We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stepping back in time in Yosemite” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Majestic Yosemite Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Majestic Yosemite Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Stepping back in time in Yosemite”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2012

My partner and I spent 10/15-10/18 at the Ahwahnee in beautiful Yosemite National Park. We found it to be a unique and charming experience.Yes, the hotel is very expensive. Yes, the rooms are not 5 star luxurious. However, the overall experience was delightful! The public spaces are simply spectacular, with
towering ceilings, huge fireplaces and beautiful rugs and wall hangings. Basically the decor has not changed since the hotel opened in 1927. It's like stepping back in time to a slower, more gracious era. I noticed that a number of reviewers had issues with the hotel staff. I must say that the staff that we interacted with were all friendly and helpful. The concierge was especially helpful in helping us plan a tour of the valley. It was wonderful after a day of hiking to sit in the lobby and enjoy the complimentary tea and cookies while listening to a pianist play standards on a Steinway Grand. We may never stay at the Ahwahnee again, but I will always remember our stay there!

Room Tip: Get the room and breakfast package if it's available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gary R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,476 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,152
    727
    322
    174
    101
See reviews for
757
1,203
38
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (698)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Maui
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012

You stay here because it looks like Hogwarts and because it's historic and has stunning views. You pay a high price for this, but it's fun to pretend. Enormously disappointing rooms, but the dining room is fabulous.

Warning: If you want dinner, make reservations well in advance. (If you don't show up, no big deal.) The hotel does not warn you that hundreds of non-guests want to eat in the fabulous dining room, so you're out of luck for food in your own hotel. This was a shock. Yes, there's the bar, but it lacks variety.

Room Tip: Cottages are large, but awful. Run down and disgusting. Filthy carpet not vacuumed. Bedstand is filt...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hoailona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012

Stayed at the hotel for one night a few weeks back on our road trip of California, we booked months ago and there was only availability for one night - at the time, I was disappointed but after having stayed for the one night, I'm very glad it wasn't for longer. The location is superb but the hotel really 'rests on its laurels' and certainly doesn't make much of an effort for guests. Our room was just ok, it was extremely expensive though, far more than any other hotel that we stayed in during the two weeks of our trip. The car parking valets were great and the two people on Reception lovely too and very knowledgeable about the Yosemite area. We had also booked dinner, here the real fiasco starts! We arrived at the dining room approx five minutes before our booking only to be told by the very officious maitre'd that there were no tables ready and we had to wait. I might add here that there were only the two of us, not a family of eight and there were numerous free tables available. We waited in the area outside until we dared return. Once again, we were instructed (yes, instructed) to wait. By this stage, we simply wanted to eat, we had driven around five hours to get to the hotel and did not expect to be treated in such an offhand manner. My husband tried appealing to Mr Personality's better side but he was having none of it, the rudest man probably to be employed in the hotel industry, he completely ruined our evening. We then retired to the bar and resorted to eating on the terrace where we were joined by a family of raccoons, far friendlier than the said Mr Personality! As we were not exactly enamoured by the hotel, we didn't bother with breakfast the next morning but went out and had a lovely walk followed by coffees and sandwiches in the village which were top!

I've noticed that the hotel doesn't reply to any comments so not sure if they will actually read this and take note.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank wapitbe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novato, California
Level Contributor
120 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2012

This is a very expensive hotel that is part of the national park system's upper-end lodges. We stayed on the fourth floor and had a great view of the west end of Yosemite Valley--if you stay you should request the opposite view of Half Dome. We had some minor issues with plumbing (fixed after two tries by the maintenance staff) and mastering the HVAC system (the hotel AC shuts down when the outside temp dips below 60 F, so make sure your room is cool at the end of the day or you will have a warm night). Dining in the hotel is very expensive, but the food and service is very good. This hotel would be a value if the price/night were 50% of what they currently charge. It did make for a nice base for exploring Yosemite, Hetch Hetchy, Mono Lake and Kings Canyon.

Room Tip: Chose a room facing east towards Half Dome if you can
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FunPrn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tennessee
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

We just returned from our California vacation, which included one night's stay at the Ahwahnee. I had booked a cabin room, but we quickly realized that we would much prefer to stay in the lodge. Fortunately for us, there was a room available. The room itself is average in size and decor. The bedding (mattresses and linens) appeared to be relatively new, and the beds were very comfortable.

The best thing was being so close to the lobby. We were on the mezzanine level, directly above the common areas. Just a few steps from our doorway was a sitting area where coffee, tea, and hot chocolate is available each morning. Down one flight of stairs was a cozy sitting area next to a huge fireplace, where we read and relaxed after a long day of touring.

The customer service here is top notch. Claire wanted to show us both the cabin I had booked and the available lodge room before I made a choice of which I wanted. We later thought my husband had left his prescription eyeglasses at their sister resort, Tenaya Lodge, where we'd stayed the night before. Claire called to Tenaya Lodge to see if they'd been found and have them mailed to our next hotel. Nothing was too much to ask, and service was given with gracious hospitality.

We ate dinner in the bar, which is more of a small, family-friendly restaurant. It's still a bit pricey, but everything is in Yosemite. The chili was very good on a chilly evening. We had breakfast in the main dining room before heading out on another day of touring. The food and service at both restaurants was friendly and prompt.

When you stay here, you must go with the proper expectations. If you go expecting the Ritz, you'll be sorely disappointed. If you go realizing that you are paying for location, history, and service, you'll most likely be happy here. I would, however, highly recommend the lodge over the cabins.

Room Tip: Stay in the lodge instead of the cabins for easy access to the lovely common areas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TennesseeBamagirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012

We stayed here with the family for the Thanksgiving holiday (2011). Also, we did not have to pay for our room which probably made the experience more enjoyable since this hotel can be quite pricey. I felt that it was a nice time and pretty cool to be on the Yosemite Valley floor. There are some trails to hike right there and obviously you can easily get to any of the sights from the hotel. The hotel is awesome to go see and walk around in, which you can do without being a guest. The rooms are decent. You are definitely paying for the location and experience of being in the historic hotel. Would stay again if someone else was paying or had extra money to burn, otherwise there are lots of other decent options nearby whether camping or staying right outside of the valley park.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank oockiki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conroe, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012

Sept 27-28, 2012: Upon arrival, was treated well @ check-in, but cottage was filthy. Bathroom had to be re-cleaned, dust on baseboards at least 1 year of dust. Had strawberries & champaign in room with card for another guest and requested removal. Wasn't removed at all during the 2 day stay. Although great location in park; stay @ Evergreen Lodge just outside of park on NW corner. If you like to view historical dust and filth stay here.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Gary K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yosemite National Park
17.9 mi away
Evergreen Lodge at Yosemite
16.3 mi away
Cedar Lodge
Cedar Lodge
#2 of 2 in El Portal
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,935 reviews
17.4 mi away
Rush Creek Lodge
Rush Creek Lodge
#3 of 7 in Groveland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.2 mi away
Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite
11.4 mi away
Yosemite View Lodge
Yosemite View Lodge
#1 of 2 in El Portal
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,616 reviews
23.8 mi away
Yosemite Bug Rustic Mountain Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Majestic Yosemite Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Majestic Yosemite Hotel

Property: The Majestic Yosemite Hotel
Address: 9005 Ahwahnee Drive, Yosemite National Park, CA 95389 (Formerly The Ahwahnee)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Yosemite National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Yosemite National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Majestic Yosemite Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Majestic Yosemite Hotel shines as Yosemite National Park's distinctive AAA(R) Four-Diamond hotel. Known for its magnificent façade and architecture, The Majestic Yosemite Hotel was specially designed to highlight its natural surroundings, which include Yosemite Falls, Half Dome, and Glacier Point. The destination of queens and presidents alike, this distinctive Yosemite hotel offers a perfect balance of history, hospitality, and elegance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelsClick so you can book your The Majestic Yosemite Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ahwahnee Hotel Yosemite National Park
Ahwahnee Yosemite National Park
Ahwahnee Hotel Yosemite National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing