We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Once in a lifetime” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Majestic Yosemite Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Majestic Yosemite Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
112 reviews
112 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Once in a lifetime”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2012

Stayed here with a friend of mine in Feb '00. My friend was doing his final thesis project at a location in Yosemite. He needed a driving buddy so I said I would tag along since I had never been there before. We weren't planning on staying originally, just a drive up and back down. We left early in the morning, drove up, walked around, then before we knew it, we were tired and it was dark. So instead of driving back down we decided to see if they had a room available and we would just share a room. Luckily they had a room available with 2 beds so we took it.

The hotel is very historic and rustic. When you walk in you can't hep but feel like you stepped back in time to a secluded chalet in the mountains. The enormous living room and dining room are quite the things to see and experience while there. The room itself was a good size too considering it was a standard. We had 2 full size beds, a couple of nightstands, dresser, and a simple bathroom. We didn't get to use any of the other amenities other than sitting in the living room and enjoying the giant fireplace.

We got a decent break on the room, but it was certainly one of those once-in-a-lifetime things. There are also other options available inside and outside the valley, but this is a unique place.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Beenaround73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,253 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,052
    655
    289
    163
    94
See reviews for
678
1,100
36
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (644)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Merced, California
Level Contributor
34 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

Rooms have been updated but sitting/standing infront of the great fireplaces, wine in hand waiting for one of the best dinners you can have is a memory.

Helpful?
Thank RDWallace1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2012

The hotel was built in 1927 so it has some faults like only one lift and at times not enough parking, but despite the high charge for a room, the location is breathtakingly beautiful. How many times will my wife and I get the chance to stay in a hotel located in a World Heritage Site and in which the Queen also stayed.
It is important to make advance reservations in the beautiful restaurant at busy times, even for breakfast. You can get food in the bar of the Ahwahnee but hot food choices are very limited. The breakfast buffet was not very hot, it may be better to order from the a la carte menu as they then cook it to order.
The fairly gentle walk to the lower Yosemite Falls is a must, there are many other great hiking or biking trails nearby. If you drive to Yosemite from San Fransisco like we did then there are some great views on the way and some pretty farms?

Room Tip: Some rooms give a view of one of the two falls near the hotel at a higher price, however you only n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard654
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2012

Awahnee comment

Too noisy!

Ok the hotel is old and it has a lot of history. However, for this kind of money you dont expect to hear every sound from the hall or other rooms (the hotel has not invested a penny on good windows or inner insulation).
The matress and sheets were very worne out.

If there was a new hotel in this area I bet they could charge 30% less and empty Awahnee, ending it's abuse of dominant position.

Common areas are beautiful and location is very good.

Overall: totally overpriced.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosario A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GnrlMgr, General Manager at The Majestic Yosemite Hotel, responded to this review, April 11, 2012
Good morning Rosaria A
I am disappointed to read that we are abusing our "dominant position." I can appreciate your perception of The Ahwahnee being overpriced. May I ask if you gave us the opportunity to make it right while you were with us? We understand that you are paying a lot of money to stay with us and if we are not meeting your expectations, we need to know that. My team and I share a passion of Yosemite, The Ahwahnee, and taking care of people. If you did let us know and we did nothing, then shame on us. If you didn't, I, with all due respect, again encourage you to do so where ever you may stay. as we in hospitatlity do care about your experience.

Best regards,

Brett Archer, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2012

Awahnee comment

Too noisy!

Ok the hotel is old and it has a lot of history. However, for this kind of money you dont expect to hear every sound from the hall or other rooms (the hotel has not invested a penny on good windows or inner insulation).
The matress and sheets were very worne out.

If there was a new hotel in this area I bet they could charge 30% less and empty Awahnee, ending it's abuse of dominant position.

Common areas are beautiful and location is very good.

Overall: totally overpriced.

Helpful?
Thank Rosario A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2012

Best of both worlds, deep into nature, with a nice, warm bed at night!

Helpful?
Thank mamaxs2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2012

We just stayed at the Ahwahnee 1 week into "spring". The hotel was great. Very accommodating for our family of 4. It is not your typical "luxury" hotel. Remember that it is old and is in the middle of a majestic national park. We stayed in room 105, which I believe is a "classic" room. We had views of Vernal falls and Yosemite falls as well as a deck with table and chairs. As far as we could tell other than the very expensive suites this was one of the only rooms with all this. Also, the beds were heavenly! I sleep on a tempurpedic at home and whatever this bed was very comparable.
Everything has a long trip to get there... Including the food. Which may account for the expense. We ate at the dining hall for dinner. It was $210 for 2 kids meals and 2 adults, no alcohol. Very good food. In the morning we ate at the "bar". Basically choose a yogurt, a piece of fruit, a Danish etc.,, $51! Luckily we did bring lots of snacks for the kids.
The fireplaces were beautiful, the staff very nice, the valet was the best part, free and super efficient.
Early spring seems to be the time to go, the temp during the day on the valley floor was 50's. At night into the 20's. And plenty of snow to be found in the higher elevation. This was an abnormally dry winter in California though and from what we understand there is usually more snow at lower elevations this time of year.
We also used the pool early one morning. It is outdoor. It was 40 degrees when we went in, but the pool was 86 degrees. It was great, not cold at all when IN the pool! The "pool guy" was nice and helpful too.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mamaxs2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yosemite National Park
1.3 mi away
Yosemite Valley Lodge
Yosemite Valley Lodge
#3 of 3 in Yosemite National Park
4.0 of 5 stars 3,340 reviews
17.9 mi away
Evergreen Lodge at Yosemite
16.3 mi away
Cedar Lodge
Cedar Lodge
#2 of 2 in El Portal
3.0 of 5 stars 1,723 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.8 mi away
White Chief Mountain Lodge
11.4 mi away
Yosemite View Lodge
Yosemite View Lodge
#1 of 2 in El Portal
3.5 of 5 stars 3,214 reviews
19.2 mi away
Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Majestic Yosemite Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Majestic Yosemite Hotel

Property: The Majestic Yosemite Hotel
Address: 9005 Ahwahnee Drive, Yosemite National Park, CA 95389 (Formerly The Ahwahnee)
Location: United States > California > Yosemite National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Yosemite National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Majestic Yosemite Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Majestic Yosemite Hotel shines as Yosemite National Park's distinctive AAA(R) Four-Diamond hotel. Known for its magnificent façade and architecture, The Majestic Yosemite Hotel was specially designed to highlight its natural surroundings, which include Yosemite Falls, Half Dome, and Glacier Point. The destination of queens and presidents alike, this distinctive Yosemite hotel offers a perfect balance of history, hospitality, and elegance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire so you can book your The Majestic Yosemite Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ahwahnee Hotel Yosemite National Park
Ahwahnee Yosemite National Park
Ahwahnee Hotel Yosemite National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing