We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Only hotel to choose when staying in Yosemite!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Majestic Yosemite Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Majestic Yosemite Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Allentown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Only hotel to choose when staying in Yosemite!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2013

The Ahwahnee is a beautiful hotel in an ideal location of Yosemite National Park. Rooms were beautiful, roomy, and clean. Hotel is breathtaking and we enjoyed drinks on the outside patio each evening. Free shuttle picks up directly outside hotel doors. Stunning location and gorgeous hotel. Wonderful hiking trails can be picked up on property - no need to get on shuttle for a nice hike. For the cons - the "feel" of the hotel - a bit too fancy for a hotel in a national park. We were asked to change our attire for dinner in the main dining room - no shorts, sneakers, or jeans - although we were dressed very nicely (polo shirts, khaki shorts, sandles) we needed to go back to our room and change into long pants - we were very surprised to see dresses, dress pants, etc in the dining
room. The other negative was the menu selection in the bar - instead of dressing for dinner the following evening, we decided to get a light fare in the bar (burger, chicken sandwich, etc.) - no such luck - menu was unusual and didn't really offer any casual items a family would be interested in. We ended up getting on the shuttle and going to Yosemite Lodge. Front desk staff was very nice and accommodating - however, we also felt they were a bit "stuffy." Overall I'd come back to this hotel and enjoyed the ammenities very much.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 780karens780
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,413 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,121
    706
    316
    171
    99
See reviews for
732
1,179
36
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (683)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee
Level Contributor
45 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2013

We splurged for our 45th wedding anniversary and we're so glad we did. The price is high, but if you can afford it, I highly recommend it. We stayed a total of three nights: one night in a lovely room on the fourth floor with a balcony and view of Yosemite Falls; two nights in a cottage. We enjoyed both, but liked the room better than the cottage. The location is beautiful and the hotel is the epitome of rustic elegance. We enjoyed the delicious food in the dining room for two dinners and three breakfasts. For our last dinner, the pastry chef sent a cupcake with burning candle and a tray with Happy Anniversary written in chocolate.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank terrio3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
453 reviews
121 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 499 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2013 via mobile

Great hotel lots of history and so much to do on your doorstep because of the fabulous location. Loved the free coffee on the mezzanine. However, it would be nice for the cafe to be open all morning and more seating outside in the summer.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank JohnSunderlandUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walnut Creek, California
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2013

I booked three cottages online a year in advance for a special family celebration. Because of a computer glitch three different people were booked in the two featured cottages for the same night. It is very difficult to get through to the Ahwahnee reservation staff by phone. I appreciated the fact that Stephanie contacted me the day before we left to comp us alternative accommodations in the hotel in place of the featured cottage. In all our dealings she was most helpful and gracious as was most of the staff.
If I stayed there again, I would not bother with the featured cottage. The only advantage is a large fireplace for winter. You are wall to wall with other rooms and the patio is bordered by other rooms. The classic cottages are small and rustic, but quiet and nice for kids. You can go directly from the cabin to the woods and river. Also if you get the two together such as 706 and 707 you are slightly away from other people and not far from the river. In these, your patio is at the end of your building instead of being surrounded by other rooms. There is air conditioning, but it is a little noisy.
Generally the staff was helpful and the rooms were clean enough for practical purposes. Someone on Trip Advisor mentioned that the pool was dirty, but I think that is only because there are trees overhead which regularly drop leaves etc. into the pool.
Don't expect a fabulous room for the price. You are paying for the setting, the historical building and the opportunity to get away from it and find peace and quiet at a very busy park.
Unfortunately there was a forest fire nearby which set off the fire alarms in the main hotel several times during the night. This was not a problem in the cottages, but those of us in the main building didn't get much sleep. However the Ahwahnee staff can't be held accountable for forest fires.
I find the dining room most pleasant and love the design of the common spaces which have been well preserved. The afternoon tea with live piano music is a delight. The bar food is quite good.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NancyP988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, VA, USA
Level Contributor
98 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013

This was our second stay at the Ahwahnee, and since we had stayed in a cottage in 2009, we were happy to get a classic room in the main hotel on the third floor. It was a corner room which had windows facing the falls as well as Glacier Point. The king bed was comfortable, but there were only two dining chairs and a small table for furniture. It was obvious that a reading chair and possibly small couch (as seen in other photos) were missing, which would have been nice to have in the evenings. Other than that the room as adequate although a bit and run down with stained carpet. But this is not why you stay there. It is the convenience above all else as, even with no traffic, the drive in and out of the park takes 1 hour. The hotel has been designated as an historic landmark and all the public rooms are really fine and lovely remembrances of grander times.We bought the bed and breakfast package which is worth it if you want to eat a hearty breakfast before a full day's hiking. We ate one lunch and dinner each night in the wonderful dining room where the service, although sometimes a little slow, was fantastic. You know things are right when your servers have been working the dining room over 25 years. The food is wonderful and delicious, but not fancy 5 star cuisine as you must remember where you are, and the prices are somewhat high especially for any type of alcohol. Dinners are by candlelight with live piano music.
Hotel guests are given preference for dining room reservations and they really go out of their way to accommodate you. This is not a cheap stay, with rooms going for close to $600 with tax, but the convenience is hard to beat and if you are planning to really push yourself on full day hikes, there is no better reward than returning to the Ahwahnee at the end of the day. Be sure to explore the public rooms which are filled with Indian art and memorabilia.

Room Tip: Classic rooms offer spectacular views of Yosemite Falls/Glacier point.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank onionryder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GnrlMgr, General Manager at The Majestic Yosemite Hotel, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Good evening onionryder,

I am happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us, but apologize for finding a stain on your guest room carpet. I am sorry that it wasn't addressed prior to your arrival or during your visit. I have asked our Executive Housekeeper to emphasize to her staff, the importance of and simple expectation of clean carpets in our guests' rooms.

I do so appreciate you coming all the way from Virginia to visit us and hope that you will one day return to Yosemite.

Warm regards,

Brett Archer, General Manager
The Ahwahnee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Dimas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2013

It's the only decent hotel in the valley. The great historical building which has been maintained well. Apparently the Queen and kennedy have stayed here besides other dignitaries. Very relaxing outdoor setting with bar and food service. The cost to stay here would be justifiable if their food quality and room cleaning services were better. The only thing the cleaning person would do is to make bed and replace towels.
The pool was dirty, with no life guard. The food is expensive and not worth the value though the
Service was courteous. We recommend the hotel if price is not the issue and close proximity to landmarks is desired.

Room Tip: Fitness and spa are not at the hotel but all in the park through hikes to water falls and relaxing i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Zahida B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GnrlMgr, General Manager at The Majestic Yosemite Hotel, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Dear Zahida B,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. While I was pleased to read that you found our service courteous, I am disappointed that we let you down in regards to the food and housekeeping services. It is true that we do not have a lifeguard as it is a small pool, however, it should have been cleaned. I will be sharing this with our Executive Housekeeper along with your feedback about the only service you received for your room was the beds being made and towels refreshed. I assure you that this is not the standard by which we want to operate and will use your examples as training tools in Housekeepings daily pre-shift meetings. I was hoping that you might be able to share some more information about the food. We have recently implemented a new menu and specifc feedback would be very helpful to our culinary team in making sure we are heading in the right direction. Please feel free to reach out to me at barcher@dncinc.com.

Warm regards,

Brett Archer, General Manager
The Ahwahnee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
125 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2013

Yosemite and Ahwahnee really just have to go together if you can justify the cost.

It is of course a privilege to stay at The Ahwahnee with all its history, architecture and traditions.
The staff are amazing and we particularly loved the fact so many had been there in service for most of their lives arriving for a summer job and now nearly at retiral age or over.

Food and menu choice could have been better but given location and transport logistics it was more than acceptable.

Afternoon tea is also a must as is wandering around after dinner looking at all the rooms and stairs.

Definately one of life's must do things!

Room Tip: Just forget the price and enjoy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank roninspector
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yosemite National Park
1.3 mi away
Yosemite Valley Lodge
Yosemite Valley Lodge
#2 of 3 in Yosemite National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,562 reviews
17.9 mi away
Evergreen Lodge at Yosemite
15.2 mi away
Big Trees Lodge
Big Trees Lodge
#3 of 3 in Yosemite National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,998 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.3 mi away
Cedar Lodge
Cedar Lodge
#2 of 2 in El Portal
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,904 reviews
11.4 mi away
Yosemite View Lodge
Yosemite View Lodge
#1 of 2 in El Portal
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,534 reviews
19.2 mi away
Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Majestic Yosemite Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Majestic Yosemite Hotel

Property: The Majestic Yosemite Hotel
Address: 9005 Ahwahnee Drive, Yosemite National Park, CA 95389 (Formerly The Ahwahnee)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Yosemite National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Yosemite National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Majestic Yosemite Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Majestic Yosemite Hotel shines as Yosemite National Park's distinctive AAA(R) Four-Diamond hotel. Known for its magnificent façade and architecture, The Majestic Yosemite Hotel was specially designed to highlight its natural surroundings, which include Yosemite Falls, Half Dome, and Glacier Point. The destination of queens and presidents alike, this distinctive Yosemite hotel offers a perfect balance of history, hospitality, and elegance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your The Majestic Yosemite Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ahwahnee Hotel Yosemite National Park
Ahwahnee Yosemite National Park
Ahwahnee Hotel Yosemite National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing