We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Ahwahnee experience almost ruined” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Majestic Yosemite Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Majestic Yosemite Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Shenandoah Valley
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Ahwahnee experience almost ruined”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2013

We spent three nights at the Ahwahnee. It has its charm if not value, and hiking down the Panorama Trail was memorable. The Ahwahnee was supposed to be the highlight of our trip to California to celebrate 30 years of employment and a birthday. However, our stay in Yosemite was almost ruined by the old school condescending maitre d’ staff in the dining room. We called to complain to higher management and this led to the matter being resolved. Let higher management know if you get treated poorly or experience a lack of hospitality, for dining operations appear to be under scrutiny. We stayed in many hotels throughout California and would like to give shoutouts to the Omni in San Francisco (exceptional professionalism) and the Spanish Garden Inn in Santa Barbara (handsdown our favourite). Dining worth mentioning were Redd in Napa (superb), the Edgewater in South Lake Tahoe (gorgeous sunsets), and for the more adventurous the Golden Era in San Francisco which is in the Tenderloin, so keep the bling at home.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SVtrav099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,413 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,121
    706
    316
    171
    99
See reviews for
732
1,179
36
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (683)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Germantown, Tennessee
Level Contributor
74 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2013

When we arrived, we learned that we were staying in one of the bungalows at the back of the property. At first I was disappointed that we were not staying in the hotel itself, but once we saw our bungalow, we were so pleased. The room was spacious, clean and had a reading area with chairs and a table. The bathroom and dressing area also were spacious. Also the bungalows have small patios in front of each with a couple of chairs and table. It was so quiet in the area that sleeping was wonderful. We couldn't have been more pleased and excited with our stay, especially when we were sitting in front of the bungalow reading and watched a bobcat walk directly down the paved path toward us and then stopping to look at us before making his/her way through the woods.

Room Tip: We really loved the bungalow.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
70 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013

Staying at the Ahwahnee was going to be the highlight of our 20th wedding anniversary road trip of California. We pushed the boat out for a one night stay and I could not have looked forward to it more. Room booked 10 months in advance and all I asked for was a quiet room with a nice view (wasn't expecting vast views of Half Dome from a standard room, I just didn't want to look at the bins). I thought they would at least grant us that considering the notice we gave them.

On arrival we were given the key (yes, a key - nice to have a real key in this day and age when plastic cards are ubiquitous) to a tiny room with no view whatsoever - it looked out on an internal porch area. One of the curtains was half off the pole (the maintenance man came to fix it and actually stood on the armchair to do it, nearly toppling towards the window in the process) and the doors looked like someone had kicked them, the dents and cracks were worse than you would expect in a cheap motel. The wallpaper was patchy in places and the whole room had an unpleasant odour. The covers on the bed were also stained.

We knew in advance that the room was ADA accredited and would have no bath - not a problem, as we prefer showers anyway. Not this one, though - the dirty grouting in the pokey and downright shabby bathroom was appalling. The shower itself looked on its last legs and the small shelf was attached to the wall at only one end.

I do not particularly like making a fuss, but this was more than I was prepared to put up. Straight back to reception. The receptionist was very understanding, and I got the impression this was not the first time she had received complaints about the dark and shabby little room with no view. "We would concede that that room is view challenged", she said, which made me burst out laughing.

Even though we were told on check in that the hotel was full, they managed to magic another room out of thin air for us. This second room was exactly as I imagined a standard room at the Ahwahnee should be - in need of some attention in places, yes, but characterful and, above all, clean and not shabby. The bathroom was fine and the view was as I expected - some lovely cliffs and trees. Fabulous bathrobes and good wifi.

The waiting staff in the dining room were wonderful and the location is simply to die for - the view from the grounds of the hotel and its setting will stay with me for ever. And the grand hall/lobby is fantastic! Food good, nothing special but the dining room more than makes up for it.

With a little more attention to maintenance, this place could be one of the great hotels of the world. Our trip was saved by an understanding receptionist and a room change, but had we been forced to stay in the shabby "view challenged" apology of a room, I would be writing a completely different review.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank funnyhols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here as part of an organised tour of California. The Ahwahnee is an old building (1927) but is well-maintained and full of character with very good facilities and levels of service. The dining room is very atmospheric but had vicious air conditioning, the food was very good, though not fine-dining; the Sunday brunch was however a whole new experience for us Brits - an extravagent spread including oyster and an ice statue. The bedrooms are lovely, especially if you are lucky enough to have the better views of the marvellous rock faces, forest and wildlife that surround the hotel. The obvious choice for exporing Yosemite.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

We booked one year in advance and were accomodated in a very dark room with windows under the porch.
The room was spacius but the furniture was poor.
We asked for a room switch for the next days, but our request was declined:they said they were full booked and did not answer when i replied i was not asking for an additional room but just for a switch and therefore would vacate one.
We left some towels on the floor and found them in the same place in the evening.
Said that, the building is outstanding and the dining room is a masterpiece.
Overall you end up paying more than you get.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Christian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo
Level Contributor
131 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013

Ahwahnee is a historical hotel in Yosemite National Park.
The building is old but well maintained. Rooms are spacious and clean.
The hotel lobby and the restaurant are magnificent.
Service are very good, polite and attentive.
Breakfast and room service were good.
It is not cheap but worth.
Reservations must be made months before summer.

Room Tip: cabins are bigger and different but a little distant from the main building
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carmo_Brasil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
122 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013

Beautiful hotel located in the heart of Yosemite Valley. Easy access to the rest of the park via shuttlebusses. Valet parking is complimentary.
The lobby, dining room and other rooms at the ground floor are breathtaking.
The hotel room is big, but sadly dated, and the price seems steep.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tira_20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yosemite National Park
1.3 mi away
Yosemite Valley Lodge
Yosemite Valley Lodge
#2 of 3 in Yosemite National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,562 reviews
17.9 mi away
Evergreen Lodge at Yosemite
15.2 mi away
Big Trees Lodge
Big Trees Lodge
#3 of 3 in Yosemite National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,997 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.3 mi away
Cedar Lodge
Cedar Lodge
#2 of 2 in El Portal
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,904 reviews
11.4 mi away
Yosemite View Lodge
Yosemite View Lodge
#1 of 2 in El Portal
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,533 reviews
19.2 mi away
Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Majestic Yosemite Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Majestic Yosemite Hotel

Property: The Majestic Yosemite Hotel
Address: 9005 Ahwahnee Drive, Yosemite National Park, CA 95389 (Formerly The Ahwahnee)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Yosemite National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Yosemite National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Majestic Yosemite Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Majestic Yosemite Hotel shines as Yosemite National Park's distinctive AAA(R) Four-Diamond hotel. Known for its magnificent façade and architecture, The Majestic Yosemite Hotel was specially designed to highlight its natural surroundings, which include Yosemite Falls, Half Dome, and Glacier Point. The destination of queens and presidents alike, this distinctive Yosemite hotel offers a perfect balance of history, hospitality, and elegance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity so you can book your The Majestic Yosemite Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ahwahnee Hotel Yosemite National Park
Ahwahnee Yosemite National Park
Ahwahnee Hotel Yosemite National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing