We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Historic, but dated rooms” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Majestic Yosemite Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Majestic Yosemite Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
142 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Historic, but dated rooms”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

The hotel common areas are simply beautiful. The dining room is gorgeous, with incredibly high ceilings with amazing wooden beams, and gorgeous windows overlooking majestic redwood trees. The food is fabulous. The salads and the burgers were great at lunch. The filet was delicious for dinner. The service was friendly and attentive. There is a wonderful, huge, beautiful room where they serve hotel guests complimentary tea and cookies. So nice! The only negative was the room itself. Although it was large, it was also dated, drab, dark and tired. At a minimum, they could improve the feel of the room by changing the dirty, stained, dated, dreary lamp shades, if not by adding a fresh coat of paint in a brighter color. Notwithstanding the room decor, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 1Karen1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,331 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,089
    675
    304
    166
    97
See reviews for
715
1,129
36
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (658)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North Carolina
Level Contributor
147 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Not only is the Lodge incredibly beautiful, the dining is superb! The huge high ceiling room is so well appointed and the views are stunning. The food is superior. The service delightful. Even if you can't stay at the Lodge (which we didn't) it is worth a visit for a glass of wine or a cocktail and a stroll about the place.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ExploringtheEarth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Palos Verdes, California
Level Contributor
65 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

A beautiful old world charm hotel in the most lovely of National Parks. If you can't stay there, at least stop by and have a bite to eat or drink. Very helpful staff in all areas of the hotel and restaurants and shops. Can't wait to go again next August.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 22Dsquared
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We spend two nights in a cabin at the Ahwahnee and WOW. Yosemite NP would have to be one of the most beautiful places we have ever visited, and the Ahwahnee is a magnificent part of that. The main hotel, its staff, and its grounds are almost faultless.

Our cabin itself was very nice, it had a fire place and sitting area in a large living space, bathroom was well done for an old cabin. It appeared to either have been recently renovated or very well kept.

This National Park and Hotel is somewhere we will definitely visit again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 291187_Sydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayland, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
57 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

Why can't ALL hotels be like this one....from the moment you arrive, unpretentious, informed, lovely people greet you. Bags are whisked away..and you arrive at reception...painless check in and arrive in your room..simple but everything you need. The hotel itself is just beautiful. The inn smells like the mountains, fresh and clean.....the views...Half Dome etc...RIGHT THERE! Service throughout our stay was perfection. The pool is great after a long day....nice bar service there...so much to do...take advantage of it all...best discovery..the Merced River RIGHT behind the inn..a deep refreshing watering hole. Take the Walk down from Glacier Point...a full day but OMG..so worth it....use Panoramic trail via Mist....enjoy enjoy,

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VacayStay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tarzana, California
Level Contributor
48 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

We would definitely stay again because it is the nicest place in Yosemite Valley, but nicest doesn't mean 5-star. Some of the staff was friendly, others seemed completely bothered by basic questions. The last day we were there, we walked into our room after being gone all day and the smell was awful (sulphur/sewage). We called the front desk, who sent someone (Person 1) up with air freshner and said he'd send another person (Person 2) back to check the plumbing. Person 2 came up, flushed the toilet and walked out. We had already flushed the toilet numerous times. The stink remained and we had to go out and purchase air freshners. The A/C unit in our room was so loud that it was hard to hear the TV. The A/C unit in the kids' room was fine. It was nice that they were able to give us connecting rooms. My son left his Clarisonic and although I called immediately, it took the Ahwanhee 1 week to call us and leave a message stating they had found it. They left a message and asked that we called back. I have now played telephone tag 4 times and we still don't have the Clarisonic. Customer service is definitely NOT their #1 concern, but I guess with views of Half Dome right out their window, it doesn't have to be.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of Half Dome.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SandraMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shenandoah Valley
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

We spent three nights at the Ahwahnee. It has its charm if not value, and hiking down the Panorama Trail was memorable. The Ahwahnee was supposed to be the highlight of our trip to California to celebrate 30 years of employment and a birthday. However, our stay in Yosemite was almost ruined by the old school condescending maitre d’ staff in the dining room. We called to complain to higher management and this led to the matter being resolved. Let higher management know if you get treated poorly or experience a lack of hospitality, for dining operations appear to be under scrutiny. We stayed in many hotels throughout California and would like to give shoutouts to the Omni in San Francisco (exceptional professionalism) and the Spanish Garden Inn in Santa Barbara (handsdown our favourite). Dining worth mentioning were Redd in Napa (superb), the Edgewater in South Lake Tahoe (gorgeous sunsets), and for the more adventurous the Golden Era in San Francisco which is in the Tenderloin, so keep the bling at home.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SVtrav099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yosemite National Park
1.3 mi away
Yosemite Valley Lodge
Yosemite Valley Lodge
#2 of 3 in Yosemite National Park
4.0 of 5 stars 3,468 reviews
17.9 mi away
Evergreen Lodge at Yosemite
15.2 mi away
Big Trees Lodge
Big Trees Lodge
#3 of 3 in Yosemite National Park
4.0 of 5 stars 1,953 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.3 mi away
Cedar Lodge
Cedar Lodge
#2 of 2 in El Portal
3.0 of 5 stars 1,834 reviews
11.4 mi away
Yosemite View Lodge
Yosemite View Lodge
#1 of 2 in El Portal
3.5 of 5 stars 3,404 reviews
19.2 mi away
Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Majestic Yosemite Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Majestic Yosemite Hotel

Property: The Majestic Yosemite Hotel
Address: 9005 Ahwahnee Drive, Yosemite National Park, CA 95389 (Formerly The Ahwahnee)
Location: United States > California > Yosemite National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Yosemite National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Majestic Yosemite Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Majestic Yosemite Hotel shines as Yosemite National Park's distinctive AAA(R) Four-Diamond hotel. Known for its magnificent façade and architecture, The Majestic Yosemite Hotel was specially designed to highlight its natural surroundings, which include Yosemite Falls, Half Dome, and Glacier Point. The destination of queens and presidents alike, this distinctive Yosemite hotel offers a perfect balance of history, hospitality, and elegance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotwire, Expedia and getaroom.com so you can book your The Majestic Yosemite Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ahwahnee Hotel Yosemite National Park
Ahwahnee Yosemite National Park
Ahwahnee Hotel Yosemite National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing