We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Majestic Yosemite Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 8, 2013

We had looked forward to our 1st trip to Yosemite for months. We (thought) we had booked the Ahwanee for 4 nights this past July. When we cancelled our 1st night on-line we mistakenly did not get a confirmation email( most probably our fault). So when we showed up to begin on our new 1st night we were told that they tried to call us at home(if we were on vacation would we be home???) so they gave our room away AND that they were comletely sold out (as well as the Lodge). They did help us find a room outside of the park (a 45 minute drive). This was done after we had a birthday dinner for my wife in the main dining rm(a reservation that was still on their books) While I completely understand that they attempted to reach us, I'm confused, if all other correspondences were confirmed by email ( a point driven home by the staff) why did they not try and reach us by email. This miscommunication would have never happened. I think their policies should change. They did get us into a room at the lodge the 2nd nt and into the Ahwanee the 3rd and last. But we were without a room from 11am(check out) to 4pm(check in) every day! The General Manager was very nice and helped the best he could and let us use our deposit, but our log awaited Yosemite trip was very stressful.
Our room was nice, the location can't be beat and the food in the main dining room (the room itself is impressive)was good/great.
Having said all that the park was spectacular. Hiking trails were somewhat crowded but we were in the busy time of year. Had we not been such a problem with our reservations this would have earned 5 stars.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jim G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,679)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,685 - 1,691 of 2,679 reviews

Reviewed September 6, 2013

I can't tell you how much I was looking forward to coming here. The Hotel is set in the most amazing grounds, and we were put into a suite on the 6th floor- apparently because we were three people. So we were in a bedroom with an adjoining library ( yes, library) with photos of the original owner and his wife. It was a bit like staying in a museum for the night! So my daughter needed a bed organising in the library, the reception said someone would come up and arrange this, I asked could they come when we were at dinner. Unfortunately they did not come, and we ended up with a grumpy guy stomping around making up the bed at around 11 pm. As to dinner, I had been planning my outfit for months! They make a big fuss about clothing, ladies must wear skirts, dresses or long pants, no jeans or shorts. So, I pressed my daughter into also wearing smart clothes, and she looked so lovely! When we got to that historic and beautiful dining room, my daughter was horrified to discover there were people wearing fleeces, and looking very casual! She shot dagger looks at me all evening. But there were people there dressed up. The food, unfortunately, was not up to our efforts.....
It was very average food, roast beef with absolutely no jus, gravy, call it what you want. Vegetables were shameful. It really was a big disappointment. Breakfast, however, was good, with eggs benedict at the buffet, and a good choice of other breakfast goodies. We were served by Dave, who was obviously a national monument.
The location was amazing, and we spent the morning just wandering around the spectacular grounds. The elevator is really, really spooky.
Dear Ahwahnee, you have an amazing and wonderful hotel. Please try and improve the dining facilities.

Room Tip: Well, you could stay on the 6th Floor in a suite - Queen Elizabeth slept there!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank new_horizon1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Had a great stay there, the room was lovely, the view of half dome was amazing. The pool wasn't known when book, so it was a great surprise when we got it. Great customer service and the location including the free bus shuttle outside made thus hotel an memorable one. Highly recommended!

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
Thank Michaelgill95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

The hotel common areas are simply beautiful. The dining room is gorgeous, with incredibly high ceilings with amazing wooden beams, and gorgeous windows overlooking majestic redwood trees. The food is fabulous. The salads and the burgers were great at lunch. The filet was delicious for dinner. The service was friendly and attentive. There is a wonderful, huge, beautiful room where they serve hotel guests complimentary tea and cookies. So nice! The only negative was the room itself. Although it was large, it was also dated, drab, dark and tired. At a minimum, they could improve the feel of the room by changing the dirty, stained, dated, dreary lamp shades, if not by adding a fresh coat of paint in a brighter color. Notwithstanding the room decor, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1Karen1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Not only is the Lodge incredibly beautiful, the dining is superb! The huge high ceiling room is so well appointed and the views are stunning. The food is superior. The service delightful. Even if you can't stay at the Lodge (which we didn't) it is worth a visit for a glass of wine or a cocktail and a stroll about the place.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ExploringtheEarth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

A beautiful old world charm hotel in the most lovely of National Parks. If you can't stay there, at least stop by and have a bite to eat or drink. Very helpful staff in all areas of the hotel and restaurants and shops. Can't wait to go again next August.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 22Dsquared
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We spend two nights in a cabin at the Ahwahnee and WOW. Yosemite NP would have to be one of the most beautiful places we have ever visited, and the Ahwahnee is a magnificent part of that. The main hotel, its staff, and its grounds are almost faultless.

Our cabin itself was very nice, it had a fire place and sitting area in a large living space, bathroom was well done for an old cabin. It appeared to either have been recently renovated or very well kept.

This National Park and Hotel is somewhere we will definitely visit again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 291187_Sydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yosemite National Park
1.3 mi away
Yosemite Valley Lodge
Yosemite Valley Lodge
#3 of 3 in Yosemite National Park
3,927 reviews
17.9 mi away
Evergreen Lodge at Yosemite
17.4 mi away
Rush Creek Lodge
Rush Creek Lodge
#2 of 7 in Groveland
554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.4 mi away
Yosemite Cedar Lodge
Yosemite Cedar Lodge
#2 of 2 in El Portal
2,202 reviews
18.8 mi away
White Chief Mountain Lodge
19.2 mi away
Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Majestic Yosemite Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Majestic Yosemite Hotel

Address: 9005 Ahwahnee Drive, Yosemite National Park, CA 95389 (Formerly The Ahwahnee)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Yosemite National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Yosemite National Park
Price Range: $551 - $979 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Majestic Yosemite Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Majestic Yosemite Hotel shines as Yosemite National Park's distinctive AAA(R) Four-Diamond hotel. Known for its magnificent façade and architecture, The Majestic Yosemite Hotel was specially designed to highlight its natural surroundings, which include Yosemite Falls, Half Dome, and Glacier Point. The destination of queens and presidents alike, this distinctive Yosemite hotel offers a perfect balance of history, hospitality, and elegance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, Orbitz, TravelUp, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Majestic Yosemite Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ahwahnee Hotel Yosemite National Park
Ahwahnee Yosemite National Park
Ahwahnee Hotel Yosemite National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing