We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Felt like a dorm room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Yosemite Valley Lodge
GreenLeadersSilver level
Lower Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
592 reviews
115 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 259 helpful votes
“Felt like a dorm room”
Reviewed April 22, 2006

The room felt like a cross between my first apartment and a dorm room. We had a small balcony. TV had many channels considering you were in the middle of a state park. They give you free coupons for tea/coffee at the cafe. The main restaurant was very good. We had our anniversary dinner there. Chicken and spinach lasagna was awesome.

  • Stayed March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank MissMyDog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,776 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,071
    1,479
    753
    301
    172
See reviews for
1,384
1,569
97
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (983)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, VA
Level 5 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2006

We scored a night at Yosemite Lodge for one night on-line in January, for 4/10/06, for our Easter break. Upon checking in, I requested a falls view, renovated room, after reading this site. They had a renovated room, but it wasn't ready until 6:00. Well worth the wait. We were in the Dogwood building and it is just a short walk to the the Food Court and the falls. Lovely furnishings with tv, wardrobe, and a mini-frig. Lodging is still pricey at $170/night, ($187 with tax, etc.) but go ahead and splurge and just spend the money. I figured I was from the east coast and probably won't be traveling this way again soon! Take a walk through the Alwahnee, however, and see what $400+ per night will get you. It is worth a "look-see". We ate at the food court for dinner and it suited our family fine, since my 12 year old is picky and pizza was an option. Our 10 year old couldn't decide...Hamburgers, pasta, chicken, etc. are on the menu for fair prices. The coupons they give you at check in for a free coffee or tea is good for hot-chocolate, too, which we did several times topped with whipped cream. We took advantage of the evening ranger talk, which was facinating and well attended by young and old alike. There is a grocery/souvenier shop in the village where we picked up some milk and doughnuts for the morning. Surpirsingly, the prices were inline with other CA stores. Lunch at the Deli in the Village was quick and efficient, despite lines. We took the 10:00 am 2-hour bus tour for $71/family rate since we were only there for one night. Highly recommended for short stays like ours. The falls were absolutely gushing......a sight I wouldn't have seen 25 years ago in August when I first had the chance to see Yosemite (and didn't)!

  • Stayed April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank keewart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2006

Just returned from this trip and stayed in the Yosemite Lodge at the falls inside the park. Our rooms were ready on time and also got a room with the view of the water falls. The service was good. The crowds are beginning to build up with the peak season approaching. Being vegetarians food is always a problem for us. But the food court has reasonable variety (pasta/pizza/garden burger) at reasonable national park prices. We were warned aboout snow and ice but the roads are clear and only snow we saw were in wawona. There are a lot of activities for families - bike riding, trails, museums etc. Also, there is a shuttle bus to transit around the park. The lodge is pricy, but well worth living at the heart of the park.

Helpful?
7 Thank Lalitha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2006

Just got back from a stay in yosemite lodge - 26th March stayed with My husband and two children aged 16 and 12.

After reading some rather negative reviews of the lodge, I was a bit apprehensive about what to expect.

How ever we were not at all disappointed -our room in cedar lodge (top floor room was very good) nice, clean, good size. The only thing I think they could add is a fridge, which would make things much easier.

Yosemite is absolutely stunning, there was plenty of snow around but it was really lovely warm weather whilst we were there. -no need for snow chains.

It is definitely much easier to stay right in Yosemite valley than just outside.

  • Stayed March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Bathonion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sammamish
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2006

For the amenities and comforts offered by the Yosemite lodge, the price of the room is quite high ($170/night). However, given the excellent location and proximity to one of the most beautiful sites and place in North America, it is well worth the extra $$. Check-in early and ask for a room with a view. There are only a few of them.

We went in April and got a room with a great view of the falls. It was right in the heart of Yosemite valley where there are plenty of activities that can keep you busy for a week.

The staff at the front desk is very helpful. They had a kids check-in. My kids too advantage of the option and got their coloring kits. After turning these in, they were awarded two drink coupons for the cafeteria close by. Though the check-in is for 5pm, the person at the front desk checked us in by 3pm.

Each evening the Lodge has talks/films for adults and kids alike.They have bike rentals and also tours organized for visitors.

The rooms were well furnished and clean. They were equipped with mini coolers which I could use to store groceries and snacks for the children. Though I had ordered 2 queen beds, they looked more like full-sized beds. The soap dispensers were also odd.

the food court has a variety of food, though at National park prices. You will not find gourmet fare, but its good for all meals of the day. For formal dining, there is a restaurant at the lodge or in the Ahwanee hotel. All guests are issued a free coffee coupon that can be used to buy a cup of coffee every day or $1 off a latte.


There is a shuttle stop right outside the lodge. The shuttle can take you at any place in the Yosemite valley which eliminates the need to drive around.'

The only annoying thing was that there was some construction work going on right outside my room during the day. That destroys the peace and tranquililty of the National park which is what you have come to enjoy.

Overall, my family loved the stay despite the April rain and foggy weater. We would definitely stay there at our next visit.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Dhan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee FL
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2006

We stayed at the Yosemite Lodge in March 2006. We had a great time and experienced a foot of snow. The Lodge is a bit pricey for what you get, but you have to take into consideration how far you are from everything. If you want really upscale go for the Ahwahnee and be prepared to pay for it.

We had 2 connected rooms on the ground floor with patios outside each room, which was great for the child with us who could easily move in and out of the room. The beds were fine with plenty of blankets. There was a TV with cable or satellite. The room was simple but fine for us. The bathroom was modern but the shower had some mold in it. Otherwise the room was clean. We had a problem with the maid service in that they didn't get to our room and showed up late in the day just asking if we needed anything. We said we only needed a few towels, but realized later that we were almost out of toilet paper and had to go seek it. I think the maid service is a bit iffy, but we were casual enough to deal with it.

Restaurants: You are a captive audience. The Food Court is the only place for breakfast. This is adequate but not that great. You get a certain number of free coffees or hot chocolates when you check in.
The Mountain View Restaurant for dinner is excellent! We ate there 2 nights and were very pleased both times. The menu is varied and the preparations were exceptional. Much better than we expected. Call for reservations as soon as you get to your room. They reserve half the tables and leave half for walk-ins.

Overall, we had a great time in Yosemite. The accommodation was fine and we would recommend it highly over staying anywhere out of the park. If you can afford the Ahwahnee go for it, but if you can't and can be a little forgiving, the Yosemite Lodge is a wonderful place.

  • Stayed March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank LynK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2006

Good place, if you're up for a "campsite" feel - but with proper rooms and accomodation. Rooms are large and located in blocks amongst trees and with excellent views. Bathroom OK but a bit dated. Breakfast wasn't included with the only real option the canteen style dining area. Again great if you're up for the "campsite" feel.

We had ants in the bathroom when we arrived - but reception dealt with it very quickly and we had no further problems.

Even in ealy April this was a fairly expensive stay - justified mainly by the location and the size of the room.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jenstef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yosemite National Park
1.3 mi away
The Majestic Yosemite Hotel
The Majestic Yosemite Hotel
#1 of 3 in Yosemite National Park
2,578 reviews
16.9 mi away
Evergreen Lodge at Yosemite
15.1 mi away
Cedar Lodge
Cedar Lodge
#2 of 2 in El Portal
2,036 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.2 mi away
Rush Creek Lodge
Rush Creek Lodge
#3 of 7 in Groveland
414 reviews
18.5 mi away
White Chief Mountain Lodge
10.2 mi away
Yosemite View Lodge
Yosemite View Lodge
#1 of 2 in El Portal
3,835 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yosemite Valley Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yosemite Valley Lodge

Property: Yosemite Valley Lodge
Address: 9006 Yosemite Lodge Dr, P.O. Box 578, Yosemite National Park, CA 95389 (Formerly Yosemite Lodge At The Falls)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Yosemite National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Yosemite National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 245
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Yosemite Valley Lodge is a favorite choice for families and large groups. Its close proximity to Yosemite Falls makes it the perfect base camp for exploring Yosemite National Park. Its glass and wood architecture work in unity with the surroundings and the ample windows allow in the bright mountain sunshine while providing remarkable views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Yosemite Valley Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yosemite Lodge At The Falls
Yosemite Hotel National Park
Yosemite Lodge Falls
Yosemite Ca
Yosemite View Lodge
Yosemite Hotel At The Falls
Lodge Reservation Yosemite
Lodge Yosemite
Yosemite Lodge Hotel
Yosemite Falls Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing