was comfortable, but the elevators and old construction made it rather noisy. The bar was brilliant for breakfast, the dining rom was smart, with good staff but overpriced for the food.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Anne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,330 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,088
    675
    304
    166
    97
See reviews for
714
1,129
36
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (657)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mendocino, California
Level Contributor
76 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

staying at the ahwahnee hotel in Yosemite has been on my bucket list and I can cross it out now. this hotel is worth every penny. the rooms are simple but in line with the historic building. the hotel itself has so much beauty - the outside is stunning. the scenery is stunning. the inside is spectacular. we visited every public room and the treasures, such as murals, beams and kilims are beautiful. we had tea and cookies every afternoon accompanied by live piano music and I was taken back to my years growing up in Germany where such places are not such a rarety.


.

Room Tip: try to get a room overlooking half dome. just seeing it every day was one of the highlights for us...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sabine17093
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clayton, California
Level Contributor
121 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

I've stayed at the Ahwahnee four times since 1995, have dined there many times and even been lucky during the days of Bracebridge lottery to win a primo date and dinner seating along with lodging. In 2006, my husband and I renewed our vows on the lawn and had a dinner party for 30 people in the mural room. The Ahwahnee has maintained her superiority over many of the National Park Lodges and is neck-in-neck with Yellowstone grand dame the Old Faithful Inn. I've never stayed in the main hotel rooms, those family and friends have and I've seen the rooms - on the small side. We've always preferred to stay in the cottages. Bring a flashlight - its dark walking on the path even there though it is lit (assuming a time of year other than June, July, August). There are two cottages with fireplaces that are large rooms and the fireplace .... well I could walk in it and I'm 5' tall; #714 and #719 --- there the secret is out! And they have the largest flagstone patio. Very nice for privacy and pure seclusion. I also love the pool at the Ahwahnee and the bar service for it too. My only criticism is that the price for rooms has more than quadrupled over the 19 years - it's the most expensive than all of the other national park lodges and I don't understand why such a drastic increase in comparison. I've stayed at the Ahwahnee in November, December, June/July and September. Every month was spectacular. The service personnel have been with them for decades and well worth your time to chat with them....many live down valley and have lots of local forklore to tell.

Room Tip: Stay in the cottages, bring a flashlight and bug spray for pesky mosquitoes in the spring months and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelinWillers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GnrlMgr, General Manager at The Majestic Yosemite Hotel, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Good afternoon TravellinWillers,

Thank you very much for your patronage over the years. I am so glad to read that you had a wonderful time on your last visit. The cottages are indeed very special and most do afford a little more room than the main building rooms. I am looking forward to having them remodeled this Fall; nothing structural mind you (National Historic Landmark), but most of the finishes, furniture, and fabrics will be new. So they will have a fresh look when you visit next.

I can certainly appreciate your comment about the price but keep in mind that we do offer some great rates in the January, February, and March.

Kind regards,

Brett Archer, General Manager
The Ahwahnee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Planet Earth
Level Contributor
55 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014 via mobile

We enjoyed our stay at this grand old hotel. The service and location can't be beat and are what you are paying top dollar for. Check In and out was very easy and we saw plenty of wildlife around the hotel.

Pros: location, service, views, pool

Cons: price, horrible wifi

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Xelint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hermosa Beach, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

My family and I just spent the 4th of July holiday weekend at the Ahwahnee Hotel, the hotel staff was amazingly attentive and helpful. We expected the hotel to feel crowded due to full capacity, but much to our surprise it was completely the opposite! The staff always made us feel special and they were always there to help with our questions and needs. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kmschnabel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GnrlMgr, General Manager at The Majestic Yosemite Hotel, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Greetings kmschnabel,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent visit. I am so very glad to read that you had a wonderful time and that you will back! I will be sure to share with the staff that you found them "amazing."

Until next time,

Brett Archer, General Manager
The Ahwahnee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

You cannot beat the location. Views of Halfdome at Sunset and Glacier Point. Quiet and away from the crowds. Very friendly staff. Expensive but worth it. Great food at Awhanee Bar since the Main dining room is top dollar.

Room Tip: Room 1024 has views of Cathedral.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RichiePerk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Encinitas, California
Level Contributor
117 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

We attended the Sesquicentennial event for the Yosemite Land Grand on June 30th and stayed at our favorite hotel in the WORLD, The Ahwahnee. We regularly go to Yosemite in the winter and haven't been during the summer in decades. The crowds and heat were daunting. However, the Ahwahnee was a sanctuary. We are so used to limited number of guest during our winter stays. With the increased number of guests and staff at the hotel, the service did not falter in the slightest. If anything, the staff went out of their way to be patient and kind. Lonna at the front desk was extremely kind and helpful as was Steve and Dave. The temperature that week was sweltering, but the air conditioning in the rooms was perfect. Not too cold as some hotels do. During the warmer months visitors can experience Glacier Point and Tuolomne Meadows in Yosemite, so it's a great time to go. I recommend The Ahwahnee as THE place to unwind and relax in comfort. This year they have a signature celebratory cocktain, the Sesquicentini, yummy.

Room Tip: Every room is lovely. If you can afford to, upgrade to a balcony room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank joangosewisch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GnrlMgr, General Manager at The Majestic Yosemite Hotel, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Greetings San_Diego Joan,

It is always great to have you and Mr. San_Diego Joan back "home." The 150th Anniversary celebration was a very special time and I thank you very much for showing your support and love of Yosemite by participating in the events.

I am glad to hear that you enjoyed the new Sesquicintini and thank you for posting the great picture of it.

We look forward to seeing you soon.

All the best,

Brett Archer, General Manager
The Ahwahnee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yosemite National Park
1.3 mi away
Yosemite Valley Lodge
Yosemite Valley Lodge
#2 of 3 in Yosemite National Park
4.0 of 5 stars 3,465 reviews
17.9 mi away
Evergreen Lodge at Yosemite
15.2 mi away
Big Trees Lodge
Big Trees Lodge
#3 of 3 in Yosemite National Park
4.0 of 5 stars 1,952 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.3 mi away
Cedar Lodge
Cedar Lodge
#2 of 2 in El Portal
3.0 of 5 stars 1,833 reviews
11.4 mi away
Yosemite View Lodge
Yosemite View Lodge
#1 of 2 in El Portal
3.5 of 5 stars 3,400 reviews
19.2 mi away
Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Majestic Yosemite Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Majestic Yosemite Hotel

Property: The Majestic Yosemite Hotel
Address: 9005 Ahwahnee Drive, Yosemite National Park, CA 95389 (Formerly The Ahwahnee)
Location: United States > California > Yosemite National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Yosemite National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Majestic Yosemite Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Majestic Yosemite Hotel shines as Yosemite National Park's distinctive AAA(R) Four-Diamond hotel. Known for its magnificent façade and architecture, The Majestic Yosemite Hotel was specially designed to highlight its natural surroundings, which include Yosemite Falls, Half Dome, and Glacier Point. The destination of queens and presidents alike, this distinctive Yosemite hotel offers a perfect balance of history, hospitality, and elegance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, getaroom.com, Hotwire and Travelocity so you can book your The Majestic Yosemite Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ahwahnee Hotel Yosemite National Park
Ahwahnee Yosemite National Park
Ahwahnee Hotel Yosemite National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing