We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay away. You're better off elsewhere in the park.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Majestic Yosemite Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 20, 2013

I couldn't be more disappointed with my experience at this hotel. I (incorrectly) assumed that $500+ per night rates would be indicative of a property that treats its guests with respect and competency. I had issues checking in , checking out, with the bell service, and especially at the restaurant. Stay far away from the restaurant. Check out the Yosemite Lodge instead.

Room Tip: Check out the Yosemite Lodge instead.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank D D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,722)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,657 - 1,663 of 2,722 reviews

Reviewed December 20, 2013

My wife & I stayed here this year for the second time, but had a cottage instead of a main hotel room. The surroundings are beautiful, with plenty of trees as well as the views of the surrounding valley walls (Glacier point, El Capitan etc).
The cottage was well furnished but felt old & in need of some updating, although this may actually be intentional as the Awhanee is very proud of it's history.
Unfortunately we were in cabin 700, which is the first over the bridge. The front door faced straight down the main path leading to all the other cottages, so we didn't have any feeling of privacy unless it was shut with blinds closed. This may not be the case with other cottages, depending on location.
The one memorable item was the bed. The mattress was the most comfortable I've every slept on, which caused an issue when needing to get off it to go & see the rest of the park!
In summary, if you like the "old" feeling & don't mind paying a high price for the facilities, the Ahwanee is definately the place to stay. Even though this review may sound negative, I wouldn't hesitate to stay again, but probably in the main hotel.

Room Tip: Hotel roms will definately offer more privacy than the cottages, but will lack the "outside&quo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bentley1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2013

We drove in late at night with 12 inches of snow on the ground. We had reserved a cabin. We walked the 50 yard trail from the hotel lobby to our cabin. This is an older property, but very well maintained. Room was spacious and comfortable, with modern HD TV. We woke up the next morning and found we were in a pine forest covered in snow which was beautiful. Then we looked up..... the hotel and cabins are built right at the foot of a sheer rock wall rising 1,000 above us. What a sight! The cabin was priced at $299 a night, which is pretty steep considering that very few people were staying there in mid-December. It's nice to have the park to yourself in December, but they could charge less and get more guests to stay there.

Room Tip: We enjoyed the privacy of the cabins. Short walk to the main building and restaurant. Take your cam...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chuck B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2013

Ahwahnee Hotel – What an absolutely splendid hotel. This brings you back to the grand hotels when only the moneyed people traveled. Yes, it is expensive, but I think worth a night or two. Maybe not if you stay a week. We had a king room on the second floor with a large closet and lovely restored bath. Huge flat screen TV (great for watching the Yosemite channel). Staff was pleasant and attentive.
The only downside was food options. It did not impact us and I thought the main dining room was spectacular and food and service was outstanding. However, your options for dinner are limited to the high end dining room and a small bar in the lobby. There is a well-equipped store a short walk away and there is a fridge in the room, so I suppose you could get by on cold snacks as a meal. This in no way detracts from my rating, I am just rationalizing that in general, people accustomed to paying a room rate as this expect greater options in dining. Of course, you are in the middle of the wilderness, so that should set your expectation.
Also, Internet access, while free, is almost none existent. Cell service as well. Again, It does not impact my rating because I do not want to see cell towers on El Capitan … I’m just mentioning it as a point of interest.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 674
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2013

While the Ahwahnee is an historic hotel within the spectacular confines of Yosemite National Park, it is ridiculously overpriced. You are much better off lodging at the Yosemite Lodge and visiting the Ahwahnee for a photo op.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
2  Thank Goonliving
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2013 via mobile

Best place to stay in Yosemite National Park, but a typical contract for service national park hotel. Rooms in th cabins can be cold in the winter. Food is mediocre. Service is a mix of helpful and not so helpful employes

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BAdvIse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2013 via mobile

We went to the vintners holiday with Hartford, tablas creek, mondavi and Franciscan wines. It was a lovely time. The sessions were great. Our room was fine except we were looking at a rooftop. The food is not good in the park. Had a very bad meal at yosemite lodge. The vintners dinner was quite good. I was impressed that the food could improve that dramatically for an event. The hotel was fine. It is way overpriced as the amenities are limited. Could not get cell phone service and wi fi wad weak. The staff is semi attentive. We had snow do it was beautiful

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank hyknski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yosemite National Park
1.3 mi away
Yosemite Valley Lodge
Yosemite Valley Lodge
#3 of 3 in Yosemite National Park
3,968 reviews
17.9 mi away
Evergreen Lodge at Yosemite
17.4 mi away
Rush Creek Lodge
Rush Creek Lodge
#2 of 7 in Groveland
583 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.4 mi away
Yosemite Cedar Lodge
Yosemite Cedar Lodge
#2 of 2 in El Portal
2,230 reviews
19.2 mi away
Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite
11.3 mi away
Yosemite View Lodge
Yosemite View Lodge
#1 of 2 in El Portal
4,133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Majestic Yosemite Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Majestic Yosemite Hotel

Address: 9005 Ahwahnee Drive, Yosemite National Park, CA 95389 (Formerly The Ahwahnee)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Yosemite National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Yosemite National Park
Price Range: $827 - $1,022 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Majestic Yosemite Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Majestic Yosemite Hotel shines as Yosemite National Park's distinctive AAA(R) Four-Diamond hotel. Known for its magnificent façade and architecture, The Majestic Yosemite Hotel was specially designed to highlight its natural surroundings, which include Yosemite Falls, Half Dome, and Glacier Point. The destination of queens and presidents alike, this distinctive Yosemite hotel offers a perfect balance of history, hospitality, and elegance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Majestic Yosemite Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ahwahnee Hotel Yosemite National Park
Ahwahnee Yosemite National Park
Ahwahnee Hotel Yosemite National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing