We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, OK room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Yosemite Valley Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
London, England
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great location, OK room”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2006

Good place, if you're up for a "campsite" feel - but with proper rooms and accomodation. Rooms are large and located in blocks amongst trees and with excellent views. Bathroom OK but a bit dated. Breakfast wasn't included with the only real option the canteen style dining area. Again great if you're up for the "campsite" feel.

We had ants in the bathroom when we arrived - but reception dealt with it very quickly and we had no further problems.

Even in ealy April this was a fairly expensive stay - justified mainly by the location and the size of the room.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jenstef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,659 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,032
    1,439
    732
    290
    166
See reviews for
1,335
1,516
95
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (947)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Camarillo, Ca
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2006

Just came back from a stay at the lodge, our room was located in the Cedar lodge room 3910, so we didn't share a wall with another room. Next time I would ask for the second floor room to avoid the noise of the
guests above. Have been to the park many times and stayed in most of the lodgings from the Grand hotel to a tent cabin. If you can go off season you really get a good value for your money. My only complaint was the heater in the room didn't work very well and you really needed a extra blanket to keep you comfortable. The food court in fine and the cost is reasonable,I also like to get a sandwich at the deli before I go on a hike to Mirror Lake or Vernal Falls. Lunch at the hotel is a nice treat or try breakfast on the day you depart. Don't forget to view the 7pm show at the lodge, very interesting and then visit the lounge for a snack and time around the fireplace.
The snow was so beautiful this year, I felt like it was Christmas all over again.

  • Stayed March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank BarbaraACamarillo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aptos, California
Level Contributor
178 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2006

We were issued a handicap room as our room was not ready at 6PM. Just a warning to those of you that are not handicapped as we are not. These rooms are set up for wheelchairs and everything is set very low so that is a bit of a problem for tall people. Other than that the room was fine.

Helpful?
4 Thank margiesmemories
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis, MO
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2006

The room was your basic 2 beds, bath and TV room. It was clean and warm, with plenty of space for luggage and personal belongings. My wife and I did the Romance Package and enjoyed the dinner and champagne. Everything you need is right there at the lodge complex - food court, including coffee bar, dinner restaurant with a view of Yosemite Falls (arrive early), bar with TVs and a small store. The free shuttle was a great way to see the valley.

Helpful?
6 Thank SGJO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley,CA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2006

Check the previous reviewer's photos of the layout of the lodge which is very useful for understanding the different responses people have had to this facility. There are a number of structures spread out over an area within view of the Yosemite falls. They vary in their view. Some face granite walls, some face the falls, some face the woods with no view (especially the Alder roomblock). Some of the rooms may be a little more updated than others. In 1997 Yosemite had a catastrophic flood which took out a large number of rooms below the parking lot. I was told by the desk that the 3 buildings beyond the parking lot where the shuttle bus stops had their lower floor flooded. We happened to stay in one in the Alder building. When you see the price differential for a lodge room versus a standard room it has to do with whether or not there is a exterior access to the room. And only one room block is "standard". A "lodge room" which is more $$ than a "standard room" is a room with a balcony or patio. Only 1 building has "standard rooms" which is without either. I think it is called the Cedar. I was also told that there are only 4 "family" rooms, i.e. rooms that connect. Bottom line--I would suggest calling the facility directly to discuss with them your needs and desires for a view. If this matters to you, since there is so much variation in the location and layout of the rooms, then you are far more likely to get what you want if you call directly. We were also given the new rate schedule and prices are going to to up in March for all of the facilities in Yosemite. I can say, that Alder could use a revamp, it is near the shuttle bus stop (where you can hear the buses) and you are required to move your car during the day to accomodate the bus traffic. It would be my least favorite choice in the future.
As for the food. They have tried to accomodate a range of costs and provide for family dining in the more cafeteria style dining area. It is not expensive by California standards ($3-12). The formal dining room is expensive for families ($25+) per entree.
The second bottom line--The Yosemite lodge is the National Parks attempt at accomodating the middle class. It lies in cost and amenities between camping, which is offered in the camprounds in the east part of the valley and the Awahnee which sets one back $300-900 a night in a traditional old style National Park lodge. None of them are the Bellagio. But put things into perspective. We found the snowfall in Yosemite valley, midweek, mid February with far fewer than the millions cheek by jowl in the summer, simply glorious.

  • Stayed February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
25 Thank bearfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2005

We chose the Yosemite Lodge on the basis of the reviews on tripadvisor so we were prepared for the fact that our room might be a little basic. We requested a refurbished room with a view of the falls when we reserved and on arrival we found our requests had been fulfilled, with an apology for the fact that the falls were dry!

Parking was a bit tricky and meant we had to wheel our cases a fair distance to get to our room but once inside we couldn't believe the size of the room and the quality of the furnishings. there was even a TV, which we did not expect. It was pretty cold at night while we were there in October but the heating was good of course we had our wonderful view.

The free bus service made it simple and quick to get all around the valley floor and there were also a number of interesting walks straight from the lodge.

The facilities at the lodge were good: a choice of the food court for no-frills refectory style dining, which provided simple but good filling grub or the Mountain View restaurant, which we didn't try because we were suffering from a combination of jet lag and the effect of the altitude. The bar also had snacks and efficient table service. In addition there was a pretty good shop and although we had been prepared for prices to be high for food and drink bought in the park in fact they were fine. Having had the chance to see much of the other accomodation available I'd definitely stay at the Yosemite Lodge at the Falls if I visited Yosemite again.

Helpful?
37 Thank emmadaisysmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2005

Having read the other reviews, I was a little hesitant about staying here. I am very choosy about accomodation, don't like staying in super resorts, and like things off the beaten path a bit. Yosemite Lodge's choice location was the tipping point for us. I wanted to write a review to help other people who might have doubts about YL. I was so impressed, I even took pictures for a first hand look.

We stayed away from the main lodge, in a small collection of 'bungalows' called Tamarack. (See my map.) On arrival, our worries were immediately put to rest; the Lodge was just what I was looking for. Our beds were comfy, the hotel room was clean, there was a maid service, and we even had a big, private balcony with a view of the trees. Just over the road, a walkable distance, was Yosemite Falls.

I do think they have been doing some upgrading; we had no problem with mold or deterioration. Indeed, as of November 2005, there was some (unobtrusive) road construction going on in the Valley.

In the main area, the Mountain Room restaurant was surprisingly decent, and there even is a separate bar (Mountain Room Lodge) with cosy fire. Though the Food Court was not our style, I could see that it could be useful for families/big groups/fast food. The entire lodge complex is walkable. And what scenery!

Also, Yosemite Village is not far, where you can stock up on snacks, sandwiches, souvenirs, mail postcards, and check out the informative Vistor Center.

In terms of location, YL is on par with Curry Village and The Ahwahnee. Nothing beats waking up in the shadow of El Capitan and Half Dome. The Ahwahnee is nice, more upscale, and the dining hall is worth a visit, too. Having driven all around Yosemite, it was really useful to be so central.

I found the Yosemite Lodge perfect. If you want more upscale, I would stay at the Ahwahnee. The Lodge is your basic, National Park Lodging, and I had no complaints. I found it to be great value. Enjoy Yosemite, and check out my photos for maps and more info.

  • Stayed November 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
92 Thank tfspanier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yosemite National Park
16.9 mi away
Evergreen Lodge at Yosemite
15.1 mi away
Cedar Lodge
Cedar Lodge
#2 of 2 in El Portal
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,958 reviews
16.2 mi away
Rush Creek Lodge
Rush Creek Lodge
#3 of 7 in Groveland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.5 mi away
White Chief Mountain Lodge
10.2 mi away
Yosemite View Lodge
Yosemite View Lodge
#1 of 2 in El Portal
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,657 reviews
18.8 mi away
Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yosemite Valley Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yosemite Valley Lodge

Property: Yosemite Valley Lodge
Address: 9006 Yosemite Lodge Dr, P.O. Box 578, Yosemite National Park, CA 95389 (Formerly Yosemite Lodge At The Falls)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Yosemite National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Yosemite National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 245
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Yosemite Valley Lodge is a favorite choice for families and large groups. Its close proximity to Yosemite Falls makes it the perfect base camp for exploring Yosemite National Park. Its glass and wood architecture work in unity with the surroundings and the ample windows allow in the bright mountain sunshine while providing remarkable views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Yosemite Valley Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yosemite Lodge At The Falls
Yosemite Hotel National Park
Yosemite Lodge Falls
Yosemite Ca
Yosemite View Lodge
Yosemite Hotel At The Falls
Lodge Reservation Yosemite
Lodge Yosemite
Yosemite Lodge Hotel
Yosemite Falls Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing