We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room was fine, Yosemite was amazing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Yosemite Valley Lodge
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed April 12, 2006

We stayed at the Yosemite Lodge in March 2006. We had a great time and experienced a foot of snow. The Lodge is a bit pricey for what you get, but you have to take into consideration how far you are from everything. If you want really upscale go for the Ahwahnee and be prepared to pay for it.

We had 2 connected rooms on the ground floor with patios outside each room, which was great for the child with us who could easily move in and out of the room. The beds were fine with plenty of blankets. There was a TV with cable or satellite. The room was simple but fine for us. The bathroom was modern but the shower had some mold in it. Otherwise the room was clean. We had a problem with the maid service in that they didn't get to our room and showed up late in the day just asking if we needed anything. We said we only needed a few towels, but realized later that we were almost out of toilet paper and had to go seek it. I think the maid service is a bit iffy, but we were casual enough to deal with it.

Restaurants: You are a captive audience. The Food Court is the only place for breakfast. This is adequate but not that great. You get a certain number of free coffees or hot chocolates when you check in.
The Mountain View Restaurant for dinner is excellent! We ate there 2 nights and were very pleased both times. The menu is varied and the preparations were exceptional. Much better than we expected. Call for reservations as soon as you get to your room. They reserve half the tables and leave half for walk-ins.

Overall, we had a great time in Yosemite. The accommodation was fine and we would recommend it highly over staying anywhere out of the park. If you can afford the Ahwahnee go for it, but if you can't and can be a little forgiving, the Yosemite Lodge is a wonderful place.

  • Stayed: March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank LynK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,902)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,409 - 3,415 of 3,902 reviews

Reviewed April 8, 2006

Good place, if you're up for a "campsite" feel - but with proper rooms and accomodation. Rooms are large and located in blocks amongst trees and with excellent views. Bathroom OK but a bit dated. Breakfast wasn't included with the only real option the canteen style dining area. Again great if you're up for the "campsite" feel.

We had ants in the bathroom when we arrived - but reception dealt with it very quickly and we had no further problems.

Even in ealy April this was a fairly expensive stay - justified mainly by the location and the size of the room.

  • Stayed: April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank jenstef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2006

Just came back from a stay at the lodge, our room was located in the Cedar lodge room 3910, so we didn't share a wall with another room. Next time I would ask for the second floor room to avoid the noise of the
guests above. Have been to the park many times and stayed in most of the lodgings from the Grand hotel to a tent cabin. If you can go off season you really get a good value for your money. My only complaint was the heater in the room didn't work very well and you really needed a extra blanket to keep you comfortable. The food court in fine and the cost is reasonable,I also like to get a sandwich at the deli before I go on a hike to Mirror Lake or Vernal Falls. Lunch at the hotel is a nice treat or try breakfast on the day you depart. Don't forget to view the 7pm show at the lodge, very interesting and then visit the lounge for a snack and time around the fireplace.
The snow was so beautiful this year, I felt like it was Christmas all over again.

  • Stayed: March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank BarbaraACamarillo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2006

We were issued a handicap room as our room was not ready at 6PM. Just a warning to those of you that are not handicapped as we are not. These rooms are set up for wheelchairs and everything is set very low so that is a bit of a problem for tall people. Other than that the room was fine.

5  Thank margiesmemories
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2006

The room was your basic 2 beds, bath and TV room. It was clean and warm, with plenty of space for luggage and personal belongings. My wife and I did the Romance Package and enjoyed the dinner and champagne. Everything you need is right there at the lodge complex - food court, including coffee bar, dinner restaurant with a view of Yosemite Falls (arrive early), bar with TVs and a small store. The free shuttle was a great way to see the valley.

6  Thank SGJO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2006

Check the previous reviewer's photos of the layout of the lodge which is very useful for understanding the different responses people have had to this facility. There are a number of structures spread out over an area within view of the Yosemite falls. They vary in their view. Some face granite walls, some face the falls, some face the woods with no view (especially the Alder roomblock). Some of the rooms may be a little more updated than others. In 1997 Yosemite had a catastrophic flood which took out a large number of rooms below the parking lot. I was told by the desk that the 3 buildings beyond the parking lot where the shuttle bus stops had their lower floor flooded. We happened to stay in one in the Alder building. When you see the price differential for a lodge room versus a standard room it has to do with whether or not there is a exterior access to the room. And only one room block is "standard". A "lodge room" which is more $$ than a "standard room" is a room with a balcony or patio. Only 1 building has "standard rooms" which is without either. I think it is called the Cedar. I was also told that there are only 4 "family" rooms, i.e. rooms that connect. Bottom line--I would suggest calling the facility directly to discuss with them your needs and desires for a view. If this matters to you, since there is so much variation in the location and layout of the rooms, then you are far more likely to get what you want if you call directly. We were also given the new rate schedule and prices are going to to up in March for all of the facilities in Yosemite. I can say, that Alder could use a revamp, it is near the shuttle bus stop (where you can hear the buses) and you are required to move your car during the day to accomodate the bus traffic. It would be my least favorite choice in the future.
As for the food. They have tried to accomodate a range of costs and provide for family dining in the more cafeteria style dining area. It is not expensive by California standards ($3-12). The formal dining room is expensive for families ($25+) per entree.
The second bottom line--The Yosemite lodge is the National Parks attempt at accomodating the middle class. It lies in cost and amenities between camping, which is offered in the camprounds in the east part of the valley and the Awahnee which sets one back $300-900 a night in a traditional old style National Park lodge. None of them are the Bellagio. But put things into perspective. We found the snowfall in Yosemite valley, midweek, mid February with far fewer than the millions cheek by jowl in the summer, simply glorious.

  • Stayed: February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
25  Thank bearfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2005

We chose the Yosemite Lodge on the basis of the reviews on tripadvisor so we were prepared for the fact that our room might be a little basic. We requested a refurbished room with a view of the falls when we reserved and on arrival we found our requests had been fulfilled, with an apology for the fact that the falls were dry!

Parking was a bit tricky and meant we had to wheel our cases a fair distance to get to our room but once inside we couldn't believe the size of the room and the quality of the furnishings. there was even a TV, which we did not expect. It was pretty cold at night while we were there in October but the heating was good of course we had our wonderful view.

The free bus service made it simple and quick to get all around the valley floor and there were also a number of interesting walks straight from the lodge.

The facilities at the lodge were good: a choice of the food court for no-frills refectory style dining, which provided simple but good filling grub or the Mountain View restaurant, which we didn't try because we were suffering from a combination of jet lag and the effect of the altitude. The bar also had snacks and efficient table service. In addition there was a pretty good shop and although we had been prepared for prices to be high for food and drink bought in the park in fact they were fine. Having had the chance to see much of the other accomodation available I'd definitely stay at the Yosemite Lodge at the Falls if I visited Yosemite again.

37  Thank emmadaisysmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yosemite National Park
1.3 mi away
The Majestic Yosemite Hotel
The Majestic Yosemite Hotel
#1 of 3 in Yosemite National Park
2,658 reviews
16.9 mi away
Evergreen Lodge at Yosemite
15.1 mi away
Yosemite Cedar Lodge
Yosemite Cedar Lodge
#2 of 2 in El Portal
2,189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.2 mi away
Rush Creek Lodge
Rush Creek Lodge
#2 of 7 in Groveland
528 reviews
18.5 mi away
White Chief Mountain Lodge
10.0 mi away
Yosemite View Lodge
Yosemite View Lodge
#1 of 2 in El Portal
4,056 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yosemite Valley Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yosemite Valley Lodge

Address: 9006 Yosemite Lodge Dr, P.O. Box 578, Yosemite National Park, CA 95389 (Formerly Yosemite Lodge At The Falls)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Yosemite National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Yosemite National Park
Price Range: $271 - $459 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 245
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Yosemite Valley Lodge is a favorite choice for families and large groups. Its close proximity to Yosemite Falls makes it the perfect base camp for exploring Yosemite National Park. Its glass and wood architecture work in unity with the surroundings and the ample windows allow in the bright mountain sunshine while providing remarkable views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, Expedia, TravelUp, Otel, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone and getaroom.com so you can book your Yosemite Valley Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yosemite Lodge At The Falls
Yosemite Hotel National Park
Yosemite Lodge Falls
Yosemite Ca
Yosemite View Lodge
Yosemite Hotel At The Falls
Lodge Reservation Yosemite
Lodge Yosemite
Yosemite Lodge Hotel
Yosemite Falls Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing