We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, but...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Majestic Yosemite Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 31, 2013

We would definitely stay again because it is the nicest place in Yosemite Valley, but nicest doesn't mean 5-star. Some of the staff was friendly, others seemed completely bothered by basic questions. The last day we were there, we walked into our room after being gone all day and the smell was awful (sulphur/sewage). We called the front desk, who sent someone (Person 1) up with air freshner and said he'd send another person (Person 2) back to check the plumbing. Person 2 came up, flushed the toilet and walked out. We had already flushed the toilet numerous times. The stink remained and we had to go out and purchase air freshners. The A/C unit in our room was so loud that it was hard to hear the TV. The A/C unit in the kids' room was fine. It was nice that they were able to give us connecting rooms. My son left his Clarisonic and although I called immediately, it took the Ahwanhee 1 week to call us and leave a message stating they had found it. They left a message and asked that we called back. I have now played telephone tag 4 times and we still don't have the Clarisonic. Customer service is definitely NOT their #1 concern, but I guess with views of Half Dome right out their window, it doesn't have to be.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of Half Dome.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SandraMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,682)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,696 - 1,702 of 2,682 reviews

Reviewed August 31, 2013

We spent three nights at the Ahwahnee. It has its charm if not value, and hiking down the Panorama Trail was memorable. The Ahwahnee was supposed to be the highlight of our trip to California to celebrate 30 years of employment and a birthday. However, our stay in Yosemite was almost ruined by the old school condescending maitre d’ staff in the dining room. We called to complain to higher management and this led to the matter being resolved. Let higher management know if you get treated poorly or experience a lack of hospitality, for dining operations appear to be under scrutiny. We stayed in many hotels throughout California and would like to give shoutouts to the Omni in San Francisco (exceptional professionalism) and the Spanish Garden Inn in Santa Barbara (handsdown our favourite). Dining worth mentioning were Redd in Napa (superb), the Edgewater in South Lake Tahoe (gorgeous sunsets), and for the more adventurous the Golden Era in San Francisco which is in the Tenderloin, so keep the bling at home.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SVtrav099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2013

When we arrived, we learned that we were staying in one of the bungalows at the back of the property. At first I was disappointed that we were not staying in the hotel itself, but once we saw our bungalow, we were so pleased. The room was spacious, clean and had a reading area with chairs and a table. The bathroom and dressing area also were spacious. Also the bungalows have small patios in front of each with a couple of chairs and table. It was so quiet in the area that sleeping was wonderful. We couldn't have been more pleased and excited with our stay, especially when we were sitting in front of the bungalow reading and watched a bobcat walk directly down the paved path toward us and then stopping to look at us before making his/her way through the woods.

Room Tip: We really loved the bungalow.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2013

Staying at the Ahwahnee was going to be the highlight of our 20th wedding anniversary road trip of California. We pushed the boat out for a one night stay and I could not have looked forward to it more. Room booked 10 months in advance and all I asked for was a quiet room with a nice view (wasn't expecting vast views of Half Dome from a standard room, I just didn't want to look at the bins). I thought they would at least grant us that considering the notice we gave them.

On arrival we were given the key (yes, a key - nice to have a real key in this day and age when plastic cards are ubiquitous) to a tiny room with no view whatsoever - it looked out on an internal porch area. One of the curtains was half off the pole (the maintenance man came to fix it and actually stood on the armchair to do it, nearly toppling towards the window in the process) and the doors looked like someone had kicked them, the dents and cracks were worse than you would expect in a cheap motel. The wallpaper was patchy in places and the whole room had an unpleasant odour. The covers on the bed were also stained.

We knew in advance that the room was ADA accredited and would have no bath - not a problem, as we prefer showers anyway. Not this one, though - the dirty grouting in the pokey and downright shabby bathroom was appalling. The shower itself looked on its last legs and the small shelf was attached to the wall at only one end.

I do not particularly like making a fuss, but this was more than I was prepared to put up. Straight back to reception. The receptionist was very understanding, and I got the impression this was not the first time she had received complaints about the dark and shabby little room with no view. "We would concede that that room is view challenged", she said, which made me burst out laughing.

Even though we were told on check in that the hotel was full, they managed to magic another room out of thin air for us. This second room was exactly as I imagined a standard room at the Ahwahnee should be - in need of some attention in places, yes, but characterful and, above all, clean and not shabby. The bathroom was fine and the view was as I expected - some lovely cliffs and trees. Fabulous bathrobes and good wifi.

The waiting staff in the dining room were wonderful and the location is simply to die for - the view from the grounds of the hotel and its setting will stay with me for ever. And the grand hall/lobby is fantastic! Food good, nothing special but the dining room more than makes up for it.

With a little more attention to maintenance, this place could be one of the great hotels of the world. Our trip was saved by an understanding receptionist and a room change, but had we been forced to stay in the shabby "view challenged" apology of a room, I would be writing a completely different review.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank funnyhols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

We stayed here as part of an organised tour of California. The Ahwahnee is an old building (1927) but is well-maintained and full of character with very good facilities and levels of service. The dining room is very atmospheric but had vicious air conditioning, the food was very good, though not fine-dining; the Sunday brunch was however a whole new experience for us Brits - an extravagent spread including oyster and an ice statue. The bedrooms are lovely, especially if you are lucky enough to have the better views of the marvellous rock faces, forest and wildlife that surround the hotel. The obvious choice for exporing Yosemite.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

We booked one year in advance and were accomodated in a very dark room with windows under the porch.
The room was spacius but the furniture was poor.
We asked for a room switch for the next days, but our request was declined:they said they were full booked and did not answer when i replied i was not asking for an additional room but just for a switch and therefore would vacate one.
We left some towels on the floor and found them in the same place in the evening.
Said that, the building is outstanding and the dining room is a masterpiece.
Overall you end up paying more than you get.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank Christian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2013

Ahwahnee is a historical hotel in Yosemite National Park.
The building is old but well maintained. Rooms are spacious and clean.
The hotel lobby and the restaurant are magnificent.
Service are very good, polite and attentive.
Breakfast and room service were good.
It is not cheap but worth.
Reservations must be made months before summer.

Room Tip: cabins are bigger and different but a little distant from the main building
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carmo_Brasil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yosemite National Park
1.3 mi away
Yosemite Valley Lodge
Yosemite Valley Lodge
#3 of 3 in Yosemite National Park
3,928 reviews
17.9 mi away
Evergreen Lodge at Yosemite
17.4 mi away
Rush Creek Lodge
Rush Creek Lodge
#2 of 7 in Groveland
555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.4 mi away
Yosemite Cedar Lodge
Yosemite Cedar Lodge
#2 of 2 in El Portal
2,204 reviews
18.8 mi away
White Chief Mountain Lodge
19.2 mi away
Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Majestic Yosemite Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Majestic Yosemite Hotel

Address: 9005 Ahwahnee Drive, Yosemite National Park, CA 95389 (Formerly The Ahwahnee)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Yosemite National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Yosemite National Park
Price Range: $551 - $984 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Majestic Yosemite Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Majestic Yosemite Hotel shines as Yosemite National Park's distinctive AAA(R) Four-Diamond hotel. Known for its magnificent façade and architecture, The Majestic Yosemite Hotel was specially designed to highlight its natural surroundings, which include Yosemite Falls, Half Dome, and Glacier Point. The destination of queens and presidents alike, this distinctive Yosemite hotel offers a perfect balance of history, hospitality, and elegance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, HotelsforEveryone, Hotwire, Cancelon, Orbitz, getaroom.com, TravelUp and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Majestic Yosemite Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ahwahnee Hotel Yosemite National Park
Ahwahnee Yosemite National Park
Ahwahnee Hotel Yosemite National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing